The Marvels Vol. 1 by Kurt Busiek (Text by); Yildiray Cinar (Illustrator)Kurt Busiek (MARVELS) is back, with the biggest, wildest, most sprawling series you've ever seen -- telling stories that span decades and range from cosmic adventure to intense human drama, from street-level to the far reaches of space, starring literally anyone from Marvel's very first heroes to the superstars of tomorrow! Featuring Captain America, Spider-Man, the Punisher, the Human Torch, Storm, the Black Cat, the Golden Age Vision, Melinda May, Aero, Iron Man, Thor and many more -- and introducing two brand-new characters destined to be fan-favorites -- a thriller begins that will take readers across the Marvel Universe...and beyond! Get to know Kevin Schumer, an ordinary guy with some big secrets -- and the mysterious Threadneedle as well! But who (or what) is KSHOOM? It all starts here. And it goes...everywhere! COLLECTING: THE MARVELS (2021) 1-5
5-Minute Marvel Stories by Marvel Press Book GroupAn exciting collection of 12 stories featuring favorite super heroes that can each be read aloud in 5 minutes! Heroes. Legends. Protectors! This padded storybook collection features 12 stories: Ms. Marvel and Captain Marvel join forces to defeat a dangerous foe, Kate Bishop proves there's room for two Hawkeyes, Jane Foster wields Thor's hammer, and more! Each action-packed adventure paired with colorful illustrations on every page--featuring Marvel's newest heroes and fan favorites--can be read aloud in just five minutes. Perfect for cuddle time, bedtime, or anytime! Team up with your favorite super heroes to save the universe! For more short-form action and adventure stories, check out these Marvel collections: Marvel Storybook Collection 5-Minute Marvel Stories - 2019 edition! The Avengers Storybook Collection 5-Minute Spider-Man Stories Spider-Man Storybook Collection
Publication Date: 2022-01-18
Wolverine: Weapon X Omnibus by Hugh Matthews; Marc Cerasini; David Alan MackCollecting three classic fan-favorite Wolverine novels together for the first time in a brand-new omnibus edition, including origin story Weapon X. WEAPON X by Mark Cerasini Before joining the X-Men, Wolverine was simply a directionless loner mutant named Logan. This is the cruel origin of Logan's transformation into Wolverine, as seen through the eyes of his tormentors. Their goal is to create the ultimate weapon, an indestructible man. As Logan manages to free himself from his captors, a brutal wave of violence affects all those involved. ROAD OF BONES by David Alan Mack Wolverine is tapped by a government agency to investigate rumors of a miracle cure developed by a sinister underworld organization, and used to gain leverage and control over desperate African nations. Wolverine must thwart the criminals' schemes and recover the panacea for benign use. But hope may turn to ashes as Logan learns that nothing is quite as it seems. LIFEBLOOD by Matthew Hughes Wolverine's memories of fighting in the Canadian army during World War II begin to resurface. Digging deeper, he discovers he was a prisoner of war, at the will of a ruthless Nazi scientist determined to unlock the secrets of Logan's mutant healing powers. What Logan doesn't know is that the scientist is still at large, and he'll stop at nothing to finish what he started sixty years earlier...
Publication Date: 2020-12-01
X-Statix: the Complete Collection Vol. 2 by Peter Milligan; Nick Derington; Mike Allred (Artist); Philip Bond (Artist); Nick Dragotta (Artist); Darwyn Cooke (Artist)The mutants in X-Statix know fame is the ultimate currency in today's society - and they're cashing in on their special abilities, big time! But as egos clash, the team may be torn apart by interior squabbles. When push comes to shove, will their careers end at their own hands? When European pop sensation Henrietta Hunter returns from the dead for the ultimate comeback tour, it's up to the celebrity super-squad to keep her alive... again! But can X-Statix live in the shadow cast by her white-hot celebrity... especially when she becomes team leader?! Plus, meet Latino heartthrob El Guapo! Spider-Man swings by! And - together at last - Doop and Wolverine hunt the Pink Mink! It's a super hero satire of modern culture from the brilliant minds of Milligan and Allred! Collecting: X-Statix (2002) 6-20, Wolverine/Doop (2003) 1-2, material from X-Men Unlimited (1993) 41
Daredevil by Chip Zdarsky Vol. 7 by Marvel ComicsThe Angel of Death has come to Hell's Kitchen. As a series of grisly murders tests Elektra's mettle - and her commitment to her role as the new Daredevil - the city spirals into a state of panic. With the body count mounting, even the Marvel Universe's deadliest assassin is at somewhat of a loss - because this serial killer can be in more than one place at a time! A team? A mutant? Or something else entirely? Meanwhile, Matt Murdock faces challenges of his own behind bars after being exposed to a dangerous and experimental compound that makes subjects more aggressive and violent. Whatever happens, one thing is certain - Matt won't be getting time off for good behavior! The next installment of Chip Zdarsky's Eisner Award-nominated run delivers twists, turns and unexpected allies! Collecting: Daredevil (2019) 32-36
Squadron Supreme by Mark Gruenwald; Bob Hall (Illustrator); Paul Ryan (Illustrator); John Buscema (Illustrator); Paul Neary (Illustrator)Hyperion! Power Princess! Dr. Spectrum! The Whizzer! Nighthawk! Together they and their many allies are the Squadron Supreme - the mightiest heroes of their other-dimensional Earth. But when the Squadron institutes the far-reaching Utopia Project - vowing to abolish war and crime, to eliminate poverty and hunger, and to cure death itself - everything changes! Can they possibly succeed? What lines will they cross to achieve their lofty goals? When the Project reaches its zenith and the Earth falls under the Squadron's complete control, when do heroes stop being heroes? And when the Squadron's foes flee to the Marvel Universe, which side will Captain America take? Master writer Mark Gruenwald explores the ethics of justice in his best-known story! Squadron Supreme (1985) 1-12, Captain America (1968) 314
Publication Date: 2021-05-18
Guardians of the Galaxy: the Art of the Game by Matt RalphsImmerse yourself in the universe of Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy game with this incredible collection of concept art, final designs and artist commentary. Jump on a wild ride across the cosmos in Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy, a story-driven action-adventure with a fresh take on everyone's favorite ragtag group of legendary heroes. When the Guardians accidentally set off a chain reaction of catastrophic events, Star-Lord must live up to his skills, resolve, and swagger to hold this combustible band of misfits together. With half the galaxy after them and some of the most powerful entities in the universe on the loose, what could go wrong? Embark on the epic journey behind the scenes of Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy in this beautiful hardback book. Accompanied by fascinating insights from the talented artists and developers behind the game, Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy: The Art of the Game features exclusive concept artwork and final designs of the characters, costumes, gear, ships, creatures, planets, and environments that make up its vast universe.
