LibGuides: International Games Month at Miami Dade College: Digital Resources

EBooks & Audiobooks

Gamers Unite for International Games Month

International Games Week is celebrated every year in November. Enjoy a selection of books on gaming and game themes.

OverDrive Digital Media Library This link opens in a new window
(Overdrive) - OverDrive provides access to popular and bestselling eBooks and eAudiobooks. OverDrive’s “Libby” app syncs your loans across all your devices

Funded by: College

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.

Funded by: College and Statewide

Streaming Video

Kanopy Viewing List: Films on Games and Gaming

History and Culture

Ancient Olympia: Gods, Games, and Temples - Episode 8 of Great Tours: Greece and Turkey

Harvard Beats Yale 29-29

The Mesoamerican Ball Game: Episode 21 of Maya to Aztec: Ancient Mesoamerica Revealed

Not Just a Game: Power, Politics & American Sports

Play Ball! The Rise of Baseball as America’s Pastime

Mathematics, Statistics, and Science in Games

Can Brain Games Make You Smarter?: Episode 13 of Brain Myths Exploded: Lessons from Neuroscience

Graph Search and a Word Game: Episode 22 of How to Program

The Joy of Mathematical Games: Episode 23 of The Joy of Mathematics

The Mathematics of Games and Puzzles: From Cards to Sudoku (series)

Probability Paradoxes: Episode 3 of Mind-Bending Math: Riddles and Paradoxes

Strangeness in Statistics: Episode 4 of Mind-Bending Math: Riddles and Paradoxes

Game Theory and Designing

Game Theory: Reveal or Conceal?

Gamemaster

Games with Strange Loops: Episode 13 of Mind-Bending Math: Riddles and Paradoxes

How to Play Chess: Lessons from an International Master

Losing to Win, Strategizing to Survive: Episode 14 of Mind-Bending Math: Riddles and Paradoxes

Video Games

Game Over: Gender, Race & Violence in Video Games

A Gamer's Life: The Lives of Professional Video Game Players

GTFO: Get the F**k Out: Women in Gaming

Joystick Warriors: Video Games, Violence & the Culture of Militarism

Minecraft: Through the Nether Portal - An Examination of the Popular Video Game

Returning Fire: Interventions in Video Game Culture

Values and Pitfalls of Video Games: Episode 15 of Scientific Secrets for Raising Kids Who Thrive

Films Involving Gaming Storylines

Chess Fever

Guys and Dolls

Hacker's Game

The Pride of the Yankees

The Seventh Seal

Suzanne Collins and Dystopian Games

Team Marco

Tommy's Honour

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos. Kanopy’s award-winning collection includes PBS, Criterion Collection, New Day, California Newsreel, First Run Features, and hundreds of other leading producers -- on every topic imaginable.

Funded by: College

Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.®, founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor, and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.

Funded by: College

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)