This course is the first part of a two-semester sequence in which students examine human anatomy and physiology through a systems approach based on the interaction between form and function, from the microscopic components of cells and tissues to the organismal level. Emphasis is placed on histology and the integumentary, skeletal, muscular, and nervous systems. Student learning outcomes: students will identify cell structures and describe their functions; students will distinguish tissues by structure, location in the body, and contrast their normal physiology; students will demonstrate an understanding of anatomical structure, organization of the body, cavities, planes, and directional terms; students will identify and describe structures of integumentary, skeletal, muscular, and nervous systems; students will interpret the functions of the integumentary, skeletal, muscular, and nervous systems; students will explain how the components of the human body maintain homeostasis; and students will analyze and interpret physiological data. Corequisite: BSC2085L.
Competency 1: The student will be able to understand the general structure and function of the human body.
Competency 2: The student will be able to describe how the body is organized.
Competency 3: The student will be able to understand the basic knowledge of chemical principles as these apply to human structure and function.
Competency 4: The student will be able to understand the structure and function of cells and tissue types.
Competency 5: The student will be able to understand the integumentary system and its function.
Competency 6: The student will be able to understand the skeletal system.
Competency 7: The student will be able to demonstrate knowledge of the structural and functional classification of joints.
Competency 8: The student will be able to understand the muscular system.
Competency 9: The student will be able to understand the basic structure and function of nervous tissue.
Competency 10: The student will be able to understand the structure and function of the special senses.
Muscle Biology by
Muscle Biology: The Life History of a Muscle looks at the story of a muscle from its embryonic beginnings, through its growth and ability to adapt to changing functional circumstances during adult life, to its eventual decline in both structure and function as old age progresses. Injury occurs to muscle during normal activity, after trauma, and during the source of certain diseases. Chapters on both muscle regeneration and muscle diseases emphasize the possibilities and limitsations of the healing capacity of muscle fibers. Muscle Biology begins with a brief review about the structure and function of a normal mature muscle and then proceeds to follow the developmental history of a muscle from the embryo to old age in a manner that gives the reader a perspective about not only developmental controls but also how at any stage of development a muscle is able to adapt to its functional environment. The book discusses both normal and abnormal changes in the muscle, the mechanisms behind those changes and how to mitigate deleterious changes from disease, 'normal' aging, and disuse/lack of physical activity. This is a must-have reference for students, researchers and practitioners in need of a comprehensive overview of muscle biology.
Muscle and Exercise Physiology by
Muscle and Exercise Physiology is a comprehensive reference covering muscle and exercise physiology, from basic science to advanced knowledge, including muscle power generating capabilities, muscle energetics, fatigue, aging and the cardio-respiratory system in exercise performance. Topics presented include the clinical importance of body responses to physical exercise, including its impact on oxygen species production, body immune system, lipid and carbohydrate metabolism, cardiac energetics and its functional reserves, and the health-related effects of physical activity and inactivity. Novel topics like critical power, ROS and muscle, and heart muscle physiology are explored. This book is ideal for researchers and scientists interested in muscle and exercise physiology, as well as students in the biological sciences, including medicine, human movements and sport sciences.
Anatomy and Physiology All-In-One for Dummies (+ Chapter Quizzes Online) by
The knee-bone's connected to the...what was it again? From complicated Latin names to what can seem like a million-and-one things to memorize, no one's saying anatomy and physiology is easy. But, with a little help from your friends at Dummies, it doesn't have to be impossible! Anatomy & Physiology All-in-One For Dummies is your go-to guide for developing a deep understanding of the parts of the human body and how it works. You'll learn the body's structures and discover how they function with expert help from the book's easy-to-use teaching features. You can even go online to access interactive chapter quizzes to help you absorb the material. With this book, you'll: Get a grip on key concepts and scientific terminology used to describe the human body Discover fun physiology facts you can apply to everyday life both inside and outside the classroom Learn how the body's different systems interact with one another So, if you're looking to ace that next test, improve your overall grade, reduce test anxiety, or just increase your confidence in the subject, grab a copy of Anatomy & Physiology All-in-One For Dummies. It's your one-stop, comprehensive resource for all things A&P!
Gray's Basic Anatomy by
Depend on Gray's Basic Anatomy, 2nd Edition to deliver superbly illustrated, authoritative, interactive content preferred by both students and faculty. Easy-to-read and concise, it has a strong clinical focus that's ideal for readers who need an efficient, high-yield anatomy textbook offering coverage of the most important anatomical concepts. Part of the renowned Gray's family of references, featuring outstanding full-color artwork praised for its utility and clarity, relevant and accurate content, a strong clinical focus, and interactive online features. Easy-to-use format Online features include self-assessment questions, additional clinical, and PT cases, and much more. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book as well as new materials (outlined above) designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. New figures throughout, including explanatory artwork of the cranial nerves. New Imaging Apps boxes, including OCT, provide even more student-friendly exposure to clinical content. New Clinical Apps boxes detail clinical implications.
Encyclopedia of Human Body Systems by
This encyclopedia is a concise yet comprehensive guide to the systems of the human body that is accessible to the lay reader. Ligaments and lymphatic fluid. The heart and the hormone regulatory system. The respiratory and reproductive systems. The human body comprises a myriad of fascinating, complex, and efficient systems, many of which operate constantly without our knowledge or awareness--that is, until we become ill or injured. This encyclopedia provides a concise yet comprehensive introduction to each of the systems of the human body, exploring all 11 organ systems of the human body: the circulatory, digestive, endocrine, integumentary, lymphatic, muscular, nervous, reproductive, respiratory, skeletal, and urinary systems. Each chapter includes detailed descriptions of important physiological processes, cell and tissue types, as well as the organs and their roles within the larger system. Special attention is also given to the ways in which these systems interact. Written in accessible prose, this text is an easy-to-understand reference for lay readers of any age and an ideal resource for any high school health curriculum. Features over 150 pictures, anatomical drawings, tables, and diagrams Provides entertaining sidebars and interesting facts throughout the encyclopedia Contains a bibliography and index to aid in study The comprehensive glossary contains more than 600 terms used in the text
Dive into our library's subject-specific databases to discover a world of articles, eBooks, videos, essays, and more!