Miles Morales Vol. 6 by Phil Lord; Chris Miller; Kemp Powers; Saladin Ahmed; Christopher Allen (Artist); Carmen Carnero (Artist); Sara Pichelli (Artist)Happy tenth anniversary, Miles Morales! The young Spider-Man has run the gauntlet of his very own Clone Saga--but the shocking fallout will leave Miles and the people he loves permanently changed. You may think we're joking or blowing it out of proportion -- but we are not! Change is on the horizon -- and as a who's who of Miles Morales Spider-Creators web together a celebration of his first decade in comics, it's time to look ahead to his future! And although for Miles, the scars are fresh and his path is uncertain, the future has never looked brighter. Celebrate Miles' birthday in style, and join mighty Marvel for an anniversary celebration like no other! COLLECTING: Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) 29-31, Miles Morales: Spider-Man Annual (2021) 1
Publication Date: 2022-01-18
Black Panther Spellbound by Ronald SmithThe second book in the hit Young Prince series from Ronald L. Smith, recipient of the 2016 Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award. I'm T'Challa. The Prince of Wakanda. Son of T'Chaka. And one day, I will wear the mantle. Thirteen-year-old T'Challa can't wait to go back to America to visit his friends Sheila and Zeke, who are staying with Sheila's grandmother in Beaumont, a small Alabama town, over their summer break. He's thrilled to be on vacation away from his duties as the Prince of Wakanda for a few weeks, and he's taking full advantage of his access to the amazing food and the South's rich history. But as T'Challa continues to explore the town, he finds that a man who goes by the ordinary name of Bob happens to be everywhere he is--and T'Challa begins to think it's no coincidence. When residents of the town begin flocking to Bob's strange message, and a prominent citizen disappears, the Young Prince has no choice but to intervene. T'Challa and his friends start to do their own sleuthing, and before long, the three teens find themselves caught in a plot involving a rare ancient book and a man who's not as he seems. Swept up in a fight against an unexpected and evil villain, T'Challa, Sheila, and Zeke must band together to save the people of Beaumont . . . before it's too late. Complete your middle grade collection with these best-selling fan favorites: Black Panther: The Young Prince (Book 1 in The Young Prince Series) by Ronald L. Smith The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets World by Shannon and Dean Hale The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: 2 Fuzzy, 2 Furious by Shannon and Dean Hale Tristan Strong series by Kwame Mbalia Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer
Marvel-Verse: Thor by Chris Samnee (Artist); Rodney Buchemi (Artist); Andrea di Vito (Artist); Todd Nauck (Artist); Roger Langridge; Louise Simonson; Bryan Glass; Ralph MacchioIn Asgard, Midgard and all of the Marvel-Verse, no hero is mightier than Thor, God of Thunder -- and these are the tales that prove him worthy! Banished to Earth by his father Odin, Thor starts a new life, meeting fascinating people like Jane Foster -- and battling fearsome foes like Mr. Hyde! Then, as his friendship with Sif and the Warriors Three hang in the balance of a mystical force, Thor must resist temptation to save his fellow Asgardians! After tragedy strikes, the Thunder God flies into combat against Frost Giants and the gargantuan Ymir! And what will happen when Odin puts feuding brothers Thor and Loki to the test? COLLECTING: Thor the Mighty Avenger (2010) 1-2, Marvel Adventures Super Heroes (2008) 7, Thor: Crown of Fools (2013) 1, Thor: Where Walk the Frost Giants (2017) 1, material from Marvel Adventures Super Heroes (2010) 19
Publication Date: 2021-12-14
Mighty Marvel Masterworks: the Amazing Spider-Man Vol. 2 by Stan Lee; Steve Ditko (Artist)The stories that built the Marvel Universe, from the brilliant minds of legendary creators -- now available in an accessible new format the whole family can enjoy! Peter Parker has not been Spider-Man for very long, but the threats this newly minted hero must face are mounting quickly! Experience the debuts of Mysterio, Kraven the Hunter, the Scorpion -- and most dastardly of all, the Green Goblin! And as if that weren't enough, the eight-armed Doctor Octopus has returned, determined to unmask Spidey! Plus, witness the wallcrawler's first meetings with Daredevil and the Hulk, and the continuing development of his love/hate friendship with the Human Torch! But when Doc Ock recruits five villainous allies to join him in the Sinister Six, Spider-Man will face the battle of his life! COLLECTING: Amazing Spider-Man (1963) 11-19, Amazing Spider-Man Annual (1964) 1
Publication Date: 2021-11-30
Gamora and Nebula by Mackenzi Lee; Jenny Frison (Illustrator)The second book in the hit series from New York Times best-selling author Mackenzi Lee! This three-book series explores the untapped potential and duality of heroism of popular characters in the Marvel Universe. The first book in these series, Loki: Where Mischief Lies, was an instant New York Times best seller and received two starred reviews. Gamora arrives on Torndune--a once-lush planet that has been strip-mined for the power source beneath its surface--with a mission: collect the heart of the planet. She doesn't know who sent her, why they want it, or even what the heart of a planet looks like. But as the right hand and daughter of Thanos, and one of the galaxy's most legendary warriors, her job is not to ask questions. Her job is to do what she's told, no matter the cost. What she doesn't know is that her sister Nebula is in hot pursuit. Nebula has followed Gamora to Torndune in hopes of claiming the planet's heart first and shaming her sister as vengeance for the part she played in Nebula losing her arm. While Gamora falls in with a group of miners attempting to overthrow the tyrannical mining corporation that controls their lives, Nebula allies herself with the Universal Church of Truth, whose missionaries wait on every street corner to recruit more followers and tithes for the Matriarch. Both sisters hope their alliance will give them access to one of the massive diggers capable of drilling to the center of the planet. But the closer they get to the heart of the planet--and to each other--the closer they get to uncovering the truth of what brought them there and the role they may unknowingly be playing in a twisted competition with galactic consequences. A competition they can never win . . . unless they learn to trust each other. And trust is the biggest lie in the galaxy. Complete your Marvel YA collection with these best-selling fan-favorite novels: Loki: Where Mischief Lies by Mackenzi Lee Miles Morales: Spider-Man by Jason Reynolds Unstoppable Wasp by Sam Maggs Black Widow: Red Vengeance by Margaret Stohl Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl Captain Marvel: Higher, Further, Faster by Liza Palmer
Publication Date: 2021-06-01
Deadpool by Joe Kelly: the Complete Collection Vol. 2 by Joe Kelly; James Felder; Yancey Labat (Illustrator); Pete Woods (Illustrator); Walter McDaniel (Illustrator); Steve Harris (Illustrator)Joe Kelly's riotous run continues! Deadpool goes from would-be hero to zero (issue) in an encounter with the lamest dead people in the Marvel Universe! But Wade is a drowning man as T-Ray and Typhoid continue to torment him. Can X-Force's Siryn save Deadpool from his own self-destructive tendencies? As Wade inches closer to the edge, he fi nds himself targeted for death! The man called Ajax is cleaning house, and he wants Deadpool's stain scrubbed from the planet. But what's his connection to Wade's untold origin? Meanwhile, the world is on the brink of cosmic oblivion - and as far as Landau, Luckman & Lake are concerned, only one man can avert disaster: Deadpool is destined to be the savior of Earth! Really?! COLLECTING: DEADPOOL (1997) 0, 12-20; DEADPOOL AND DEATH ANNUAL '98; BABY'S FIRST DEADPOOL BOOK (1998) 1; ENCYCLOPAEDIA DEADPOOLICA (1998) 1
Publication Date: 2021-05-04
Iron Man Vol. 2 by Christopher Cantwell; CAFU (Artist); Juann Cabal (Artist)After receiving a near-fatal injury from Korvac, Tony Stark lands in emergency triage with his life on the line. If he takes off his armour, he will die! With Hellcat on the psychological ropes and Tony's other allies recuperating from their own near-death experiences, can Iron Man muster the mettle he needs to chase Korvac back into space and stop the mad demigod's quest for ultimate power? War Machine just might be the friend that Tony needs! Prepare to go interstellar as an unlikely band of heroes pursues their enemy to the farthest reaches of the galaxy, where near-certain death awaits at Korvac's hands. And as Moondragon reaches across the universe to help Hellcat reclaim her once-powerful mental abilities, Patsy Walker will have to face her demons - including the literal Son of Satan himself! Collecting: Iron Man (2020) 6-10
Publication Date: 2021-10-19
Ravencroft by Frank Tieri (Text by); Ángel Unzueta (Illustrator)RAVENCROFT REOPENED! After the hellish horrors of ABSOLUTE CARNAGE, the Ravencroft Institute has received a much-needed facelift and is open for business with a new staff , including JOHN JAMESON, looking to atone for the part he played in ABSOLUTE CARNAGE. But will Ravencroft return the mentally unstable villains of the Marvel Universe to upstanding citizens and give John the redemption he's looking for, or will they fall prey to the hospital's seemingly sinister nature? COLLECTING: RAVENCROFT (2020) 1-5
Publication Date: 2021-01-05
Captain America Epic Collection: Dawn's Early Light by Roger Stern; John Byrne; Bill Mantlo; Jim Shooter; Gene Colan (Artist); Alan Kupperberg (Artist); Lee Elias (Artist); Mike Zeck (Artist)Even for Captain America, life has rarely been this eventful! Battling the robotic Dragon Man above New York, considering running for President, and saving Manhattan from fiery destruction at Batroc and Mr. Hyde's hands is all in a day's work. And a trip to England proves to be no vacation either, as Cap encounters the vampire Baron Blood and the chilling Ghost of Greymoor Castle! Back home in the States, our hero learns that Hollywood plans to make a Captain America movie...the only problem is, his greatest foe, the Red Skull, has a very different script in mind! Finally, Cap has to prevent Morgan MacNeil Hardy from rewriting the American dream -- but can even Spider-Man help him stop the cyborg SULTAN from destroying Washington DC? COLLECTING: Captain America (1968) 247-266, Captain America Annual (1968) 5
Publication Date: 2021-07-20
Immortal Hulk Vol. 4 by Al Ewing; Joe Bennett (Artist); Javier Rodriguez (Artist); Nick Pitarra (Artist); Butch Guice (Artist)Al Ewing and Joe Bennett's best-selling, Eisner Award-nominated saga continues! There's a new monster in town. He's cuddly, lovable, and available for your corporate retreat. Sure, there was another Hulk once -- the angry green one who made all those nasty threats about ending the world. But who needs him? The Living Hulk is here...you might know him as Xemnu...and he's going to save us all, or your money back! But how did the Immortal Hulk get erased from the world? And who will triumph when Xemnu battles Bruce Banner?! Plus, the Leader sets his sights on infiltrating his archenemy's band of allies in preparation to enact his nefarious, intricately planned scheme. And deep in Banner's mind, something is reaching through the Green Door. It wants to hurt Banner badly. And the Devil Hulk takes that personally... COLLECTING: Immortal Hulk (2018) 31-40
All of the Marvels by Douglas WolkThe first-ever full reckoning with Marvel Comics' interconnected, half-million-page story, a revelatory guide to the "epic of epics"--and to the past sixty years of American culture--from a beloved authority on the subject who read all 27,000+ Marvel superhero comics and lived to tell the tale "Brilliant, eccentric, moving and wholly wonderful. . . . Wolk proves to be the perfect guide for this type of adventure: nimble, learned, funny and sincere. . . . All of the Marvels is magnificently marvelous. Wolk's work will invite many more alliterative superlatives. It deserves them all." --Junot Díaz, New York Times Book Review The superhero comic books that Marvel Comics has published since 1961 are, as Douglas Wolk notes, the longest continuous, self-contained work of fiction ever created: over half a million pages to date, and still growing. The Marvel story is a gigantic mountain smack in the middle of contemporary culture. Thousands of writers and artists have contributed to it. Everyone recognizes its protagonists: Spider-Man, the Avengers, the X-Men. Eighteen of the hundred highest-grossing movies of all time are based on parts of it. Yet not even the people telling the story have read the whole thing--nobody's supposed to. So, of course, that's what Wolk did: he read all 27,000+ comics that make up the Marvel Universe thus far, from Alpha Flight to Omega the Unknown. And then he made sense of it--seeing into the ever-expanding story, in its parts and as a whole, and seeing through it, as a prism through which to view the landscape of American culture. In Wolk's hands, the mammoth Marvel narrative becomes a fun-house-mirror history of the past sixty years, from the atomic night terrors of the Cold War to the technocracy and political division of the present day--a boisterous, tragicomic, magnificently filigreed epic about power and ethics, set in a world transformed by wonders. As a work of cultural exegesis, this is sneakily significant, even a landmark; it's also ludicrously fun. Wolk sees fascinating patterns--the rise and fall of particular cultural aspirations, and of the storytelling modes that conveyed them. He observes the Marvel story's progressive visions and its painful stereotypes, its patches of woeful hackwork and stretches of luminous creativity, and the way it all feeds into a potent cosmology that echoes our deepest hopes and fears. This is a huge treat for Marvel fans, but it's also a revelation for readers who don't know Doctor Strange from Doctor Doom. Here, truly, are all of the marvels.
