South Dade Senior High - Dual Enrollment Resources - Homestead Campus - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Access Your Textbook, Course, and Account

SLS1510 Preparing for Student Success

Course Resources

Fostering Purpose and Engagement in the Midst of Imposter Syndrome

Becoming a Student-Scholar

Career Exploration

Recommended Databases

Student Success Skills (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
Student Success equips students with the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive both in higher education and in their future career. Topics are delivered through multimedia and interactive content and cover core skills including academic writing, critical thinking, information literacy, intercultural awareness, and study strategies.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - A searchable Vocation, Careers, & Technical Education electronic collection.

Funded by: State Library of Florida

EDF1005 Introduction to the Teaching Profession

Course Resources

MDC School of Education
Click on the link for information about the School of Education at MDC. The website includes links to MDC programs and teacher certification information. MDC offers certificate programs, associate degrees, and bachelor's degrees in education.

Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, and citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). ERIC records now include full-text documents from the ERIC Digest at no extra charge. The database includes the ERIC thesaurus, a complete list of descriptive terms used by ERIC to index and search the database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present. Updated monthly.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Florida Department of Education
Welcome to the Florida Department of Education's website. Every day we work hand in hand with parents, teachers, educators and community members to improve Florida's education system for students of all backgrounds and abilities. Our site reflects this cooperative relationship and the role that so many Floridians play in ensuring student success.

Ask Us!

Tutoring Services
Book an appointment to meet with a writing tutor online or in-person on campus.
Research Help
Librarians can help you find the right article for your research. We can help you find books and websites on a specific topic. Make an appointment with a librarian in person or over Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Need help after-hours? Chat with a Florida librarian from 10 a.m. to midnight Sunday through Thursday (ET), and from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday and Saturday (ET).
Homestead Campus Learning Commons LibGuide
Welcome to Learning Resources! This guide provides information about resources and services.

POS2041 American Federal Government

Course Resources

FCLE LibGuide
The FCLE assesses students' civic literacy competency. It includes 80 multiple-choice questions and four domains with 20 questions in each section (American Democracy, United States Constitution, Founding Documents, and Landmark Impact on Law and Society). Items may use a variety of stimuli, such as primary sources, charts or graphs, or similar stimuli. Items may also ask students to consider or interpret a scenario to answer questions. The FCLE administration is untimed and takes approximately 1 hour to complete.
OpenStax American Government Textbook
OpenStax is an open education resources (free textbook).

American Government 101 by Kathleen Sears
Call Number: Available at the Homestead Campus
ISBN: 9781440598456
Publication Date: 2016-09-16
The Constitution Explained by David L. Hudson
Call Number: Available at the Homestead Campus
ISBN: 9781578597505
Publication Date: 2022-06-14
The Bill of Rights by Linda R. Monk; Ruth Bader Ginsburg (Foreword by)
Call Number: Available at the Homestead Campus
ISBN: 9780316415606
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Princeton Review AP U. S. Government and Politics Premium Prep 2023 by The Princeton The Princeton Review
Call Number: Available at the Homestead Campus
ISBN: 9780593450901
Publication Date: 2022-08-02
The American Revolution by Robert Allison
Call Number: Available at the Homestead Campus
ISBN: 9780195312959
Publication Date: 2011-02-14

EDF2144 Maximizing Student Potential in the School Context

Course Resources

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window
(National Library of Medicine) - PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.

Funded by: Other

Seven and a Half Lessons about the Brain by Lisa Feldman Barrett
Call Number: Available at the Homestead Campus
ISBN: 9780358645597
Publication Date: 2021-10-26
How emotions are made : the secret life of the brain. by Feldman Barrett, Lisa.
Call Number: Available at the Homestead Campus
ISBN: 9781509837526
Publication Date: 2017
Brain Food by Lisa Mosconi
Call Number: Available at the Homestead Campus
ISBN: 9780399573996
Publication Date: 2018-03-06

Dual Enrollment Resources - Homestead Campus: South Dade Senior High