Skip to Main Content
Tutoring
Databases
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.
Funded by: College and Statewide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
(Springer) - SpringerLink provides full-text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history, and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers free, comprehensive video tutorials and exercises on a wide range of topics, including calculus. They cover the basics of secant lines, tangent lines, and derivatives, helping students visualize and understand the transition from average to instantaneous rate of change.
Paul’s Online Math Notes
Paul’s Online Math Notes is a well-organized site with detailed notes, examples, and practice problems on calculus topics. It explains secant and tangent lines, the concept of limits, and derivatives in a clear and accessible way.
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare offers free course materials from actual MIT classes. The calculus resources include lecture notes, assignments, and exams with solutions, which cover these fundamental concepts.
PatrickJMT
PatrickJMT (Just Math Tutorials) offers clear video tutorials on a range of math topics, including secant lines, tangent lines, and how to calculate derivatives. The videos are concise and easy to follow.
Desmos
Desmos is an online graphing calculator that allows students to plot functions, explore secant and tangent lines visually, and understand how changing the function affects its rate of change.