Justice Society of America: the Demise of Justice by Len StrazewskiThis 1990s epic tells a story set in the 1950s starring the world's first super-hero team, the Justice Society of America. "Beware the savage skies! The end is near!" It's the 1950s- Truman is in the White House, television sets are coming to every American household...and the Justice Society of America is in an all-out war against the cosmos! Living constellations have descended on the Earth in the form of terrifying glowing titans. The Flash, Black Canary, Hawkman, and Green Lantern fight to keep the destruction to a minimum while, unbeknownst to them, Starman has already been taken prisoner. Who has summonded the colossal star-being's and why? And what is their connection to TV, the nation's new favorite pasttime? In these stories set at the close of the Golden Age, Len Strazewski pits the Justice Society against their greatest foes, with art from Grant Miehm, Mike Parobeck, Tom Artis, and Rick Burchett. Collects the full eight-issue Justice Society of America miniseries (1991) along with two bonus JSA stories from Adventure Comics #466 (1979) and All-Star Comics #57 (1951).
Publication Date: 2021-01-19
Suicide Squad Vol. 1: Give Peace a Chance by Robbie Thompson; Eduardo Pansica (Illustrator)The Suicide Squad enters a brand-new era as they encounter fresh foes and threats at every turn! All hell breaks loose for the squad! With all new do-badders they don't only have to worry about surviving their next mission...they have to survive each other! This volume collects the most daring tales of the antiheroes as the DC Universe spins out in the aftermath of Future State! Collecting Future State- Suicide Squad #1-2 and Suicide Squad #1-6.
Publication Date: 2021-11-23
Dark Nights: Death Metal: War of the MultiversesAs Earth has been taken over by the Dark Multiverse, the Justice League fights to survive! Stand with our heroes as they prepare for what may well be...the final fight of their lives. The Batman Who Laughs has made his final move, bringing the most horrifying opposition to the battleground, and now every hero and villain left alive will stand and fight together. The last battle against the Batman Who Laughs is at hand...the final fight for everything in the universe. And while the night is usually darkest just before the dawn, what would be the last thing you'd do if you weren't sure the dawn would ever arrive? Join our heroes in their waning hours as we show their journeys through what could be their final moments...heroes who have fought a million times before, but are keenly aware thsi could be their endgame. Everyone and everything is at stake...so join here for the last of the DCU as we know it! Featuring stories from a multitude of today's biggest creators like Scott Snyder, James Tynion IV, Joshua Williamson, Mark Waid, Gail Simone, Travis Moore, Francis Manapul, and Mirka Andolfo, Dark Nights- Death Metal- War of the Multiverses details every riff and all the power chords of the last war across the Multiverse. Collecting the tales from Dark Nights- Death Metal- Last Stories of the DC Universe #1, and Dark Nights- Death Metal- The Last 52- War of the Multiverses #1. This collection also features a host of behind-the-scenes material from the creation of these issues!
Publication Date: 2021-05-18
Watchmen (2019 Edition) by Alan Moore; Dave Gibbons (Illustrator)A hit HBO original series, Watchmen, the groundbreaking series from award-winning author Alan Moore, presents a world where the mere presence of American superheroes changed history--the U.S. won the Vietnam War, Nixon is still president, and the Cold War is in full effect. Considered the greatest graphic novel in the history of the medium, the Hugo Award-winning story chronicles the fall from grace of a group of superheroes plagued by all-too-human failings. Along the way, the concept of the superhero is dissected as an unknown assassin stalks the erstwhile heroes. This edition of Watchmen, the groundbreaking series from Alan Moore, the award-winning author of V For Vendetta and Batman: The Killing Joke, features art from industry legend Dave Gibbons, with high-quality, recolored pages found in Watchmen: Absolute Edition.
Publication Date: 2019-05-20
Justice League: Endless Winter by Andy Lanning; Ron Marz; Howard Porter (Illustrator)"You can't bury the past forever..." There's an extinction-level storm wreaking havoc on the entirety of Earth, and the Justice League finds themselves fighting a literal force of nature! Enter the Frost King, a monster mad with power, with an ice army at his command! What devastating mystery lies in his past? And how is he tied to Queen Hippolyta, Swamp Thing, Viking Prince, and their reluctant ally, Black Adam? Past mistakes and present dangers collide in this subzero story! This volume collects Justice League- Endless Winter #1-2, The Flash #767, Superman- Endless Winter Special #1, Aquaman #66, Justice League #58, Teen Titans- Endless Winter Special #1, Justice League Dark #29, and Black Adam- Endless Winter Special #1, the full run of Andy Lanning and Ron Marz's icy epic as realized by a host of fan-favorite artists including Howard Porter, Marco Santucci, Clayton Henry, Phil Hester, Xermanico, and more!
Publication Date: 2021-11-16
Wonder Woman by George Perez Vol. 6 by George PerezGeorge Perez's prolific, influential run on Wonder Woman comes to a close in this collection, featuring the "War of the Gods" storyline! In 1987, writer and artist George Perez reinvented Wonder Woman from the ground up, paying tribute to the character's origins while boldly moving Diana of Themyscira forward; helping to shape the pop culture icon as fans know her today. This collection includes the final stories of Perez's five-year Wonder Woman run, highlighted by the War of the Gods event, a celebration of the character's 50th anniversary that saw Circe manipulating the many gods of the DC Universe against each other, with Earth and its superheroes caught in the crossfire. Along with the main War of the Gods story this volume also includes the final Perez-written issues of the Wonder Woman series, including Diana vs. Lobo, and the writer-artist's goodbye to Wonder Woman and the Amazons! Collects Wonder Woman #58-62, War of the Gods #1-4.
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
The Flash Vol. 14: the Flash Age by Joshua WilliamsonBarry Allen and Eobard Thawne...allies? Can the Flash trust the Reverse-Flash? He may have to, if he's going to stop the massive threat of the brand-new villain Paradox! The Flash Age! The arrival of the villainous and unimaginably powerful Paradox shows the Flash what happens when ordinary people pay the price in super-powered battles. This high-octane story sees Barry Allen running for his life to save himself, those he loves, and all of reality. When Paradox sends fellow sppedster Godspeed after the Flash, the hero's forced to team with his greatest enemy-the Reverse-Flash. With the entire Flash legacy hanging in the balance and the man who killed his mother possible the only hope he has to save the Multiverse, Barry Allen races toward a shocking and final finish line that unleashes an even larger threat than he imagined. Writer Joshua Williamson () amps up the action alongside all-star artists Howard Porter () and Rafa Sandoval () with a story that stretches from Barry Allen's earliest origins to today, with a bombastic conclusion that propels the Flash forward. Collects issues The Flash #88, The Flash #750-755, and The Flash Annual #3.
Publication Date: 2021-05-11
The Flash Vol. 15: Finish Line by Joshua Williamson; Christian Duce (Illustrator)It's Barry Allen's last race! The Legion of Zoom has won. Central City is in ruins. Barry Allen is trapped in the Speed Force, his body taken over by the Reverse-Flash! For years, the Reverse-Flash has wanted Barry Allen to suffer, but he's always been defeated by the Flash Family! Now the Reverse-Flash is going to build his own family, the Legion of Zoom, to help him get the revenge he demands! But they aren't going down without a fight as they race together to save the soul of Barry Allen! Can the return of allies from the Flash's past be enough to stop the Reverse-Flash? Witness the biggest battle in Flash history as the two sides go head-to-head for the fate of the future!
