LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER) for Nursing & Health Sciences: Sample Resources by Program

Clinical Laboratory Science

Courseware

MLT 131: Introduction to Hematology
This is the introductory course to the subject of hematology and phlebotomy.
MLT 241: Intro to Clinical Chemistry
Covers basic laboratory math, basic instrumentation, safety and quality control are discussed along with basic theory and result evaluation of electrolytes, kidney function, and liver function test.

Multimedia

Lab Values and Concentrations
Khan Academy video lessons.

Textbooks

Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience
This text provides a series of laboratory exercises compatible with a one-semester undergraduate microbiology or bacteriology course with a three- or four-hour lab period that meets once or twice a week.

Dental Hygiene

Courseware

Dental Education
PowerPoints, quizzes, and other activities from MedEdPortal.
Educational Resources from Dentalcare.com
Case studies, teaching tools, syllabi, and full courses.
Introduction to Dental Terminology
Interactive lesson on dental terminology.

Journals

Journal of Oral Health and Dental Care
An international peer reviewed open-access journal dedicated to globalize scientific innovations, clinical and experimental research in the fields of oral and dental health.

Textbooks

Histology and Embryology for Dental Hygiene by Laird Sheldahl (Illustrator); Raye Ann Yapp
ISBN: 9780578763507

Publication Date: 2020-09-30

This eBook makes use of animated images to focus on concepts in histology and embryology, as well as hyperlinks to promote non-linear reading and learning. It is aimed at college students in a dental hygienist program.
Restorative Mastery for the Dental Hygienist by Renee Alexandre and Richard Aronstein
Publication Date: September 17, 2021

Dental hygienists and auxiliaries with restorative skills will become increasingly in demand as their scope of practice expands. Restorative Mastery for the Dental Hygienist presents practical demonstrations and the core knowledge needed for successfully placing and finishing class II restorations in first molars using video demonstrations, checklists, and exercises.

Emergency Medical Services

Courseware

Emergency Medical Responder
Provides the student with the knowledge and skills to effectively provide emergency care and transportation to a patient experiencing a medical emergency. This course focuses on the integration of the physical exam, medical history, and pathophysiology when assessing and treating the medical patient
Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Basic Theory
• Remember, understand and apply core concepts of human anatomy, physiology and pathophysiology at the EMT-Basic level in the functional areas of Airway, Cardiology, Medical, Trauma, and Special Populations (Geriatrics, OB & Pediatrics).
• Critically evaluate emergency and routine calls and formulate treatment plans within the appropriate scope of practice.
• Identify and incorporate safe and effective operational theories into all facets of EMS job functions.
Psychological Trauma in EMS Patients (PTEP) Course
PTEP educates EMS practitioners about the biological underpinnings of psychological trauma, the short and long-term impact on the brain and body, and warning signs that a patient is experiencing extreme psychological distress. EMS practitioners are also taught strategies and techniques to alleviate patients’ distress and help patients cope with what they’re experiencing to ward off lingering effects.

Multimedia

Paramedic Skills Videos
Training videos.

Health Information Technology

Courseware

CMA 102 - Medical Terminology & Body Systems II
Prepares you to list major organs in each body system, describe their function, and identify and analyze pathologies related to each system.
CMA 111 - Medical Documentation and Screening
This course prepares the student to properly document and organize information for the medical record.
CRS 111 - Basic Coding I
This course prepares the medical coding student for detailed procedural coding in integumentary, musculoskeletal, respiratory, and cardiovascular systems. Additionally, this course prepares the student to use ICD-10 diagnostic codes as principal, primary, secondary, and tertiary medical necessity justification. This course also prepares students to competently select accurate HCPCS codes for supplies, medications, transportation, etc.
CRS 210 - Advanced Coding and Exam Prep
This course reviews the coding and basic functions of body systems, as well as educating you on pathology, anesthesia, radiology, evaluation, and medicine.
ICD-10-CM for Physician and Other Outpatient Settings
The course was developed as continuing education for the use of the International Classification of Disease 10th revision - Clinical Modifications (ICD-10-CM) in the outpatient setting using outpatient ICD Official Guidelines for Coding.

Journals

Electronic Health Records
An Open Access Article Collection.

Multimedia

Health Records and Privacy
Video Course on health records and privacy.

Textbooks

Medical Terminology for Healthcare Professionals by Andrea Nelson and Katherine Green
Focuses on breaking down, pronouncing, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of anatomy and physiology.

Histotechnology

Multimedia

Digital Histology
Interactive textbook, quizzes, and digital atlas.

Massage Therapy

Textbooks

Touch in the Helping Professions: Research, Practice and Ethics
Investigates the use of proper and caring touch in the context of psychotherapy.
Evidence-Based Massage Therapy
This clinical practice handbook will prove essential to massage therapists, physical therapists, chiropractors, medical doctors, psychologists and other health professionals who care for people with musculoskeletal pain.

