CCJ1020 - Miami Edison Senior High School - MDC Dual Enrollment - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Course Description of CCJ1020: Introduction to Criminal Justice

This course will explore and define the various components of the criminal justice system. It is designed for the entry level criminal justice practitioner and beginning student interested in entering the field.

MDC Dual Enrollment Eligibility: Review the requirements to take a dual enrollment class through MDC.

MDC Log In

Visit the learning resources home page and log in to My Library Account using your MDC ID number to access databases and e-books. Use your MDC username and password to log in.

E-Books

The History of Law Enforcement by Duchess Harris; Rebecca Morris
ISBN: 9781532119200
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
The History of Law Enforcement examines all aspects of law enforcement in the United States. It discusses the history behind US law enforcement, how different law enforcement agencies operate, and how police impact their surrounding communities. Features include a glossary, further readings, websites, source notes, and an index.
Introduction to Criminal Investigation by Michael Birzer (Editor); Cliff Roberson (Editor)
ISBN: 0429252463
Publication Date: 2018-07-31
The manner in which criminal investigators are trained is neither uniform nor consistent, ranging from sophisticated training protocols in some departments to on-the-job experience alongside senior investigators in others. Ideal for students taking a first course in the subject as well as professionals in need of a refresher.
The Encyclopedia of American Crime by Carl Sifakis
ISBN: 9780816040407
Publication Date: 2000-12-31
In this comprehensive and objective reference to America's criminal past, the author offers 2000 A-to-Z entires covering significant crimes, criminals and law enforcement figures and techniques. Entries are chosen based on their symbolic or historical relevance and consist of biographies, definitions and detailed accounts of criminal activities.
Forensic Psychology: a Very Short Introduction by David Canter
ISBN: 0199550204
Publication Date: 2010-08-06
Lie detection, offender profiling, jury selection, insanity in the law, predicting the risk of re-offending , the minds of serial killers, and many other topics that fill news and fiction are all aspects of the rapidly developing area of scientific psychology broadly known as Forensic Psychology. This fascinating Very Short Introduction discusses all the aspects of psychology that are relevant to the legal and criminal process as a whole.

Actus Reus

Graphics

Images by Macrovector on Freepik

MDC School of Justice, Public Safety, and Law Studies

MDC School of Justice, Public Safety, and Law Studies

"The School of Justice, Public Safety and Law Studies at Miami Dade College is a public safety and educational training center. In addition to offering criminal justice academic programs, the School of Justice, Public Safety and Law Studies provides training toward certification and licensing in various areas of public safety, including fire, police, corrections and private security."

Databases for Criminal Justice Research

Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts, formerly a SAGE database. This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Texts coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
(Facts on File) - Offers a wealth of research information on current topics including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Open Resources for Criminal Justice

Open Access resources are free and open online resources that provide access to academic information, including publications, textbooks, and articles.

Ethics in Law Enforcement
McCartney, S., & Parent, R. (2015). Ethics in Law Enforcement. BCcampus.
Introduction to Criminal Investigation: Processes, Practices and Thinking
Gehl, R., & Plecas, D. (2017). Introduction to Criminal Investigation: Processes, Practices and Thinking. BCcampus.
Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System
Burke, A. S., Carter, D. E., Fedorek, B., Morey, T. L., Rutz-Burri, L., & Sanchez, S. (2019). Introduction to the American criminal justice system. Open Oregon Educational Resources.

Mens Rea

Law Shelf Videos on YouTube

Films on Demand - Criminal Justice

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Computers vs. Crime
This is a video from the Films on Demand database. Make sure you are signed in to your MDC Library Account to access this, and other Films on Demand.
Careers in Criminal Justice
This is a video from the Films on Demand database.

Miami Edison Senior High School - MDC Dual Enrollment: CCJ1020