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Batman Vol. 3: Ghost Stories by James Tynion IV; Guillem March (Illustrator)A new day dawns in Gotham, and the horrors of "The Joker War" are just being realized. A bold new direction for Batman begins as Bruce Wayne's circumstances are forever changed. How did The Joker's rampage affect the citizens of the city? Bruce Wayne and the city he loves have changed dramatically following the events of "The Joker War," but Batman and his mission are eternal. The mysterious vigilante known as Ghost-Maker has known Bruce since they were teenagers, and he's made his decision. It's time Gotham City had a new hero. Batman and Ghost-Maker go toe-to-toe to decide which of them will remain Gotham City's hero. Yet the city is changing faster than ever after "The Joker War," and with this change comes increasing dangers. Also, in honor of Batman's first appearance in Detective Comics #27, this collection features the biggest names in comics as they chronicle the most epic Batman adventures Gotham City and the DC Universe have ever seen! Collects Batman #101-105, a story from Detective Comics #1027, and Batman Annual #5.
Publication Date: 2021-06-15
Batman Vol. 4: the Cowardly Lot by James Tynion IV; Jorge Jimenez (Illustrator)Following the tragic events in the Infinite Frontier special, Batman and his new ally Ghost-Maker must reckon with a new gang operating in Gotham City. The bestselling creative team behind last year's epic "The Joker War" returns for a thrill-packed, dangerous story line as "The Cowardly Lot" begins. Is the new gang in Gotham connected to the resurgence of the Scarecrow? Meanwhile, Mayor Nakano has a meeting with shadowy billionaire Simon Saint, who has come to Gotham to pitch the concept of an advanced law enforcement project know as...the Magistrate! It's always darkest before the dawn, especially in Gotham City! Collects Batman #106-111 and Infinite Frontier #1
Publication Date: 2021-09-14
Justice League: Death Metal by Joshua Williamson; Xermanico (Illustrator)While the Dark Multiverse invades the DC Universe, the World's Greatest Heroes unite to save our world from the threat of Perpetua and the Omega Knight in this tale written by Joshua Williamson. Dark Nights- Death Metal, the blockbuster sequel to the 2017 event by Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo, rocked comics shops in 2020--and now DC collects this essential tie-in tale starring the Justice League, written by Snyder's frequent collaborator Joshua Williamson! As this epic begins, Nightwing is on a mission to Brimstone Bay to rescue the evil Legion of Doom from the clutches of Perpetua--but to do so, he'll need help from none other than Lex Luthor! Along the way, fans will see a reunion of New Teen Titans Nightwing, Cyborg, and Starfire; Detective Chimp will reveal his darkest secret; Hawkgirl hunts the Martian Manhunter; and, at last, the Legion of Doom will be freed--but will they help the Justice League or betray them? Collects Justice League #53-57.
DC Comics: the Art of Jim Lee Vol. 1 by Jim Lee (Illustrator)The masterful work of Jim Lee is all collected in one massive volume, including stories, covers and pinup illustrations. This new, oversize art book captures some of Jim Lee's most dynamic artwork from his decades in the comics industry. From his early work with WildStorm Productions to his recent turns drawing the greatest heroes in the DC Universe, this title collects hundreds covers and behind-the-scenes art from the artist's career. See why Jim Lee is considered the greatest comics artist of his generation with this extraordinary collection!
Publication Date: 2019-11-26
The Other History of the DC Universe by John RidleyAcademy Award-winning screenwriter John Ridley (12 Years a Slave, Let It Fall) examines the mythology of the DC Universe in this compelling new graphic novel! Reframing iconic moments of DC history and charting a previously unexplored sociopolitical thread as seen through the prism of DC Super Heroes who come from historically disenfranchised groups, John Ridley goes where no other has gone before! This unique new series presents its story as prose by Ridley married with beautifully realized color illustrations from a selection of exciting illustrators and comics artists. Extensively researched and masterfully executed, THE OTHER HISTORY OF THE DC UNIVERSE promises to be an experience unlike any other. You may think you know the history of the DC Universe...but the truth is far more complex. THE OTHER HISTORY OF THE DC UNIVERSE isn't about saving the world--it's about having the strength to simply be who you are. Collects The Other History of the DC Universe #1-5.
Publication Date: 2021-11-16
Batman Vol. 1: Their Dark Designs by James Tynion IV; Tony Daniel (Illustrator)Beginning a whole new chapter in the life of the Dark Knight, the epic art team of Tony S. Daniel and Danny Miki are joined by new series writer James Tynion IV! It's a new day in Gotham City, but not the same old Batman. With Bane vanquished and one of his longtime allies gone, Batman has to start picking up the pieces and stepping up his game. Batman has a new plan for Gotham City, but he's not the only one. Deathstroke has returned as well, under a mysterious new contract that could change everything.
Publication Date: 2020-10-20
Superman: the One Who Fell by Phillip Kennedy Johnson; Scott Godlweski (Illustrator)Phillip Kennedy Johnson jumps from Future State and brings the Kents back to the present, crafting a father-son story that spans both SUPERMAN and ACTION COMICS! In "The Golden Age" Jonathan Kent is back from the 31st century and fighting cosmic threats alongside his legendary father, Clark Kent. But when an interdimensional breach opens near Earth, Jon recognizes the creatures that emerge- the cosmic leviathans that the Legion of Super-Heroes credits with the death of Superman! As Superboy desperately tries to save Superman's life from the leviathans of the breach, Superman discovers the breach's shocking origins. But with his powers mysteriously fading, he is utterly outmatched. Can Superboy change the course of history and save his father's life? Collects Action Comics #1029 and Superman #29-32.
Stranger Things and Dungeons and Dragons (Graphic Novel) by Jody Houser; Jim Zub; Diego Galindo (Illustrator)Follow the crew from Hawkins, Indiana, as they discover the legendary monsters and epic adventures of the Dungeons & Dragons tabletop role-playing game together. Follow the crew from Hawkins, Indiana, as they discover the legendary monsters and epic adventures of the Dungeons & Dragons tabletop role-playing game together. Long before the dreaded Demogorgon took one of them to the Upside Down, watch Mike, Lucas, and Will bond with Dustin for the first time over the game that would define their childhood. See the party come together as a team through communal stories and perilous quests to learn important lessons about friendship and find the courage to stand up to the bullies that challenge their everyday. Written by comics and RPG all-stars Jim Zub (Rick and Morty vs. D&D, Conan- Serpent War, Dungeons & Dragons- Infernal Tides) and Jody Houser (Critical Role- Vox Machina, Stranger Things, Star Wars), with vorpal-sharp line art from rising talent Diego Galindo (Power Rangers, Kino) and eye-popping colors from MsassyK (Isola) that strike as true as a Magic Missile. Dive into this love letter to a game that has defined role-playing through the lens of your current favorite icons of eighties nostalgia.
Publication Date: 2021-07-06
Stranger Things: Science Camp (Graphic Novel) by Jody Houser; Edgar Salazar (Illustrator); Keith Champagne (Illustrator)The comics based on the hit Netflix series delve into B-movie horror nostalgia when Dustin goes to summer camp, confronts a sinister figure in an Albert Einstein mask, and joins forces with Suzie to solve mysterious disappearances. The comics based on the hit Netflix series delve into B-movie horror nostalgia when Dustin goes to summer camp, confronts a sinister figure in an Albert Einstein mask, and joins forces with Suzie to solve mysterious disappearances. Dustin arrives at Camp Know Where to navigate the new social hierarchy without the support of his Hawkins adventuring party. While also faced with nerdy bullies, a new menace haunts the young scientists and camp counselors. A mysterious figure with sinister intent arrives to disrupt the serene woodland scene. When camp counselors start to disappear, the solution won't take rocket science, but Dustin will have to get on the same wavelength as Suzie and the other campers before tensions reach a boiling point. Writer Jody Houser (Critical Role, Stranger Things- Into the Fire) returns with Edgar Salazar and Keith Champagne (Stranger Things- SIX) to create a new miniseries in the Stranger Things universe, taking place between seasons two and three of the hit Netflix show. Collects Stranger Things- Science Camp #1-#4.
Publication Date: 2021-05-04
Stranger Things: Darkness on the Edge of Town by Adam ChristopherChief Jim Hopper reveals long-awaited secrets to Eleven about his old life as a police detective in New York City, confronting his past before the events of the hit show Stranger Things. Christmas, Hawkins, 1984. All Chief Jim Hopper wants is to enjoy a quiet first Christmas with Eleven, but his adopted daughter has other plans. Over Hopper's protests, she pulls a cardboard box marked "New York" out of the basement--and the tough questions begin. Why did Hopper leave Hawkins all those years ago? What does "Vietnam" mean? And why has he never talked about New York? Although he'd rather face a horde of demogorgons than talk about his own past, Hopper knows that he can't deny the truth any longer. And so begins the story of the incident in New York--the last big case before everything changed. . . . Summer, New York City, 1977. Hopper is starting over after returning home from Vietnam. A young daughter, a caring wife, and a new beat as an NYPD detective make it easy to slip back into life as a civilian. But after shadowy federal agents suddenly show up and seize the files about a series of brutal, unsolved murders, Hopper takes matters into his own hands, risking everything to discover the truth. Soon Hopper is undercover among New York's notorious street gangs. But just as he's about to crack the case, a blackout rolls across the boroughs, plunging Hopper into a darkness deeper than any he's faced before.
