LibGuides: Biology of Cannabis: Research Databases

Information Literacy instruction, conducted in the library or in the classroom, helps your students formulate strategies to locate, evaluate, and apply information (L.O. #4). Librarians teach research skills using both online and print resources. Each instruction is tailored to the research needs of the class.

Library Instruction Request Form

How to Search Academic Search Complete

How to Search Criminal Justice Abstracts

APA Psyche Articles

A Doctor's Case for Medical Marijuana

How Marijuana Reform Could Restore Communities

Could CBD Help Opioid Users Overcome Addiction?

What Commercialization is Doing to Cannabis

Is Marijuana Bad For Your Brain?

ARTICLES FROM MDC LIBRARY DATABASES

Potentials and Challenges of Genomics for Breeding Cannabis Cultivars.
Cannabis (Cannabis sativa L.) is an influential yet controversial agricultural plant with a very long and prominent history of recreational, medicinal, and industrial usages. Given the importance of this species, we deepened some of the main challenges—along with potential solutions—behind the breeding of new cannabis cultivars. One of the main issues that should be fixed before starting new breeding programs is the uncertain taxonomic classification of the two main taxa (e.g., indica and sativa) of the Cannabis genus.
Recent advances in Cannabis sativa genomics research
Cannabis (Cannabis sativa L.) is one of the oldest cultivated plants purported to have unique
medicinal properties. However, scientific research of cannabis has been restricted by the Single
Convention on Narcotic Drugs of 1961, an international treaty that prohibits the production and
supply of narcotic drugs except under license. Legislation governing cannabis cultivation for
research, medicinal and even recreational purposes has been relaxed recently in certain
jurisdictions. As a result, there is now potential to accelerate cultivar development of this multiuse and potentially medically useful plant species by application of modern genomics
technologies.
The German medical cannabis law of 2017
Since the 10th of March 2017, when the new German law on the medical use of cannabis and
cannabinoids came into effect, cannabis flowers and extracts can be prescribed by every
German physician to every patient (§ 31 Absatz 6 Sozialgesetzbuch V). Under certain
circumstances health insurers have to pay for a treatment with cannabis-based medicines, that is
cannabis flowers, cannabis extracts including Sativex, dronabinol/THC and nabilone, which are available in German pharmacies.

Classification of cannabis strains in the Canadian market with discriminant analysis of principal components using genome-wide . Citation metadata
The cannabis community typically uses the terms "Sativa" and "Indica" to characterize drug strains with high tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) levels. Due to large scale, extensive, and unrecorded hybridization in the past 40 years, this vernacular naming convention has become unreliable and inadequate for identifying or selecting strains for clinical research and medicinal production. Additionally, cannabidiol (CBD) dominant strains and balanced strains (or intermediate strains, which have intermediate levels of THC and CBD), are not included in the current classification studies despite the increasing research interest in the therapeutic potential of CBD.
Evaluation of disease management approaches for powdery mildew on Cannabis sativa L. (marijuana) plants
Powdery mildew on cannabis (Cannabis sativa L., marijuana), caused by Golovinomyces cichoracearum, reduces plant growth and overall quality.
Brain Morphology of Cannabis
Cannabis is the illicit drug most commonly used worldwide, and its consumption can both induce psychiatric symptoms in otherwise healthy subjects and unmask a florid psychotic picture in patients with a prior psychotic risk. Previous studies suggest that chronic and long-term cannabis exposure may exert significant negative effects in brain areas enriched with cannabinoid receptors. However, whether brain alterations determined by cannabis dependency will lead to a clinically significant phenotype or to a psychotic outbreak at some point of an abuser’s life remains unclear.
A HISTORY OF UNITED STATES CANNABIS LAW
The article discusses the history of cannabis law in the U.S. Topics covered include early history of cannabis law, first federal and state marijuana laws, and comparison of alcohol prohibition and marijuana prohibition. Also mentioned are the reorganization of the federal drug enforcement bureaucracy, changing social attitudes towards marijuana, and state and federal marijuana laws form the 1990s to 2010s.
Conflict of Interest Provisions in State Laws Governing Medical and Adult Use Cannabis
Although the acceleration of cannabis legalization in the United States has spurred innovations in public administration and policymaking, there have been news accounts of public employees engaged in cannabis licensure or enforcement that constitute conflicts of interest (COIs). After conducting 3 surveys in 50 states (including Washington, DC as a state), we found that COI provisions pertaining to cannabis-related public employment fell into 2 categories: subject matter general and cannabis specific.
MARIJUANA LEGALIZATION AND THE ROLE OF THE MASSACHUSETTS LEGISLATURE
The public is often frustrated when Congress or their state legislature is not responsive to their policy priorities. This was especially true during the effort to legalize marijuana in Massachusetts. The legislature consistently refused to take up the issue despite public support. Legalization advocates ultimately bypassed the legislature by turning to the ballot-initiative process on three occasions: first to decriminalize possession of small amounts of marijuana, then to legalize medical marijuana, and most recently to legalize recreational marijuana.
THE LEGALITIES OF LEGALIZATION: Train and prepare for today's confusing array of cannabis laws.
The article looks at the challenges facing law enforcement officers over the issue of legality in the use and trade of cannabis or marijuana in the U.S. Topics discussed include stand of the National Sheriffs' Association on the issue of marijuana legalization due to its effect on traffic safety, increasing number of states which legalize marijuana for medical and recreational use, and the impact of regulatory framework on law enforcement.
STATE AND FEDERAL POWERS CLASH OVER MEDICAL MARIJUANA IN UNITED STATES V. MCINTOSH.
The article presents United States v. McIntosh court case which deals with state and federal power clash over medical marijuana. In this case U.S. Congress has provided that one of the funds made available to the Department of Justice may be used to prevent States from implementing their own State laws that authorize the use or cultivation of marijuana. Further Ninth Circuit held that federal judges should enforce this law by stopping prosecutions for conduct that is authorized by state laws.
Marijuana - Opposing Viewpoints
Beyond its popularity as a recreational drug, marijuana also has medicinal applications and its increasing use as a holistic therapy has helped bring about the development of novel delivery methods. These include tinctures, balms, transdermal patches, and microdosing preparations. Biopharmaceutical companies working with cannabis are also in the process of creating a new generation of controlled delivery methods including regular and time-release capsules with standardized dosages.

RECOMMENDED DATABASES

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
General Science Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Periodical coverage includes 242 popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts, formerly a SAGE database. This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Texts coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Biology of Cannabis: Research Databases

Library Instruction Request Form