Medical Assisting

Courseware

CMA 110 - Medical Office Communications
Publication Date: 2015

This course prepares the student to use effective communication in the medical setting.

Nuclear Medicine

Journals

Journal of Nuclear Medicine & Radiology
An international peer-reviewed open access journal, which is devoted to publish a wide range of research findings and discussions reflecting the diversity of fields in nuclear medicine, radiology and related sciences.

Textbooks

Perspectives on Nuclear Medicine for Molecular Diagnosis and Integrated Therapy

Advanced Nursing Through the Lifespan I - ASN 210
This course focuses on contemporary nursing of the adult client with complex health alterations.
Advanced Pediatric Nursing - ASN 235
This course focuses on contemporary nursing of the family from neonate through adolescence.
Advanced Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing - ASN 215
This course focuses on contemporary nursing of the client through the lifespan with psychiatric/mental health alterations.
Aging Well
This open access book outlines the challenges of supporting the health and wellbeing of older adults around the world and offers examples of solutions designed by stakeholders, healthcare providers, and public, private and nonprofit organizations in the United States.
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care
Covers skills, such as infection control, wound care, safe patient handling, medication administration, and more.

Clone Respiratory Branching Scenario
Nursing Care of a Pediatric Client with Asthma.

Community Health and Management - ASN 240
This course focuses on contemporary nursing in the community setting of the adult client with health care alterations.
Foundations for Assisting in Home Care
This text provides the background necessary to begin working toward a career in the home care field as either a Home Health Aide or Personal Care Aide, which are two of the fastest growing occupations.
Global Health Collaboration by Rhonda BeLue (Editor); Margaret S. Winchester (Editor); Caprice A. Knapp (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319776842

Publication Date: 2018-05-24

This stimulating open access volume details the innovative work of the Pan Institution Network for Global Health in creating collaborative research-based answers to large-scale health issues.
The Impact of Language and Culture on Healthcare Delivery
Eight videos that depict clinical interactions between health care providers and Spanish-speaking patients.

Introduction to Nursing
Covers an overview of nursing history, professional roles, professional education, legal and ethical considerations, evidence based practice, caring, the culture of nursing, technology and informatics, and nursing theories.

Nursing Care at the End of Life
The goal of this text is to foster the necessary skills for nurses to provide compassionate care to individuals who are nearing the end of life and families who are experiencing the loss of a loved one.

Open RN
Collection of OER nursing textbooks and virtual reality scenarios. Funded by a grant from the U.S. Department of Education.
Open RN: YouTube Channel
OER Media
Patient with Heart Failure in a LTC Facility
Nursing care of the Adult Heart Failure Patient in a Long Term Care (LTC) setting.

Case Studies
Civility and Incivility in the Nursing Workplace
Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Videos, case studies, games and exercises, patient stories, and other learning opportunities.
Interprofessional Education
Educational resources aimed at supporting team-based or collaborative care.
Learning Nurse e-Learning Center
Web-based learning modules on topics such as nursing documentation, pressure ulcers, etc.
Nursing Fundamentals by Open Resources for Nursing (Open RN)
This book introduces the entry-level nursing student to the scope of nursing practice, various communication techniques, and caring for diverse patients.
Nursing Pharmacology by Chippewa Valley Technical College
This book explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes.
Nursing Skills by Chippewa Valley Technical College
This book includes physical assessments routinely performed by entry-level registered nurses and basic nursing skills performed by licensed practical nurses.
Practical Clinical Skills
Simulation-based lessons cover heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds, carotid bruit, blood pressure measurement and EKG training.
Quality Grand Rounds Series in the Annals of Internal Medicine
Series of 13 case studies on patient safety.
A Slip in Protocol Leads to a Patient Fall and a Tragic Outcome
Case study on falls risk.
TeamSTEPPS 2.0 Video Training Tools
Video vignettes and excerpts may be used as case studies to augment training.
Transitions to Professional Nursing Practice
Topics covered in this text include professional nursing practice, baccalaureate education, healthcare in the 21st century, autonomy and accountability, nursing philosophy, professional development, communication, interprofessional collaboration, critical thinking, introduction to evidence-based practice, and nursing leadership and theory.
Transition to Professional Nursing - ASN 200
This is a transition course between the knowledge base as a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) to the introduction of the knowledge base of a professional Registered Nurse (RN).
Virtual Learning Resources
Virtual modules and learning activities from the Association of American Medical Colleges.
Wound Care
An Open Access Article Collection

Pharmacy Technician

Courseware

Opioids Education
Virtual modules and learning activities from the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Textbooks

Principles of Pharmacology
Topics covered include: mechanisms of drug action, dose-response relations, pharmacokinetics, drug delivery systems, drug metabolism, toxicity of pharmacological agents, drug interaction and substance abuse.

Physical Therapist Assistant

Courseware

Journals

Healthcare for the Aging Population
An Open Access Article Collection.