Publication Date: 2020-02-25
The Witcher Volume 5: Fading Memories by Bartosz Sztybor; Ahmad Mir (Illustrator); Hamidreza Sheykh (Illustrator)Based on the hit games by CD Projekt Red! Based on the hit games by CD Projekt Red! The Witcher is now a Netflix Original Series! As Geralt explores new career possibilities, he receives a request from the mayoress of Towitz--a small town where children are being kidnapped by Foglets. Upon accepting the work, Geralt's thrust into the mysterious past of a mourning mother and her now abducted son. Caught between the townsfolks' recollections of the kidnapping and a slew of disturbing visions, Geralt must face the approaching danger with his own intuition. Created in close collaboration with the studio behind the games! Collects issues #1-#4 of the Dark Horse Comics series The Witcher- Fading Memories.
Publication Date: 2021-08-10
Star Wars: the Fallen Star (the High Republic) by Claudia GrayNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * In this gripping sequel to Star Wars: The Rising Storm, the light of the Jedi faces its darkest hour. Time and again, the vicious raiders known as the Nihil have sought to bring the golden age of the High Republic to a fiery end. Time and again, the High Republic has emerged battered and weary, but victorious thank to its Jedi protectors--and there is no monument to their cause grander than the Starlight Beacon. Hanging like a jewel in the Outer Rim, the Beacon embodies the High Republic at the apex of its aspirations: a hub of culture and knowledge, a bright torch against the darkness of the unknown, and an extended hand of welcome to the furthest reaches of the galaxy. As survivors and refugees flee the Nihil's attacks, the Beacon and its crew stand ready to shelter and heal. The grateful Knights and Padawans of the Jedi Order stationed there finally have a chance to recover--from the pain of their injuries and the grief of their losses. But the storm they thought had passed still rages; they are simply caught in its eye. Marchion Ro, the true mastermind of the Nihil, is preparing his most daring attack yet--one designed to snuff out the light of the Jedi.
Publication Date: 2022-01-04
Star Wars Visions: Ronin by Emma Mieko CandonNATIONAL BESTSELLER * A mysterious former Sith wanders the galaxy in this stunning Star Wars tale, an original novel inspired by the world of The Duel from the Star Wars Visions animated anthology. The Jedi are the most loyal servants of the Empire. Two decades ago, Jedi clans clashed in service to feuding lords. Sickened by this endless cycle, a sect of Jedi rebelled, seeking to control their own destiny and claim power in service of no master. They called themselves Sith. The Sith rebellion failed, succumbing to infighting and betrayal, and the once rival lords unified to create an Empire . . . but even an Empire at peace is not free from violence. Far on the edge of the Outer Rim, one former Sith wanders, accompanied only by a faithful droid and the ghost of a less civilized age. He carries a lightsaber, but claims lineage to no Jedi clan, and pledges allegiance to no lord. Little is known about him, including his name, for he never speaks of his past, nor his regrets. His history is as guarded as the red blade of destruction he carries sheathed at his side. As the galaxy's perpetual cycle of violence continues to interrupt his self-imposed exile, and he is forced to duel an enigmatic bandit claiming the title of Sith, it becomes clear that no amount of wandering will ever let him outpace the specters of his former life.
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Star Wars Legends Epic Collection: the Old Republic Vol. 4 by Rob Chestney; Alexander FreedThe Sith Empire has returned to the galaxy! Determined to crush the Republic that sent them into exile, the Sith launch an attack on the galaxy's Outer Rim -- with their sights set on the Core Worlds, the heart of galactic unity. The Sith's Dark Council claims to want peace -- but both sides have unleashed spies that could turn the tide of war! And on a frozen world, a lost tribe of Sith cut off from the galaxy is about to have its fate changed forever, as a rebellious outcast discovers ancient secrets that will lead him and his allies to the stars -- and beyond! COLLECTING: Star Wars: The Old Republic (2010) 1-6, Star Wars: The Old Republic - The Lost Suns (2011) 1-5, Star Wars: Lost Tribe of the Sith - Spiral (2012) 1-5; material from Star Wars Tales (1999) 17, Star Wars Visionaries (2005)
Publication Date: 2021-07-06
Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book III: Lesser Evil) by Timothy ZahnNATIONAL BESTSELLER * The fate of the Chiss Ascendancy hangs in the balance in the epic finale of the Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy trilogy from Timothy Zahn. For thousands of years the Chiss Ascendancy has been an island of calm, a center of power, and a beacon of integrity. It is led by the Nine Ruling Families, whose leadership stands as a bulwark of stability against the Chaos of the Unknown Regions. But that stability has been eroded by a cunning foe who winnows away trust and loyalty in equal measure. Bonds of fidelity have given way to lines of division among the families. Despite the efforts of the Expansionary Defense Fleet, the Ascendancy slips closer and closer to civil war. The Chiss are no strangers to war. Their mythic status in the Chaos was earned through conflict and terrible deeds, some long buried. Until now. To ensure the Ascendancy's future, Thrawn will delve deep into its past, uncovering the dark secrets surrounding the ascension of the First Ruling Family. But the truth of a family's legacy is only as strong as the legend that supports it. Even if that legend turns out to be a lie. To secure the salvation of the Ascendancy, is Thrawn willing to sacrifice everything? Including the only home he has ever known?
Publication Date: 2021-11-16
Dark Force Rising: Star Wars Legends (the Thrawn Trilogy) by Timothy ZahnIn this essential Star Wars Legends novel, the sequel to Heir to the Empire, Grand Admiral Thrawn's sinister plan threatens to spell doom for the fledgling New Republic and its most iconic heroes. The dying Empire's most cunning and ruthless warlord, Grand Admiral Thrawn, has taken command of the remnants of the Imperial Fleet and launched a massive campaign aimed at the New Republic's destruction. Meanwhile, Han Solo and Lando Calrissian race against time to find proof of treason inside the highest Republic Council--only to discover instead a ghostly fleet of warships that could bring doom to their friends and victory to their enemies. Yet most dangerous of all is a new Dark Jedi, risen from the ashes of a shrouded past, consumed by bitterness, and scheming to corrupt Luke Skywalker to the dark side.
Publication Date: 2021-09-07
Billie Holiday: the Graphic Novel by Ebony Gilbert; David Calcano; Keith Knight (Foreword by)Dive into the celebrated life of 'Lady Day' with this fully-illustrated graphic novel that tells the story of Billie Holiday's rapid - and, at times, grueling - rise to become one of the best musicians who ever lived. From her days as a young entertainer performing for small jazz clubs in Harlem, to headlining sold-out shows at Carnegie Hall, every trouble and triumph of Billie Holiday's bold, influential career is featured in this graphic novel from Fantoons.
Publication Date: 2021-04-20
Anne Frank's Diary: the Graphic Adaptation by Anne Frank (Text by); David Polonsky (Illustrator); Ari Folman (Adapted by)A timeless story rediscovered by each new generation, The Diary of a Young Girl stands without peer. For both young readers and adults it continues to capture the remarkable spirit of Anne Frank, who for a time survived the worst horror the modern world has seen--and who remained triumphantly and heartbreakingly human throughout her ordeal. Adapted by Ari Folman, illustrated by David Polonsky, and authorized by the Anne Frank Foundation in Basel, this is the first graphic edition of The Diary and includes extensive quotation directly from the definitive edition. It remains faithful to the original, while the stunning illustrations interpret and add layers of visual meaning and immediacy to this classic work of Holocaust literature.
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
Who Sparked the Montgomery Bus Boycott?: Rosa Parks by Insha Fitzpatrick; Abelle Hayford (Illustrator); Hanna Schroy (Colorist (comics)); Who HQDiscover the story behind Rosa Parks and the Montgomery Bus Boycott in this compelling graphic novel -- written by Oh My Gods! author Insha Fitzpatrick and illustrated by #DrawingWhileBlack organizer Abelle Hayford. Presenting Who HQ Graphic Novels- an exciting new addition to the #1 New York Times Best-Selling Who Was? series! From refusing to give up her bus seat to a white passenger to sparking civil rights protests across America, explore how Rosa Parks's powerful act earned her the title "Mother of the Civil Rights Movement." A story of resistance, strength, and unwavering spirit, this graphic novel invites readers to immerse themselves in the life of the American Civil Rights leader -- brought to life by gripping narrative and vivid full-color illustrations that jump off the page.
Publication Date: 2022-01-11
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys; Andrew Donkin (Adapted by); Dave Kopka (Illustrator); Brann Livesay (As told to); Chris Dickey (As told to)Just in time for the 10th anniversary ofBetween Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys's award-winning debut novel, and inspiration for the major motion pictureAshes in the Snow, is now a gorgeous graphic novel! From #1New York Timesand international bestselling author and Carnegie Medal winner ofSalt to the Seacomes a story of loss and of fear--and ultimately of survival--in a brand-new four-color format. "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post ANew York Timesnotable book An international bestseller A Carnegie Medal nominee A William C. Morris Award finalist A Golden Kite Award winner June, 1941. A knock comes at the door and the life of fifteen-year-old Lina Vilkas changes forever. She's arrested by the Soviet secret police and deported from Lithuania to Siberia with her mother and younger brother. The conditions are horrific and Lina must fight for her life and for the lives of those around her, including the boy that she loves. Risking everything, she secretly passes along clues in the form of drawings, hoping they will reach her father's prison camp. But will her messages, and her courage, be enough to reunite her family? Will they be enough to keep her alive? A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers ofThe Book Thief, now available as a stunning graphic novel.
