Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia: Japan
Japan, in Japanese Dai (“great”) Nihon or Nippon (“origin of the sun”), hence, Land of the Rising Sun, constitutional monarchy, occupying an archipelago off the coast of E Asia, extending in an irregular crescent from northeast to the southwest. It is bounded on the N by the Sea of Okhotsk, on the E by the Pacific Ocean, on the S by the Pacific Ocean and the East China Sea, and on the W by the Korea Strait and the Sea of Japan. Japan proper consists mainly of four large islands: Hokkaido, the northernmost; Honshu, the largest, called the mainland; Shikoku; and Kyushu, the southernmost. In addition it includes the Ryukyu Islands, in the south, and more than 1000 lesser islands. The total area of Japan is 377,930 sq km (145,920 sq mi).
Salem Press Encyclopedia: Japan
Japan is a mountainous island nation in East Asia. It is an archipelago made up of thousands of islands, although the majority of the country is comprised of the Home Islands (or main islands) of Hokkaido, Honshu (mainland Japan), Shikoku, and Kyushu; these four islands comprise nearly all of the country's total land area.
The Japan Foundation New York
We have a long and rich history of cultural exchanges between Japan and the United States through the efforts of a wide variety of individuals and organizations.
The Japan House Los Angeles
JAPAN HOUSE seeks to foster awareness and appreciation for Japan around the world by showcasing the emerging art of the very best of Japanese art, design, gastronomy, innovation, technology, and more. An innovative project of the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, JAPAN HOUSE is comprised of three hubs—London, Los Angeles and Sao Paulo.
Central Intelligence Agency: The World Factbook, Japan
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
Encyclopedia Britannica: Japan
Japan, island country lying off the east coast of Asia. It consists of a great string of islands in a northeast-southwest arc that stretches for approximately 1,500 miles (2,400 km) through the western North Pacific Ocean. Nearly the entire land area is taken up by the country’s four main islands; from north to south these are Hokkaido (Hokkaidō), Honshu (Honshū), Shikoku, and Kyushu (Kyūshū). Honshu is the largest of the four, followed in size by Hokkaido, Kyushu, and Shikoku. In addition, there are numerous smaller islands, the major groups of which are the Ryukyu (Nansei) Islands (including the island of Okinawa) to the south and west of Kyushu and the Izu, Bonin (Ogasawara), and Volcano (Kazan) islands to the south and east of central Honshu. The national capital, Tokyo (Tōkyō), in east-central Honshu, is one of the world’s most populous cities.
Google: Japan Travel Guide
A list of all the top (and some gems) places to visit across Tokyo, Osaka, Nara, Hiroshima, Fuji, and Nagano.
The Government of Japan: About Japan
Learn about the basic information about Japan as well as cultural and useful travel information for Japan.
Library of Congress (LOC) World Digital Collection
World Digital Collection: Japan.
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan
The 21st century is witnessing a rapid change in global power balance along with globalization. The security environment around Japan has become increasingly severe as represented by nuclear and missile development by North Korea. Transnational threats grounded on technological progress including international terrorism and cyber attacks are also increasing their significance.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.