Skip to Main Content

Research Thursday Skillshops

Research Thursday Skillshops -Spring 2024

January 2024

Thursday, January 18, 2024

Getting Started with Research

Hosted by Kendall

Join us for an introduction to research. Learn to interpret assignment requirements, identify a research topic, gather background information, develop a research question, determine the type of information you need, and develop a research strategy.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/rec/share/DYuL-p2hc-93SP9gdcwMk1hf2DotEM4n-OoVxTyY5hGYCT4Fb8Zf6uFv33DuFxcc.9BlGIUVxnnvH9KZg

 

Thursday, January 25, 2024

Exploring the World of Digital Books: OverDrive & EBSCO eBooks

Hosted by Hialeah

Join us on a journey through these two platforms, OverDrive and EBSCO eBooks, unlocking a treasure trove of literary resources and audiobooks waiting to be discovered. Your librarian will walk you through each platform, providing valuable insights on navigation, features, and tips to optimize your reading and listening experiences. Whether you're a seasoned digital reader or just starting your journey, this workshop will elevate your reading experience with the inclusion of the Libby app and its various enhancements.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/85687126754

 

February 2024

February 2024

 

February 7, 2024

Paraphrasing (Adding research to writing)

Hosted by Carrie P. Meek Entrepreneurial Education Center & North 

The Paraphrasing (adding research to writing) workshop looks at how to put source material into one's own words to include in research papers and essays. The workshop will also explore the difference between quotations, paraphrases, and summaries. Students will have a chance to participate by answering questions and creating their own paraphrases.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/87536578971
6:00 PM   | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/84919385247

 

Thursday, February 01, 2024

Citation Management Systems

Hosted by West

Learn how a citation management system can help you store, organize, and cite research articles. We will explore Zotero and Mendeley.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/81505779794?pwd=Z0VodWhDR0t3NU1IekR3dlgyME0vUT09

 

Thursday, February 08, 2024

Health Sciences & Nursing Databases

Hosted by Medical

Introduction to the health sciences and nursing databases available through MDC libraries.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/85187478054

 

Thursday, February 15, 2024

Hidden Treasures of the Library Databases

Hosted by Kendall

Join us on an off-the-beaten-path tour of some of the lesser-known, often overlooked, super cool features of the MDC Library Databases. We’ll explore medieval cave art, sit in on master classes with world-renowned musicians, catch a movie at the Cannes Film Festival, travel back in time to famous historical events, and discover many more treasures for education and enrichment. Your MDC login gives you free access to these premium resources.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/81733070235?pwd=b2Rmb2JHQkFPVTR6b2FlY0FSWmtpUT09

 

Thursday, February 22, 2024

Using Information Ethically

Hosted by Wolfson

About Plagiarism and about Copyright.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/2466602017?pwd=NjloMUJiS240bkZtaVMwbU1oUEcvdz09

 

Thursday, February 29, 2024

Reference Mining and Citation Searching

Hosted by Homestead

Did you find the perfect article? Learn to find others just like it by looking through the works cited, searching for articles by the same author, and browsing similar articles published by the same journal. We'll explore these and other citation searching tips in detail.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/84616173134

 

March 2024

Thursday, March 14, 2024

Support Your Argumentative Essay Using Controversies Databases

Hosted by Homestead

Did your professor assign an argumentative essay? Learn about the major controversies databases which offer a wealth of research information on current topics including pro/con discussions of hot issues.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/83649226874

 

Thursday, March 21, 2024

Exploring Video and Film Databases

Hosted by Padron

Explore cinematic treasures and performing arts at our library workshop as we guide you through the intricacies of our extensive video and film databases. Immerse yourself in a world of captivating documentaries, blockbuster hits, timeless cinematic classics, and even live recordings of plays and concerts.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/6384128408

 

April 2024

Thursday, April 04, 2024

Humanities Databases

Hosted by West Campus

Explore the various resources available for researching the Humanities, including Humanities Full Text, JSTOR and ArtStor.

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/83236688021?pwd=Rld0bnk5MFM3T24xTUpXNHlvTUVIZz09

 

Thursday, April 11, 2024

Researching with AI

Hosted by North

Learn how to use AI tools to make your research easier and more powerful. Get hands-on experience and discover new ways to make your work awesome!

12:00 PM | Join Here: https://mdc-edu.zoom.us/j/83292336238