SLS 1510: Preparing for Student Success
This course provides an orientation to college life and helps develop academic, career, and personal goals. Students will learn college success strategies, goal-setting, learning style assessments, as well as general and discipline-specific study skills in the context of various theoretical, practical, and experiential perspectives.
Competency 1: The student will develop the strategies and attitudes for success specific to the learning environment.
Competency 2: The student will develop the knowledge, skills, and attitudes that provide a general foundation for college success.
Competency 3: The student will demonstrate utilization of discipline specific study skills.
Competency 4: The student will develop the knowledge and attitudes that provide a general foundation for social and life management skills.
Competency 5: The student will demonstrate an understanding of the process of career development and employability skills.
Competency 6: The student will develop an understanding of the importance of lifelong learning to career and life success.
Learning Resources tutors offer support in-person or online. To schedule an appointment with a writing tutor, click here.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
Funded by: State Library of Florida
