Audiobooks and eBooks at MDC libraries: EBSCO eBook Helpfiles -FAQs, Printing, saving, emailing eBook pages

EBSCO eBooks offer a number of advantages over their print counterparts.  Users can:

• Download titles to mobile devices, including iPhones, iPads, Kindle Fires, and Android Devices
• Search within a book for specific words or phrases
• Save, print, or email chapters or sections
• Copy and paste portions of text for easy access during the research process
• Link to books or book chapters for easy reference or social sharing
• Save a list of favorite books to a personal book shelf
• Generate or export citations to bibliographic management tools
• Save notes to a personal folder with an EBSCOhost account
• Navigate between sections or chapters and the index via linking
• Place holds on titles 

Access EBSCO eBook collections here

eBook Viewer

eBooks can be read online in the eBook Viewer by clicking the eBook Full Text link on the Result List or Detailed Record.

A Detailed Record can be viewed by clicking an eBook title in the Result list. From the Detailed Record, you can read or download the eBook using the links in the left column. From the right column, you can print, email, save, or export the record, as well as add the details about the eBook to your folder.

At the bottom of the Detailed Record, you can view Most Relevant Pages from this eBook and the Table of Contents. Both sections can be collapsed or expanded by clicking the plus (+) or minus (-) in the upper left corner of the section.

• Most Relevant Pages from this eBook: Displays the most relevant sections of the eBook in which your search terms appear in the text.

• Table of Contents: Displays the Table of Contents for the eBook you are viewing. Clicking on a hyperlinked chapter opens the chapter in the eBook Viewer tool.

To print eBook pages:

1. Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.

2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the Print Pages in the tools menu above.

   The Print Pages to PDF menu is displayed.

   

3. Select to include in the PDF:

   • Current Page: Save only the page you are viewing.
   • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to the Page Limit indicated in the box above) in the field provided.
   • This Section: Select to save the entire section or chapter of the eBook. (If available to select)

4. Click Print PDF to open your browser's Print dialog box.

5. Configure your print settings and click OK to print your pages.

Note: If you have downloaded an EBSCO eBook and are viewing it in Adobe Digital Editions, eBook pages can be printed by going to the File menu and selecting Print. Any publisher-specified page printing limits are enforced b

If you are printing an EBSCO eBook, up to 100 pages of a title can be printed per user in PDF format. In addition, you can select to save the pages as a PDF file instead of printing them.

Notes:

• The number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.

• Some titles may not allow for printing due to individual publisher-specified limits.

Video Tutorials
Need help preparing for an upcoming training of your users or librarians on EBSCO eBooks?  Our video tutorials provide audio narration with matching text to guide users on how to use the database.

• Searching EBSCO eBooks
• Reading EBSCO eBooks
• Downloading EBSCO eBooks
• Downloading EBSCO eBooks to your Mobile Device
• Exporting EBSCO eBooks pages to Google Drive
•  

Other helpful links:

EBSCO eBook Accessibility User Guide and FAQs

In the top toolbar of the eBook Viewer, you can click the Back to Results, New Search, or Exit links to check in the eBook after you have finished viewing it.

Included in the column on the left are tools that allow you to view the contents of an eBook, search within the text of the eBook, and save a note on the eBook in your My EBSCOhost folder.

• Contents - Click to view the Table of Contents for the eBook title you are reading.

  • Publisher Permissions - The Publisher Permissions indicator displays the number of pages that can be printed or saved, whether copy/paste functionality is allowed, and whether the eBook can be downloaded to read offline. When printing/saving is allowed, the number of available pages is updated as you print or save eBook pages to your computer.

  • eBook Availability - The eBook Availability indicator displays the number of copies currently available from your institution.

  • Chapter Download - Click the Download icon [] to download a chapter of the eBook title you are viewing.

• Search Within - Click to search for terms within the eBook. (See: Searching within EBSCO eBooks)

• My Notes - Click to view your notes or to create a new note about the eBook or a page of the eBook and save it to your personal folder.

Included in the row of tools across the top of the Viewer are tools that allow you to look up words in a dictionary and share eBook information.

•  Add to Folder - Click to add the eBook to your My EBSCOhost folder.

•  Save Pages - Click to save eBook pages.

•  E-mail Pages - Click to e-mail eBook pages.

•  Print Pages - Click to print eBook pages.

•  Cite - Click to copy citation information for the eBook.

•  Dictionary - Click to search for definitions of words in the eBook you are reading.

•  Export - Click to export citation information to a bibliographic manager.

•  Permalink - Click to copy a persistent link to the eBook.

•  Share - Click to share the eBook information on one of several social networks.

•   Google Drive - Click to save the eBook pages to your Google Drive account. Note: If your browser has a pop-up blocker enabled, you must allow pop-up windows to open to sign into your Google account.

• Full Download - Click to download the eBook to your computer for offline readi

Saving eBook Pages

To save eBook pages as a PDF:

1. Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.

2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the Save Pages in the tools menu above.

   The Save Pages to PDF menu is displayed.

   

3. Select to include in the PDF:

   • Current Page: Save only the page you are viewing.
   • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to the Page Limit indicated in the box above) in the field provided.
   • This Section: Select to save the entire section or chapter of the eBook. (If available to select)

4. Select:

   • Save PDF: To save the selected pages to your computer.
   • Send as an E-mail: To e-mail the selected pages as a PDF file to yourself.

     The PDF is saved to your computer.

1. Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.

2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the E-mail Pages in the tools menu above.

   The E-mail PDF menu is displayed.

   

3. Include in the PDF:

   • Current Page: Save only the page you are viewing.
   • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to the Page Limit indicated in the box above) in the field provided.
   • This Section: Select to save the entire section or chapter of the eBook. (If available to select)

4. Send as E-mail:

   • Citation Format: If you would like to save your citations in a specific format, select one from the drop-down list.
   • E-mail from: Enter your e-mail address.
   • E-mail to: Enter the e-mail address of your recipient. To send to more than one e-mail address, use a semicolon between each e-mail address.
   • Subject: Add an e-mail subject line.
   • Comments: Enter comments you would like included in the body of the e-mail.

5. Click E-mail PDF.

Note: eBook pages saved as a PDF can be transferred to, and read on eReader devices such as the Nook or Kindle. Consult your device's user manual for instructions on how to manually transfer files to the device.