Basic problems in freehand drawing, including perspective, still-life and landscape. Emphasis is on developing a sense of structure through line, form and texture.
Competency 1: The student will apply terminology used in the construction of a drawing.
Competency 2: The student will apply numerous techniques and processes in the construction of drawings.
Competency 3: The student will develop a firm grasp of fundamental issues of composition.
Quick Sketching by
Quick Sketching with Ron Husband offers instruction to quick sketching and all its techniques. From observing positive and negative space and learning to recognize simple shapes in complex forms to action analysis and using line of action, this Disney legend teaches you how to sketch using all these components, and how to do it in a matter of seconds. Watch his drawings as he grows from a young, talented artist, to a true Disney animator. Follow him as he goes around the world and sketches flamenco dancers, football players, bakers, joggers, lions, tigers, anyone, and anything. Key Features Get tips on quick sketching from a Disney legend who has animated or supervised some of your favourite recent Disney movies like The Fox and the Hound, The Little Mermaid, and Beauty and the Beast. Features artist's guide and handbook which provides instruction while chronicling the author's growth as an artist. Quickly try out Husband's instructions and tips as you learn them in a sketchbook at the back of the book. This new edition re-emphasizes the four basic shapes and how important it is to recognize them in fast action. Stressing the importance of observation and the vital part this discipline plays in sketching.
Design Drawing by
THE CLASSIC GUIDE TO DRAWING FOR DESIGNERS, REVISED AND UPDATED TO INCLUDE CURRENT DIGITAL-DRAWING TECHNIQUES Hand drawing is an integral part of the design process and central to the architecture profession. An architect's precise interpretation and freedom of expression are captured through hand drawing, and it is perhaps the most fundamental skill that the designer must develop in order to communicate thoughts and ideas effectively. In his distinctive style, world-renowned author Francis D. K. Ching presents Design Drawing, Third Edition, the classic guide to hand drawing that clearly demonstrates how to use drawing as a practical tool for formulating and working through design problems. While digital tools continue to evolve, this Third Edition includes new illustrations and information on the latest digital-drawing techniques. Design Drawing, Third Edition covers the basics of drawing, including line, shape, tone, and space. Guiding the reader step-by-step through the entire drawing process, this Third Edition also examines different types of drawing techniques such as multiview, paraline, and perspective drawings--and reveals how the application of these techniques creates remarkable results. In addition, Design Drawing, Third Edition: Features over 1,500 hand drawings--stunning illustrations in the author's signature style that reinforce the concepts and lessons of each chapter Offers new exercises and illustrative examples that range in complexity Presents all-new digital drawing topics, such as hybrid floor plans, digital models and fabrication, and hand-to-digital fluency Includes access to a new website featuring videos of the author demonstrating freehand techniques in a step-by-step manner in the studio and on location Includes access to a brand new website (Francis Ching (wiley.com)) featuring videos of the author demonstrating freehand techniques in a step-by-step manner in studio and on location. Readers will gain a greater appreciation of the techniques presented in the book through the power of animation, video, and 3D models Written and illustrated for professional architects, designers, fine artists, illustrators, instructors and students, Design Drawing, Third Edition is an all-in-one package and effective tool that clearly demonstrates drawing concepts and techniques in a visually stimulating format that outshines other works in the field.
Color Drawing by
The Third Edition of Michael Doyle's classic Color Drawing remains the ultimate up-to-date resource for professionals and students who need to develop and communicate design ideas with clear, attractive, impressive color drawings. Update with over 100 pages, this Third Edition contains an entirely new section focused on state-of-the-art digital techniques to greatly enhance the sophistication of presentation drawings, and offers new and innovative ideas for the reproduction and distribution of finished drawings. Color Drawing, Third Edition Features: * A complete body of illustrated instructions demonstrating drawing development from initial concept through final presentation * Finely honed explanations of each technique and process * Faster and easier ways to create design drawings * Over 100 new pages demonstrating methods for combining hand-drawn and computer-generated drawing techniques Step-by-step, easy-to-follow images will lead you through digital techniques to quickly and easily enhance your presentation drawings.
Dive into our library's subject-specific databases to discover a world of articles, eBooks, videos, essays, and more!