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Our Stories Carried Us Here by Tea Rozman Clark (Editor); Julie Vang (Editor)"Eleven storytellers chronicle their journeys from places all over the world--including Guatemala, Chad, Vietnam, and Kazakhstan--to the United States. Each story compellingly details a variety of experiences the individual immigrant or refugee had, highlighting differences between stories that too often are lumped together or not given an opportunity to be heard. Each storyteller was paired with an illustrator from a similar linguistic and cultural heritage. The thoughtfulness of the matches shines through, as every panel authentically conveys the narrators' poignant and emotional memories, highlighting the beauty of their homelands and the cultures they still identify with. The narratives show the struggles and triumphs of acclimating to a new language, culture, and worldview as well as dealing with obstacles like racism and microaggressions... Will strongly evoke both thought-provoking insights and empathy."--KIRKUS STARRED REVIEW Green Card Voices presents a bold and unconventional collection of first-person stories told and illustrated by immigrants and refugees living across the United States. Stanford scientist, deaf student, indigenous activist, Black entrepreneur--all immigrants and refugees--recount journeys from their home countries in ten vibrantly illustrated stories. Faced by unfamiliar vistas, they are welcomed with possibilities, and confronted by challenges and prejudice. Timely, sobering, and insightful, Our Stories Carried Us Here acts as a mirror and a light to connect us all with immigrant and refugee experiences.
Publication Date: 2021-08-01
Hokusai by Giuseppe Lantazi; Francesco MatteuzziA stunning visual biography of one of Japan's most famous historical artists, this book beautifully illustrates the story of Katsushika Hokusai. Enter the world of Katsushika Hokusai - the enigmatic creator of Japanese art's all-time most iconic image. This vivid graphic biography tells the story of Hokusai's intriguing life and pioneering works, details the fascinating historical context of Edo-era Japan, and explains how Hokusai forged an image of his country that still resonates across the world today. Telling the story of both his eccentric (and incredibly productive) life - while simultaneously painting a fascination picture of his wider cultural legacy, this book is ideal for both those new to Hokusai's work - and his biggest fans. Those who enjoyed Basquiat: A Graphic Novel by Paolo Parisi or Pollock Confidential: A Graphic Novel by Onofrio Catacchio should look at this too.
Publication Date: 2021-04-07
The Lost Child of Chernobyl by Helen BateOne April night, people living near Chernobyl see a bright light in the sky...Everyone is told to move out of the forbidden zone around the destroyed nuclear reactor, but two stubborn old ladies, Anna and Klara, refuse to leave. Nine years later, the forest wolves bring a ragged child to their door - a child who has been living with wolves in the forbidden zone. Who is the lost child of Chernobyl and will Anna and Klara be able to find the child's family after all this time? Inspired by the real events of the global environmental disaster at Chernobyl in 1986, this haunting and deeply relevant graphic novel is about the place of humans in the natural world, about healing, survival and the meaning of home. From the award-winning author of Peter in Peril, USBBY Outstanding International Book, and Me and Mrs. Moon.
Publication Date: 2021-09-01
Who Was the Voice of the People?: Cesar Chavez by Terry Blas; Mar Julia (Illustrator); Who HQDiscover the story behind Cesar Chavez and the Delano Grape Strike in this moving graphic novel -- written by award-winning author Terry Blas and illustrated by Ignatz-nominated cartoonist Mar Julia. Presenting Who HQ Graphic Novels- an exciting new addition to the #1 New York Times Best-Selling Who Was? series! Follow Cesar Chavez and the National Farmworkers Association as they set out on a difficult 300-mile protest march in support of farm workers' rights. A story of hope, solidarity, and perseverance, this graphic novel invites readers to immerse themselves in the life of the famous Latino American Civil Rights leader -- brought to life by gripping narrative and vivid full-color illustrations that jump off the page.
Publication Date: 2022-01-11
I Survived the Nazi Invasion, 1944 by Lauren Tarshis; Álvaro Sarraseca (Illustrator); Georgia Ball (Adapted by)A beautifully rendered graphic novel adaptation of Lauren Tarshis's bestselling I Survived the Nazi Invasion, 1944, with text adapted by Georgia Ball and art by Álvaro Sarraseca. It's been years since the Nazis invaded Max Rosen's home country of Poland. All the Jewish people, including Max's family, have been forced to live in a ghetto. At least Max and his sister, Zena, had Papa with them . . . until two months ago, when the Nazis took him away. Now Max and Zena are on their own. One day, with barely enough food to survive, the siblings make a daring escape from Nazi soldiers into the nearby forest. They are found by Jewish resistance fighters, who take them to a safe camp. But soon, grenades are falling all around them. Can Max and Zena survive the fallout of the Nazi invasion? With art by Álvaro Sarraseca and text adapted by Georgia Ball, Lauren Tarshis's New York Times bestselling I Survived series takes on vivid new life in this explosive graphic novel edition. Includes nonfiction back matter with historical photos and facts about World War II and the Holocaust. Perfect for readers who prefer the graphic novel format, or for existing fans of the I Survived chapter book series, I Survived graphic novels combine historical facts with high-action storytelling that's sure to keep any reader turning the pages.
COVID Chronicles by Sarah FirthIn 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic brought the world to itsknees. When we weren't sheltering in place, we were advised to wear masks, washour hands, and practice social distancing. We watched in horror as medicalpersonnel worked around the clock to care for the sick and dying. Businesseswere shuttered, travel stopped, workers were furloughed, and markets dropped.And people continued to die. Amid all thisuncertainty, writers and artists from around the world continued to createcomics, commenting directly on how individuals, societies, governments, andmarkets reacted to the worldwide crisis. COVID Chronicles: A Comics Anthologycollects more than sixty such short comics from a diverse set of creators,including indie powerhouses, mainstream artists, Ignatz and Eisner Awardwinners, and media cartoonists. In narrative styles ranging from realistic tofantastic, they tell stories about adjusting to working from home, homeschoolingtheir kids, missing birthdays and weddings, and being afraid just to leave thehouse. They probe the failures of government leaders and the social safety net.They dig into the racial bias and systemic inequities that this pandemic helpedbring to light. We see what it's like to get the virus and live to tell aboutit, or to stand by helplessly as a loved onepasses. At times heartbreaking and at othershopeful and humorous, these comics express the anger, anxiety, fear, andbewilderment we feel in the era of COVID-19. Above all, they highlight the powerof art and community to help us make sense of a world in crisis, reminding usthat we are truly all in this together. The comicsin this collection have been generously donated by their creators. A portion ofthe the proceeds from the sale of this volume are being donated by the publisherto the Book Industry Charitable Foundation (Binc) in support of comics shops,bookstores, and their employees who have been adversely affected by thepandemic.
Publication Date: 2021-07-13
When Stars Are Scattered by Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator); Omar Mohamed; Iman Geddy (Illustrator)A National Book Award Finalist, this remarkable graphic novel is about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a former Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl. Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives in Dadaab, a refugee camp in Kenya. Life is hard there: never enough food, achingly dull, and without access to the medical care Omar knows his nonverbal brother needs. So when Omar has the opportunity to go to school, he knows it might be a chance to change their future . . . but it would also mean leaving his brother, the only family member he has left, every day. Heartbreak, hope, and gentle humor exist together in this graphic novel about a childhood spent waiting, and a young man who is able to create a sense of family and home in the most difficult of settings. It's an intimate, important, unforgettable look at the day-to-day life of a refugee, as told to New York Times Bestselling author/artist Victoria Jamieson by Omar Mohamed, the Somali man who lived the story.
Publication Date: 2020-04-14
Motörhead: the Rise of the Loudest Band in the World by David Calcano; Mark IrwinDive into the world of Motorhead's wild 40-year career with this officially authorised, fully illustrated graphic novel crafted by award-winning animation studio Fantoons. Spanning 144 pages packed with stunning illustrations, Motorhead: The Rise of the Loudest Band in the World tells the legendary story of Motorhead's frontman Lemmy Kilmister and the band's meteoric rise to becoming one of the most influential rock bands of all time.
Publication Date: 2021-09-07
Darryl's Dream by Darryl 'DMC' McDaniels; Tristan Tait (Illustrator); Shawnee Warfield; Johnny Warfield; Adam PadillaFrom hip-hop pioneer Darryl "DMC" McDaniels comes Darryl's Dream, a new picture book about creativity, confidence, and finding your voice. Meet Darryl, a quiet third grader with big hopes and dreams. He loves writing and wants to share his talents, but he's shy--and the kids who make fun of his glasses only make things worse. Will the school talent show be his chance to shine? Darryl's Dream, by iconic performer Darryl "DMC" McDaniels, is a story about finding confidence, facing bullies, and celebrating yourself. This full-color picture book is certain to entertain children and parents with its charming art and important message.
