LibGuides: Kendall Campus Dual Enrollment: CGS1060

Course Description of CGS1060C

This course provides the technology skills required for personal, academic and professional success. Students will learn essential computing concepts and skills including mobile productivity, cloud services, security, ethics, general programming concepts, email, web, operating systems, and the use of an office suite. The course satisfies the College’s computer competency requirement.

Eligibility Requirements for MDC Dual Enrollment
This link provides information about academic requirements that must be met to participate in the dual enrollment program.

Anatomy of a Computer

Image designed by BBC News, http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/7908666.stm

Anatomy of a computer diagram showing labeled computer parts

Image designed by VectorMine, downloaded with permission from Adobe Stock

Inputs and Outputs

Inputs and Outputs

Image source: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/guides/zt6pn39/revision/1

Inputs and Outputs 2

Cybersecurity E-Books

Computer Security Handbook, Set by Seymour Bosworth (Editor); M. E. Kabay (Editor); Eric Whyne (Editor)
ISBN: 1118127064
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
Computer security touches every part of our daily lives from our computers and connected devices to the wireless signals around us. Breaches have real and immediate financial, privacy, and safety consequences. Written for professionals and college students, this book provides comprehensive best guidance about how to minimize hacking, fraud, human error, the effects of natural disasters, and more.
Cybersecurity: the Beginner's Guide by Erdal Ozkaya
ISBN: 1789806933
Publication Date: 2019-06-10
This book put together all the possible information with regards to cybersecurity, why you should choose it, the need for cyber security and how can you be part of it and fill the cybersecurity talent gap bit by bit. Starting with the essential understanding of security and its needs, we will move to security domain changes and how artificial intelligence and machine learning are helping to secure systems.

Virtual and Augmented Reality E-Book

Virtual Reality and Virtual Environments in 10 Lectures by Stanislav Stanković
ISBN: 1627058257
Publication Date: 2015-10-19
The book is based on the material originally developed for the course on Virtual Reality, which the author was teaching at Tampere University of Technology, as well as course on Virtual Environments that the author had prepared for the University for Advancing Studies at Tempe, Arizona. This original purpose has influenced the structure of this book as well as the depth to which we explore the presented concepts. Therefore, our intention in this book is to give an introduction into the important issues regarding a series of related concepts of Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality, and Virtual Environments. We aim to provide a set of keywords to the reader in order give him a good starting point from which he could go on and explore any of these issues in detail.

ENTEC

School of Engineering and Technology at MDC

Types of Computers

Web Resources

Types of E-Commerce Services
Learn about the six most common e-commerce types.
What is Cloud Computing?
Learn about cloud computing and its benefits.
Cybersecurity Best Practices
Learn about cybersecurity from the government's Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA).
What Is Big Data?
Learn about how big data works and read about some examples.

Databases for Computer Technology Research

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Computer Science(Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.

Funded by: State Library of Florida

AI Tools

AI Tips

Be as specific as possible when writing your prompt.
Ask clarifying questions if the initial query does not generate desirable results.
Use scholarly sources when conducting research for a project.
Remember, AI tools can provide incorrect information!

Internet of Things

Cloud Computing E-Books

The Basics of Cloud Computing by Derrick Rountree; Ileana Castrillo
ISBN: 9780124059320
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
The Basics of Cloud Computing provides readers with an overview of the cloud and how to implement cloud computing in their organizations. Cloud computing continues to grow in popularity, and while many people hear the term and use it in conversation, many are confused by it or unaware of what it really means. This book helps readers understand what the cloud is and how to work with it, even if it isn't a part of their day-to-day responsibility.
Novel Practices and Trends in Grid and Cloud Computing by Pethuru Raj (Editor); S. Koteeswaran (Editor)
ISBN: 9781522590255
Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Novel Practices and Trends in Grid and Cloud Computing is a collection of innovative research on the key concerns of cloud computing and how they are being addressed, While highlighting topics including cyber security, smart technology, and artificial intelligence, this book is ideally designed for students, researchers, and business managers on the lookout for innovative IT solutions for all the business automation software and improvisations of computational technologies.