LibGuides: Humanities—Library Resources: Databases

MDC Databases

If prompted to log in, enter your MDC username and password.

FINE-TUNING DATABASE SEARCHES

Try different search fields
Use filters to limit searches
Use filters to refine results

Different databases may look different but they can all be used in similar ways. Go to a database’s Help function for instructions on search features. And remember: Don't reinvent the wheel! Search your article database for items from the bibliographies that occur at the end of journal articles or in books that you've already found on your topic.

Adapted from the UC Santa Cruz University Library research guide "Start Your Research." Used under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0) license.

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative, and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data; The tools to actively use those images; and A restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users. Account registration required.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Flipster (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read and download (for offline reading) your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device. Users can browse magazines by category as well as perform searches for specific ones.

Funded by: College
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion, and theology. Many articles in full text.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Citation Tools

In most databases, you can find MLA- and APA-formatted citations under headings like "Tools" and "Page Tools." Click the following links to learn more about MLA citation and APA citation formats.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Learn more about plagiarism—including its more nuanced varities—by visiting the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) guide to Avoiding Plagiarism.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.