Publication Date: 2022-01-04
I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912 by Georgia Ball (Adapted by); Lauren Tarshis; Lauren Haus Studio (Illustrator)A thrilling graphic novel adaptation of Lauren Tarshis's bestselling I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912, with text adapted by Georgia Ball and art by Haus Studio George Calder must be the luckiest kid alive - he and his little sister, Phoebe, are sailing with their aunt on the Titanic, the greatest ship ever built! George can't resist exploring every inch of the incredible boat, even if it gets him into trouble. But one night while George is off exploring, a terrible boom shakes the entire boat. Soon the impossible is happening: The Titanic is sinking. George has always gotten out of trouble before. Can he survive this nightmare? With art by Haus Studio and text adapted by Georgia Ball, Lauren Tarshis's New York Times bestselling I Survived series takes on vivid new life in this bold graphic novel edition. Includes nonfiction back matter with facts and historical photos of the real-life Titanic disaster. Perfect for readers who prefer the graphic novel format, or for existing fans of the I Survived chapter book series, I Survived graphic novels combine historical facts with high-action storytelling that's sure to keep any reader turning the pages.
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
I Survived the Attacks of September 11th, 2001 by Lauren Tarshis; Corey Egbert (Illustrator)A gripping graphic novel adaptation of Lauren Tarshis's bestselling I Survived the Attacks of September 11, 2001, in time for the 20th anniversary of 9/11. The only thing Lucas loves more than football is his Uncle Benny, his dad's best friend at the firehouse where they both work. Benny taught Lucas everything about football. So when Lucas's parents decide the sport is too dangerous and he needs to quit, Lucas has to talk to his biggest fan. The next morning, Lucas takes the train to the city instead of the bus to school. It's a bright, beautiful day in New York as he heads to the firehouse. But just as he arrives, everything changes -- and nothing will ever be the same again. Lauren Tarshis's New York Times bestselling I Survived series comes to vivid life in bold graphic novels. Perfect for readers who prefer the graphic novel format, or for existing fans of the I Survived chapter book series, these graphic novels combine historical facts with high-action storytelling that's sure to keep any reader turning the pages. Includes a nonfiction section at the back with facts and photos about the real-life event.
Publication Date: 2021-08-03
I Survived The Shark Attacks of 1916 by Lauren Tarshis; Lauren Haus Studio (Illustrator)A thrilling graphic novel adaptation of Lauren Tarshis's bestselling I Survived the Shark Attacks of 1916, with text adapted by Georgia Ball and art by Haus Studio!Chet Roscow is finally feeling at home in his uncle's little New Jersey town. He has three new friends, and they love cooling off in the creek on hot summer days. But then comes shocking news: A massive shark has been attacking swimmers in the ocean along the Jersey Shore, not far from where Chet is staying. Fear is in the air. So when Chet spots a gray fin in the creek, he's sure it's his imagination running wild. It's impossible he's about to come face-to-face with a killer shark... right? Based on the real life events of the Jersey Shore shark attacks of 1916, this graphic novel brings Lauren Tarshis's New York Times bestselling I Survived series to vivid life. Perfect for readers who prefer the graphic novel format, or for existing fans of the I Survived chapter book series, these graphic novels combine historical facts with high-action storytelling that's sure to keep any reader turning the pages. Includes a nonfiction section at the back with historical photos and facts about the real-life shark attacks.
Publication Date: 2020-06-02
Comic Book Nation by Bradford W. WrightAs American as jazz or rock and roll, comic books have been central in the nation's popular culture since Superman's 1938 debut in Action Comics #1. Selling in the millions each year for the past six decades, comic books have figured prominently in the childhoods of most Americans alive today. In Comic Book Nation, Bradford W. Wright offers an engaging, illuminating, and often provocative history of the comic book industry within the context of twentieth-century American society. From Batman's Depression-era battles against corrupt local politicians and Captain America's one-man war against Nazi Germany to Iron Man's Cold War exploits in Vietnam and Spider-Man's confrontations with student protestors and drug use in the early 1970s, comic books have continually reflected the national mood, as Wright's imaginative reading of thousands of titles from the 1930s to the 1980s makes clear. In every genre--superhero, war, romance, crime, and horror comic books--Wright finds that writers and illustrators used the medium to address a variety of serious issues, including racism, economic injustice, fascism, the threat of nuclear war, drug abuse, and teenage alienation. At the same time, xenophobic wartime series proved that comic books could be as reactionary as any medium. Wright's lively study also focuses on the role comic books played in transforming children and adolescents into consumers; the industry's ingenious efforts to market their products to legions of young but savvy fans; the efforts of parents, politicians, religious organizations, civic groups, and child psychologists like Dr. Fredric Wertham (whose 1954 book Seduction of the Innocent, a salacious exposé of the medium's violence and sexual content, led to U.S. Senate hearings) to link juvenile delinquency to comic books and impose censorship on the industry; and the changing economics of comic book publishing over the course of the century. For the paperback edition, Wright has written a new postscript that details industry developments in the late 1990s and the response of comic artists to the tragedy of 9/11. Comic Book Nation is at once a serious study of popular culture and an entertaining look at an enduring American art form.
Publication Date: 2003-10-17
The Magic Fish by Trung Le NguyenTi?n loves his family and his friends...but Ti?n has a secret he's been keeping from them, and it might change everything. An amazing YA graphic novel that deals with the complexity of family and how stories can bring us together. Real life isn't a fairytale. But Ti?n still enjoys reading his favorite stories with his parents from the books he borrows from the local library. It's hard enough trying to communicate with your parents as a kid, but for Ti?n, he doesn't even have the right words because his parents are struggling with their English. Is there a Vietnamese word for what he's going through? Is there a way to tell them he's gay? A beautifully illustrated story by Trung Le Nguyen that follows a young boy as he tries to navigate life through fairytales, an instant classic that shows us how we are all connected. The Magic Fish tackles tough subjects in a way that accessible with readers of all ages, and teaches us that no matter what-we can all have our own happy endings.
Publication Date: 2020-10-13
Himawari House by Harmony BeckerA young adult graphic novel about three foreign exchange students and the pleasures, and difficulties, of adjusting to living in Japan.Living in a new country is no walk in the park--Nao, Hyejung, and Tina can all attest to that. The three of them became fast friends through living together in the Himawari House in Tokyo and attending the same Japanese cram school. Nao came to Japan to reconnect with her Japanese heritage, while Hyejung and Tina came to find freedom and their own paths. Though each of them has her own motivations and challenges, they all deal with language barriers, being a fish out of water, self discovery, love, and family.
Publication Date: 2021-11-09
Lore Olympus: Volume One by Rachel Smythe#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Scandalous gossip, wild parties, and forbidden love--witness what the gods do after dark in this stylish and contemporary reimagining of one of the best-known stories in Greek mythology, featuring a brand-new, exclusive short story from creator Rachel Smythe. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR * "What Scott Pilgrim did for Canadian slackers, Lore Olympus does for the Greek pantheon, while being so beautiful that you know Aphrodite is just staring daggers in its direction."--Kieron Gillen, co-creator of The Wicked + The Divine Persephone, young goddess of spring, is new to Olympus. Her mother, Demeter, has raised her in the mortal realm, but after Persephone promises to train as a sacred virgin, she's allowed to live in the fast-moving, glamorous world of the gods. When her roommate, Artemis, takes her to a party, her entire life changes: she ends up meeting Hades and feels an immediate spark with the charming yet misunderstood ruler of the Underworld. Now Persephone must navigate the confusing politics and relationships that rule Olympus, while also figuring out her own place--and her own power. This edition of Smythe's original Eisner-nominated webcomic Lore Olympus brings Greek mythology into the modern age in a sharply perceptive and romantic graphic novel. This volume collects episodes 1-25 of the #1 WEBTOON comic Lore Olympus.
Publication Date: 2021-11-02
Megg and Mogg in Amsterdam (and Other Stories) by Simon HanselmannMegg the witch, Mogg the cat, their friend Owl, and Werewolf Jones struggle unsuccessfully with their depression, drug use, sexuality, poverty, lack of ambition, and their complex feelings about each other. Itâe(tm)s a laff riot! Megg and Mogg decide to take a trip to Amsterdam for some quality couple time, although the trip gets off to a rocky start when they forget their antidepressants. They need Owl to come and help them save their relationship. But why does he have a suitcase full of glass dildos? And what will they do when they realize that the housesitting Werewolf Jones has turned their apartment into a âeoef#@k zoneâe? Megg & Mogg in Amsterdam collects all of Simon Hanselmannâe(tm)s contributions to Vice.com, the Ignatz Award-nominated short story âeoeSt. Owlâe(tm)s Bay,âe and other surprises that will add additional color and background for fans of Megahex.
Publication Date: 2016-04-18
Gender Queer: a Memoir by Maia Kobabe2020 ALA Alex Award Winner 2020 Stonewall -- Israel Fishman Non-fiction Award Honor Book In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here. Maia's intensely cathartic autobiography charts eir journey of self-identity, which includes the mortification and confusion of adolescent crushes, grappling with how to come out to family and society, bonding with friends over erotic gay fanfiction, and facing the trauma and fundamental violation of pap smears. Started as a way to explain to eir family what it means to be nonbinary and asexual, Gender Queer is more than a personal story: it is a useful and touching guide on gender identity--what it means and how to think about it--for advocates, friends, and humans everywhere. "It's also a great resource for those who identify as nonbinary or asexual as well as for those who know someone who identifies that way and wish to better understand." -- SLJ (starred review)
Publication Date: 2019-05-28
1984: the Graphic Novel by George Orwell; Fido Nesti; George Orwell; Fido NestiOne of the most influential books of the twentieth century gets the graphic treatment in this first-ever adaptation of George Orwell's 1984. War is Peace * Freedom is Slavery * Ignorance is Strength In 1984, London is a grim city in the totalitarian state of Oceania where Big Brother is always watching you and the Thought Police can practically read your mind. Winston Smith is a man in grave danger for the simple reason that his memory still functions. Drawn into a forbidden love affair, Winston finds the courage to join a secret revolutionary organization called the Brotherhood, dedicated to the destruction of the Party. Together with his beloved Julia, he hazards his life in a deadly match against the powers that be. With evocative, immersive art from Fido Nesti, this vision of George Orwell's dystopian masterpiece provides a new perspective for longtime fans but is also an accessible entry point for young readers and adults who have yet to discover the iconic story that is still so relevant today.
