Skip to Main Content

Anthropology Library Resources: Overview of Collection

🧭 Welcome to the Anthropology Resource Guide

Each tab within this guide provides Anthropology faculty and the MDC community with curated access to resources and services that support teaching, learning, and research in the discipline. From scholarly databases and journals to eBooks, streaming media, and instructional tools, this guide highlights the materials currently available through the college’s collection.

As libraries continue to evolve, this guide offers an overview of each resource type to help Anthropology faculty make informed decisions about the materials they integrate into their courses and curriculum planning.

 

🎓 Faculty Resources for Teaching & Research

Faculty Resources at Miami Dade College offers a rich suite of librarian-led services and tools designed to support faculty in teaching, research, and student engagement. Key offerings include:

  • Collection Development: Collaborate with your campus or subject librarian to curate and maintain relevant print and online resources—including books, e‑books, databases, and LibGuides—that support your course and the broader curriculum.
  • Library Instruction: Arrange customized information-literacy sessions—either in-library or embedded in your class—to help students master research strategies, source evaluation, and effective use of both print and digital materials.
  • Suggest Materials: If you identify gaps in the collection, you can recommend materials for purchase directly to librarians. Note that textbooks are generally excluded from acquisitions.
  • Library Reserve: Facilitate student access to course-specific materials by placing items on Reserve. Simply submit the Reserve Request Form and deliver materials; processing typically takes about one week.
  • Tutoring Referrals: Connect students to on-campus and department-level tutoring services. Faculty can also inquire about embedding tutors directly within their courses. (More on this is available via the Tutoring LibGuide.)
  • Open Educational Resources (OER): Find and share openly licensed teaching and research materials, which you can freely adapt for courses.
  • Faculty Excellence Portal: A central hub developed by the SAI Teaching & Learning Committee. It offers best practices, strategies, and connections to a community of colleagues via social media.

Visit the full Faculty Resources page: mdc.edu/learning-resources/faculty-resources
👩‍🏫 Discipline Faculty Contact
Patti Harris  
Library liaisons work closely with the Discipline to make sure that the faculty are given the opportunity to select materials and services that best fit the needs of the curriculum.  Each liaison works in a college-wide capacity. Whether it's attending the discipline meetings, working with a small group of professors to review a database, or attending a national conference, library liaisons have the expertise needed in the field to support the changing needs of the discipline and support student success. 

Subject Guide- Anthropology Library Liaison: