GEB 1011 - Dual Enrollment Resources - North Campus - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Course Description

The student will learn the major disciplines of business including general business, business ethnics, forms of business ownership, economics, management and leadership, human relations marketing, information systems, accounting, financial management, money and banking, and business law.

eBooks

Business Ethics by Michael Boylan (Editor) The second edition of Business Ethics introduces readers to key ethical issues that arise within the world of business, providing a strong theoretical foundation as well as real world applications. This new edition has been greatly revised, and includes new sections on the financial services industry, globalization, and global economic justice. An accessible introduction for beginners, offering a combination of important established essays and new essays commissioned especially for this volume.
ISBN: 9781118494745
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
Business Ethics by OpenStax College Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility.
ISBN: 1947172573
Publication Date: 2018
Business Ethics by W. Michael Hoffman (Editor); Robert E. Frederick (Editor); Mark S. Schwartz (Editor) The fifth edition of Business Ethics addresses current, intriguing, often complex issues in corporate morality through 53 readings and 30 pertinent case studies. Now significantly updated, it includes new leading articles, related current cases, and mini-cases based on MBA student dilemmas. Addresses a broad range of the most current, intriguing, often complex issues and cases in corporate morality.
ISBN: 1118722779
Publication Date: 2014-01-02

Library Databases

Dive into our library's subject-specific databases to discover a world of articles, eBooks, videos, essays, and more!

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window (EBSCO) - Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) (Gale) This link opens in a new window (Gale) - This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating, and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes, and more. Funded by: State Library of Florida
MarketLine Intelligence Center This link opens in a new window MarketLine Advantage provides large volumes of data on a wide range of companies, industries, financial deals, and geographies from credible and recognized sources through an interactive platform with an intuitive interface. Funded by: College

Other Business Databases

Additional Resources

Advantages & Disadvantages of Each of the Three Key Methods of Forming a Business "There are three basic forms of business ownership: sole proprietorship, partnership and corporation. Each of these forms of business organization has advantages and disadvantages in such areas as setting up the company, paying taxes and assessing liability for business debts."
Advantages and Disadvantages of Owning a Small Business " According to entrepreneur.com, the average salary of an entrepreneur (in 2020) is $55,000, and that’s based on working an average of 66 hours per week. That’s a decent salary in certain low-cost areas, but it would be a struggle to live on those dollars in much of the U.S. So, while money is a consideration, it may not be the primary reason for owning your own business."
Business Structures from the Internal Revenue Service "When beginning a business, you must decide what form of business entity to establish. Your form of business determines which income tax return form you have to file. The most common forms of business are the sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, and S corporation. A limited liability company (LLC) is a business structure allowed by state statute. Legal and tax considerations enter into selecting a business structure."
Definition of Collective Bargaining
Types of Businesses Explore the different forms in which a business can be organized.