Skip to main content

Collection Overview - Religion

A guide to conducting religion-related research at Miami Dade College (MDC), including information about our library, collection statistics, and resources for faculty.
CITATION TOOLS AND RESEARCH STRATEGY


CITATION TOOLS

In most databases, you can find MLA- and APA-formatted citations under headings like "Tools" and "Page Tools." Learn more about MLA citation and APA citation formats.


AVOIDING PLAGIARISM

Learn more about plagiarism—including its more nuanced varities—by visiting the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) guide to Avoiding Plagiarism.


GOOGLE SCHOLAR SEARCH STARTER

Click the above search button, and then add your own search terms. To search for MDC materials off campus, follow these steps: Click the triple-bar (hamburger) button, then select Settings => Library Links => type in "Miami Dade College" => Select => Save.




RESEARCH TIPS

Check out the following resources for ideas and strategies relating to effective research:


DATABASE SEARCH STRATEGIES

Different databases may look different but they can all be used in similar ways. Go to a database’s Help function for instructions on search features. And remember: Don't reinvent the wheel! Search your article database for items from the bibliographies that occur at the end of journal articles or in books that you've already found on your topic.

Adapted from the UC Santa Cruz University Library research guide "Start Your Research." Used under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0) license.




Credits


This LibGuide was designed and created and is maintained by Michael Moore. User suggestions and comments are welcome.

The icons used in this LibGuide were produced by Icons8 and are used under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported license. Hand-drawn signature typeface, Tuesday Night, by Font Forestry.