Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Seminole Tribe of Florida: History
Timeline; Introduction; Indian Resistance and Removal; No Surrender!; Survival in the Swamp; Osceola and Abiaka; The Council Oak; Seminoles Today; The Future; Selected Bibliography; Genealogy and Anthropology.
Seminole Tribe of Florida: Culture
Art; A Legendary Storyteller; Basketry; Beadwork; Chickee; Clans; Dolls; Green Corn Dance; Hairstyle; Legends; Medicine; Recipes; Seminoles and Christianity; Seminole Clothing; Seminole Food; and Seminoles and the Land.
Seminole Tribe of Florida: Government
Introduction; Today's Government; Tribal Council; Board of Directors; and Tribal Court.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
This database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
Florida Department of State
Indian Removal & the Trail of Tears
Focuses on conflict between Native Americans and white settlers during the nineteenth century. Details of the United States government's policies of relocation, which led to the forced exile known as the Trail of Tears; Details of Andrew Jackson's military campaigns against the Seminole Indians; Impact of the Indian Removal Act of 1830; Efforts of the Cherokee Nation to retain their land; Decision of the Supreme Court that Native Americans were not US citizens; Impact of US oppression on the declining Indian population.
Native American Festivals and Ceremonies by
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
The Black Drink Ceremony practiced by the Native Americans was held by the Choctaw, Creek, and Cherokee tribes. The tribes made a drink full of caffeine and served it in a conch shell or pottery bowl.
The Seminole Freedmen by
Publication Date: 2016-01-18
Popularly known as “Black Seminoles,” descendants of the Seminole freedmen of Indian Territory are a unique American cultural group. Now Kevin Mulroy examines the long history of these people to show that this label denies them their rightful distinctiveness.
State Library and Archives of Florida
The Florida Museum
The Florida Museum of Natural History is a leading authority in biodiversity and cultural heritage, using its expertise to advance knowledge, solve real world problems, and impact public policy and perception.
Painting created by George Catlin, 1938.
Subject: Seminole warrior Osceola
Contributing Institution: Smithsonian American Art Museum