CLP1006 - Lincoln-Marti Charter Schools - MDC Dual Enrollment - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Course Description of CLP1006

This is an applied psychology course which emphasizes understanding of the principles of effective human behavior and applying these to the areas of personal awareness, interpersonal relations, communication, and work/career development. Students will learn strategies to apply these principles in both their personal and professional lives.

Eligibility Requirements for MDC Dual Enrollment

This link provides information about academic requirements that must be met to participate in the dual enrollment program.

Human Development Online Resources

National Library of Medicine - Human Growth and Development
Learn about the stages and factors in human growth and development.
National Library of Medicine - Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development
Harvard University - Gene-Environment Interaction
This site includes a diagram and key terms.

Self-Esteem Online Resources

7 Proven Tips for Building Lasting Self-Esteem and Boosting Your Confidence
Read advice from Yale University.
Self-esteem: Take Steps to Feel Better about Yourself
Tips from the Mayo Clinic.
What Is Self-Esteem? Your Sense of Your Personal Worth or Value

Stress Management Online Resources

Image from BetterUp

11 Healthy Ways to Handle Life's Stressors
Tips from the American Psychological Association.
26 Best Stress-Relief Techniques According to Psychology
Stress from Psychology Today
Stress Management
Read related articles from the Mayo Clinic.

E-Books on Human Development

The Cultural Nature of Human Development by Barbara Rogoff
ISBN: 9780195131338
Publication Date: 2003-02-13
Three-year-old Kwara'ae children in Oceania act as caregivers of their younger siblings, but in the UK, it is an offense to leave a child under age 14 ears without adult supervision. In the Efe community in Zaire, infants routinely use machetes with safety and some skill, although U.S. middle-class adults often do not trust young children with knives. Until recently, traditional understandings of human development held that a child's development is universal and that children have characteristics and skills that develop independently of cultural processes. Barbara Rogoff argues, however, that human development must be understood as a cultural process, not simply a biological or psychological one. Individuals develop as members of a community, and their development can only be fully understood by examining the practices and circumstances of their communities.
Developmental Psychology by Keith Richardson
ISBN: 0805836241
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Thematic chapters identify the classic assumptions of the nature-nurture debate and present the reader with new ways of thinking about these issues. The book begins with material that may be familiar to students, then leads them into areas of thought which may be less familiar but which are important and significant aspects of current research and debate in the field. The author shows how an alternative, ecological systems perspective can be used to form more coherent critiques of major theorists like Skinner, Piaget, Vygotsky, and Gibson.
Human Development from Middle Childhood to Middle Adulthood by Lea Pulkkinen
ISBN: 1317556496
Publication Date: 2017-06-26
This seminal work focuses on human development from middle childhood to middle adulthood, through analysis of the research findings of the groundbreaking Jyväskylä Longitudinal Study of Personality and Social Development (JYLS). The study looks at the development over time of issues related to personality, identity, health, anti-social behavior, and well-being and is unparalleled in its duration, intensity, comprehensiveness and psychological richness. Thorough synthesis of this study illustrates that there are different paths to adulthood and that human development cannot be described in average terms.

Emotional Intelligence

EQ and You

Department of Social Sciences

Department of Social Sciences - MDC Wolfson Campus

Databases for Social Sciences

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.

Funded by: College

E-Books on Self-Esteem and Stress Management

Mindfulness and Meditation by Whitney Stewart
ISBN: 9781541540217
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
From hormones to homework, parents to peers, health issues to bad habits, life can be a pressure cooker. How can we find relief? Author Whitney Stewart introduces readers to the practice of mindfulness. With its roots in ancient Buddhist teachings, mindfulness--the practice of purposefully focusing attention on the present moment--can change a person's approach to stress, develop skills to handle anxiety and depression, and provide a sense of awareness and belonging. Stewart guides readers through how to get started with meditation as well as provides specific exercises for examining emotions, managing stress, checking social media habits and wellness routines, and setting intentions to increase happiness.
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Teens by Michael A. Tompkins; Jonathan R. Barkin; Matthew McKay (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781684030095
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Today's teens are totally stressed. Based on the self-help classic, The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, this evidence-based guide will help you develop a game plan for reducing stress so you can focus on reaching your goals.
Self-Esteem and Positive Psychology by Christopher J. Mruk
ISBN: 9780826108982
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
The author's voice is engaged, authoritative, and convinced of the esential role self-esteem plays in connecting psychological theory to clinical practice, a perspective many readers will welcome.
Overcoming Anxiety, Stress and Panic: a Five Areas Approach 3E by Chris Williams
ISBN: 9781444163148
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Overcoming Anxiety, Stress and Panic uses the proven and trusted five areas model of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) to help people experiencing a range of symptoms associated with these conditions.
Leading with Emotional Intelligence: Hands-On Strategies for Building Confident and Collaborative Star Performers by Reldan Nadler
ISBN: 9780071750950
Publication Date: 2010-09-15
The more than 100 cutting-edge tools and strategies presented here are used by the most effective leaders in the world. This complete, hands-on action plan has worksheets, exercises, self-quizzes, and much more to show how great leaders put Emotional Intelligence to work.