Research Thursday Skillshops

10 Databases for Surviving College

Hosted by Homestead

Presenter: Lizeth Garcia

Students are often unfamiliar with the MDC databases, which give students access to scholarly articles, full text, citation tools, and so much more. Students will be introduced to the ten most frequently used databases. Students will learn how to log in, locate articles, and preview potential uses for assignments.

Double Feature:

Databases are Dumb! 1:00-1:40 pm & Chatbots are Cheeky! 1:45-2:15 pm

Hosted by Kendall

Presenter: Jenny Saxton

A Research Thursday Double Feature: AI chatbots are easy to talk to, but don’t always give us the best information. Library databases hold a treasure trove of knowledge, but struggle to grasp our simplest queries. Learn the secret language of these old and new tools to unlock the door to better research results. Attend either session or stay for both!

ChatGPT Research Hacks

Hosted by North

Presenter: Simone Williams

Discover how to supercharge your research skills with ChatGPT in this informative and interactive workshop! Learn tips and tricks to efficiently gather information, brainstorm ideas, and enhance your academic research using AI. Join us for a hands-on session that will transform the way you approach research!

Argumentative and Persuasive Research Databases

Hosted by West

Presenter: Kim Hughes

Learn the about argumentative and persuasive writing, and understand the importance of credible sources in strengthening your claims. Get acquainted with databases specifically tailored for argumentative and persuasive research, such as Opposing Viewpoints, SIRS, and Issues and Controversies.

Databases vs. AI: And the Winner Is...

Hosted by Wolfson

Presenter: Sylvie Daubar-San Juan

With the rise of AI, do we still need library databases? Yes! In this session, we will compare and contrast search results conducted with AI and databases. Learn how to use AI in conjunction with database searches to optimize your research.