Textbooks

Physical Therapy Applications for Individuals with Neurologic Dysfunction
Topics include interventions and assessment for patients with Guillain-Barre and spinal cord injury, respiratory assessment and interventions, and proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation.

Physician Assistant

Case Studies

Quality Grand Rounds Series in the Annals of Internal Medicine
Series of 13 case studies on patient safety.

Journals

Healthcare for the Aging Population
An Open Access Article Collection.
JAMA Network Open
JAMA Network Open is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, general medical journal that publishes research on clinical care, innovation in health care, health policy, and global health across all health disciplines and countries for clinicians, investigators, and policy makers.
Wound Care
An Open Access Article Collection

Multimedia

Virtual Learning Resources
Virtual modules and learning activities from the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Textbooks

Cardiovascular Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students
an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of common cardiovascular diseases, disorders and pathologies. This text is designed for a course pre-clinical undergraduate medical curriculum and it is aligned to USMLE(r) (United States Medical Licensing Examination) content guidelines.
Cell Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry for Pre-Clinical Students
an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge across the disciplines of genetics, cell biology and biochemistry. This USMLE-aligned text is designed for a first-year undergraduate medical course that is delivered typically before students start to explore systems physiology and pathophysiology.

Human Anatomy Lab Manual
Covers anatomical language, bones & bone markings, spinal cord & spinal nerves, brain & cranial nerves, special senses, respiratory system, cardiovascular system, digestive system, urinary & reproductive systems, and muscular & integumentary systems.

Neuroscience for Pre-Clinical Students
covers neuroenergetics, neurotransmitters, neuropeptides, and selected amino acid metabolism and degradation. This USMLE-aligned text is designed for a first-year undergraduate medical course and is meant to provide the essential biochemical information from these content areas in a concise format to enable students to engage in an active classroom.
Pulmonary Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students
an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of pulmonary pathophysiology. This text is designed for a pre-clinical undergraduate medical curriculum and is aligned to USMLE(r) (United States Medical Licensing Examination) content guidelines.
Pulmonary Physiology for Pre-Clinical Students
an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of pulmonary physiology. This text is designed for a pre-clinical medical curriculum and is aligned to USMLE(r) (United States Medical Licensing Examination) content guidelines.

Radiography

Case Studies

A Slip in Protocol Leads to a Patient Fall and a Tragic Outcome
Case study on falls risk.

Repositories

RadiologyEducation.com
Lectures, textbooks, atlases, teaching files, and more.

Textbooks

Medical Imaging Systems
This open access book gives a complete and comprehensive introduction to the fields of medical imaging systems, as designed for a broad range of applications. The initial focus is on modalities that are closely related to traditional camera systems such as endoscopy and microscopy. This is followed by more complex image formation processes: magnetic resonance imaging, X-ray projection imaging, computed tomography, X-ray phase-contrast imaging, nuclear imaging, ultrasound, and optical coherence tomography.
X-Ray Contrast Media
This open access book is an overview on CT/X-ray contrast media designed for radiologists and other medical specialists who use contrast media in imaging and interventional procedures as well as related scientists on the use and pharmaceutical aspects of X-ray contrast media.

Respiratory Care

Case Studies

Clone Respiratory Branching Scenario
Nursing Care of a Pediatric Client with Asthma.

Journals

Journal of Pulmonology and Respiratory Therapy
An international, peer reviewed open-access journal emphasizing new aspects in clinical respiratory health interventions for a wide-range approach of the scientific community.

Multimedia

Advanced Respiratory System Physiology
Khan Academy video lessons with quizzes.

Respiratory Flashcards

Respiratory System Diseases
A Khan Academy video lesson.

Textbooks

Pulmonary Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students
an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of pulmonary pathophysiology. This text is designed for a pre-clinical undergraduate medical curriculum and is aligned to USMLE(r) (United States Medical Licensing Examination) content guidelines.
Pulmonary Physiology for Pre-Clinical Students
an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of pulmonary physiology. This text is designed for a pre-clinical medical curriculum and is aligned to USMLE(r) (United States Medical Licensing Examination) content guidelines.

Sonography

Textbooks

Medical Imaging Systems
This open access book gives a complete and comprehensive introduction to the fields of medical imaging systems, as designed for a broad range of applications. The initial focus is on modalities that are closely related to traditional camera systems such as endoscopy and microscopy. This is followed by more complex image formation processes: magnetic resonance imaging, X-ray projection imaging, computed tomography, X-ray phase-contrast imaging, nuclear imaging, ultrasound, and optical coherence tomography.

Veterinary Technology

Courseware

Veterinary Diagnostic Pathology Ancillary Materials
Case studies and videos for Veterinary Diagnostic Pathology.

Journals

Journal of Veterinary Science & Technology
An Open Access Journal.
The Veterinary Journal
Open Access Journal

Multimedia

Client Communication Videos
Series of videos on how to effectively communicate with human clients in the veterinary office.
Free Continuing Education Resources
Listing of virtual education resources.
Learning Objects
Interactive activities on veterinary drugs.