Publication Date: 2021-09-14
Warriors: Winds of Change by Erin Hunter; James L. Barry (Illustrator)The warrior cats leap off the page in this full-color graphic novel adventure--a stand-alone story set in the world of Erin Hunter's #1 bestselling Warriors series. Forced out of the forest that had been their home for generations, the four warrior Clans are about to settle into their new homes around the lake. Some cats see their new beginning as a chance for the Clans to live together in peace and friendship, but WindClan's deputy Mudclaw believes the other Clans cannot be trusted. And as he prepares to take the ailing Tallstar's place as leader, he is determined to do whatever it takes to secure the future of his Clan--no matter the cost. Set during the events of Warriors: The New Prophecy, this action-packed, stand-alone adventure is perfect for longtime Erin Hunter fans and new readers alike.
Publication Date: 2021-06-01
The Morning Tribe by Julian Lennon; Bart Davis; Alejandra Green (Illustrator); Fanny Rodriguez (Illustrator)Winner of the 2021 World Literacy Award! The Morning Tribe is a middle grade action-adventure graphic novel that showcases young people protecting our critical environment and teaches that we are all part of the struggle to save the Earth's future and sustain the human race. When twins Dawn and Dusk, young members of the Amazon rain forest's Morning Tribe, discover that their homeland is being threatened by Global Agricorp mercenaries, they gather their friends and rise to the challenge of protecting it. Though they're naturally smart, strong, and quick, the twins also each have special abilities. Dusk is stronger, faster, and more powerful as the sun sets. Dawn is farther-sighted, a better swimmer, and a gifted acrobat as the sun rises. They are at the height of their power together at midnight. But young Tom Toll, estranged son of Agricorp's boss, ventures alone into the forest intent on destroying the people of the Morning Tribe, and finds himself in danger. He is saved by Dusk and Dawn and a deep bond forms between them as Tom gains an understanding not only of the forest, but of shared values and a greater global mission. When the trio of youngsters save Tom's father and the Agricorp crew, who are attempting to burn the rain forest, it changes the relationship between father and son into a positive one forever. The Morning Tribe's theme and content derive from the work of the White Feather Foundation created in 2007 by Julian Lennon--recipient of the UNESCO 2020 Cross Cultural and Peace Crafter Award--that has been active in the rain forest for more than a decade. A portion of the proceeds from book sales will go to support the environmental and humanitarian efforts of The White Feather Foundation.
Publication Date: 2021-11-09
Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm; Savanna GanucheauIn Jennifer L. Holm's New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor winning middle grade historical fiction novel, life isn't like the movies. But then again, 11-year-old Turtle is no Shirley Temple She's smart and tough and has seen enough of the world not to expect a Hollywood ending. After all, it's 1935 and jobs and money and sometimes even dreams are scarce. So when Turtle's mama gets a job housekeeping for a lady who doesn't like kids, Turtle says goodbye without a tear and heads off to Key West, Florida to live with relatives she's never met. Florida's like nothing Turtle's ever seen before though. It's hot and strange, full of rag tag boy cousins, family secrets, scams, and even buried pirate treasure! Before she knows what's happened, Turtle finds herself coming out of the shell she's spent her life building, and as she does, her world opens up in the most unexpected ways. Filled with adventure, humor and heart,Turtle in Paradiseis an instant classic both boys and girls with love. Includes an Author's Note with photographs and further background on the Great Depression, as well as additional resources and websites. Starred Review,Kirkus Reviews- "Sweet, funny and superb." Starred Review,Booklist- "Just the right mixture of knowingness and hope . . . a hilarious blend of family drama seasoned with a dollop of adventure."
Publication Date: 2021-06-29
DUNE: the Graphic Novel, Book 1: Dune by Frank Herbert; Brian Herbert (Adapted by); Kevin J. Anderson (Adapted by); Raúl Allén (Illustrator); Patricia Martín (Illustrator); Bill Sienkiewicz (Contribution by)The definitive graphic novel adaptation of Dune, the groundbreaking science-fiction classic by Frank Herbert Dune, Frank Herbert's epic science-fiction masterpiece set in the far future amidst a sprawling feudal interstellar society, tells the story of Paul Atreides as he and his family accept control of the desert planet Arrakis. A stunning blend of adventure and mysticism, environmentalism, and politics, Dune is a powerful, fantastical tale that takes an unprecedented look into our universe, and is transformed by the graphic novel format. In the first volume of a three-book trilogy encompassing the original novel, Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson's adaptation retains the story's integrity, and Raúl Allén and Patricia Martín's magnificent illustrations, along with cover art by Bill Sienkiewicz, bring the book to life for a new generation of readers.
Publication Date: 2020-11-24
Drama: a Graphic Novel by Raina Telgemeier (Illustrator)From Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile, Sisters, and Guts! Callie loves theater. And while she would totally try out for her middle school's production of Moon over Mississippi, she can't really sing. Instead she's the set designer for the drama department's stage crew, and this year she's determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget. But how can she, when she doesn't know much about carpentry, ticket sales are down, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen. And when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier! Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a funny and charming exploration of friendship, crushes, and all-around drama!
Publication Date: 2021-12-07
The Secret to Superhuman Strength by Alison Bechdel (Illustrator)The Best Graphic Book of 2021 by Publishers Weekly | A New York Times Best Graphic Novel of 2021 | A New York Times Notable Book | An Autostraddle Best Queer Book of the Year | A Boston Globe Best Book of the Year | A St. Louis Post Dispatch Best Book of the Year | NPR, 12 Books NPR Staffers Loved | Shelf Awareness Best Books of 2021 From the author of Fun Home, a profoundly affecting graphic memoir of Bechdel's lifelong love affair with exercise, set against a hilarious chronicle of fitness fads in our times Comics and cultural superstar Alison Bechdel delivers a deeply layered story of her fascination, from childhood to adulthood, with every fitness craze to come down the pike: from Jack LaLanne in the 60s ("Outlandish jumpsuit! Cantaloupe-sized guns!") to the existential oddness of present-day spin class. Readers will see their athletic or semi-active pasts flash before their eyes through an ever-evolving panoply of running shoes, bicycles, skis, and sundry other gear. But the more Bechdel tries to improve herself, the more her self appears to be the thing in her way. She turns for enlightenment to Eastern philosophers and literary figures, including Beat writer Jack Kerouac, whose search for self-transcendence in the great outdoors appears in moving conversation with the author's own. This gifted artist and not-getting-any-younger exerciser comes to a soulful conclusion. The secret to superhuman strength lies not in six-pack abs, but in something much less clearly defined: facing her own non-transcendent but all-important interdependence with others. A heartrendingly comic chronicle for our times.
Publication Date: 2021-05-04
The Cartoon Guide to Chemistry by Larry Gonick; Craig CriddleIf you have ever suspected that "heavy water" is the title of a bootleg Pink Floyd album, believed that surface tension is an anxiety disorder, or imagined that a noble gas is the result of a heavy meal at Buckingham Palace, then you need The Cartoon Guide to Chemistry to set you on the road to chemical literacy. You don't need to be a scientist to grasp these and many other complex ideas, because The Cartoon Guide to Chemistry explains them all: the history and basics of chemistry, atomic theory, combustion, solubility, reaction stoichiometry, the mole, entropy, and much more--all explained in simple, clear, and yes, funny illustrations. Chemistry will never be the same!
Publication Date: 2005-05-03
The Manga Guide to Molecular Biology by Masaharu Takemura; Sakura; Becom Co. Ltd.Rin and Ami have been skipping molecular biology class all semester, and Professor Moro has had enough-he's sentencing them to summer school on his private island. But they're in store for a special lesson. Using Dr. Moro's virtual reality machine to travel inside the human body, they'll get a close-up look at the fascinating world of molecular biology. Join them in The Manga Guide to Molecular Biology, and learn all about DNA, RNA, proteins, amino acids, and more. Along the way, you'll see chemical reactions first-hand and meet entertaining characters like Enzyme Man and Drinkzilla, who show how the liver metabolizes alcohol. Together with Ami and Rin, you'll learn all about- -The organelles and proteins inside cells, and how they support cellular functions -The processes of transcription and translation, and your genes' role in synthesizing proteins -The pieces that make up our genetic code, like nucleotides, codons, introns, and exons -The processes of DNA replication, mitosis and cytokinesis -Genetic technology like transduction and cloning, and the role of molecular biology in medicine Whether you need a molecular biology refresher or you're just fascinated by the science of life, The Manga Guide to Molecular Biology will give you a uniquely fun and informative introduction.