Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Japanese Consulate in Miami
Consulate Japan in Miami
This web site gives the latest information on current Japan-related issues, Japanese foreign policy and intercultural exchanges with Japan. Included are statements of top officials of the Government of Japan, current issues and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs' official guide to Japan's foreign relations with every county in the world. There is also detailed information on the Japan Exchange and Teaching (JET) Program.
Museums with Japanese art collections in Florida
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens; The John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art; Harn Museum of Art (University of Florida); Lowe Art Museum (University of Miami); Polk Museum of Art (Florida Southern College); and the Museum of Fine Arts (Florida State University).
Japanese Gardens & Museums in South Florida
Morikami: Museum and Japanese Gardens
Our mission at Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens is to engage a diverse audience by presenting Japanese cultural experiences that educate and inspire.
Since opening in 1977, Morikami has been a center for Japanese arts and culture in South Florida. With rotating exhibitions, tea ceremonies performed monthly (October through May) in the Seishin-an tea house, educational outreach programs with local schools and organizations, and Japanese traditional festivals celebrated for the public several times a year, Morikami strives to spread appreciation for the living culture of Japan.
Morikami Museum & Oki Education Center Events
Please note that in some instances, access to the event or activity may require payment for admission. To verify, we recommend that you check out the event's webpage and contact the event host for additional details.
Miami Beach Botanical Garden: Japanese Garden
The sounds of cascading water invite you into a serene Zen garden showcasing the collection of bamboo specimens. The iconic red bridge crosses two connecting ponds gently rippling over a bed of river rock. Traditional lantern pagodas accentuate the Asian mystique. In 1959, Fujisawa, Japan was designated a Sister City of Miami Beach. Our Annual Japanese Spring Festival honors this relationship, embracing their culture and traditions.
Ongoing Open Access Virtual Tours & Events
Google Arts & Culture: Made in Japan
A showcase of Japanese crafts and traditions, and the untold stories behind them.
Exclusive 1st Read: 'Klara And The Sun,' By Kazuo Ishiguro
Author and Nobel laureate Kazuo Ishiguro has explored multiple settings over the course of his career, from the English country house in 1989's The Remains of the Day to the dystopian future of 2005's Never Let Me Go. But no matter where he sets his stories, they're always deeply felt and deeply human.
Adachi Museum of Art
"The garden is, so to speak, a picture scroll" said the late founder of the museum. Adachi Zenko. His thoughts about Japanese painting and his passion for landscape gardening produced 165,000 square meters Japanese garden: The Dry Landscape Garden, The White Gravel and Pine Garden, he Moss Garden, and The Pond Garden. With every step you take, the graceful view before you makes you calm and in accordance with the Japanese paintings. The changing seasons, with azaleas in the spring time, the soft verdant green in summer, the glowing red of maples in autumn, and the snowscape of winter, all add to tour enjoyment of the museum. The museum collection of artwork includes the work of such great artists of modern Japanese painting as Yokoyama Taikan, Takeuchi Seiho, Kawai Gyokudo, Tomioka Tessai, Sakakibara Shiho and Uemura Shoen, among others.
Miraikan – The National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation
Miraikan is a place where we can understand the things happening in our world today from a scientific point of view, and have discussions while considering the future that awaits us. In addition to exhibitions that provide people with a chance to enjoy hands-on contact with science and technology, Miraikan's colorful line-up of offerings includes experienced based classes, and talks. Visitors can experience the technological progress of today, from simple day-to-day questions, to the latest technologies, the global environment, space exploration and life science.
The National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo
Chiyoda City, Japan
The First National Museum of Art in Japan
As far back as the beginning of the Meiji period, there was a movement demanding the establishment of a museum to permanently display contemporary art.
National Museum of Nature and Science (Japan)
Taito City, Japan
Established in 1877, the National Museum of Nature and Science boasts one of the richest histories of any museum in Japan. It is Japan's only nationally administered comprehensive science museum, and is a central institute for research in natural history and history of science and technology.
Tokyo National Museum
Taito City, Japan
The Tokyo National Museum collects, houses, and displays a comprehensive collection of art works and antiquities from Japan as well as other Asian countries. The museum also conducts research and investigations concerning its collection of books, rubbings, and photographs, related to fine art, and makes these items available to scholars.
Yamatane Museum of Art
Shibuya City, Japan
Yamatane Museum of Art was founded in 1966 by Taneji Yamazaki who has donated his numerous collection of Japanese art. The ex-chairman of the Yamatane Art Foundation, Tomiji Yamazaki collected 105 works of Hayami Gyoshu known as one of the most respected Japanese artists among scholars and collectors.