Other Helpful Resources
This link takes you to a collection of fictional case studies intended to stimulate reflection and discussion on the intersection of AI and Ethics. These case studies emerged from an interdisciplinary workshop series held at Princeton University starting in 2017-18. They result from a collaborative research effort between the University Center for Human Values (UCHV) and the Center for Information Technology Policy (CITP) at Princeton.
For computer science and computer engineering faculty seeking to incorporate ethics into their curricula and student activities, this page provides a range of teaching resources from the Markkula Center for Applied Ethics.
The AI Incident Database is a repository focused on documenting real-world incidents involving harm or near harm caused by artificial intelligence systems. Similar to databases used in aviation and computer security, it seeks to learn from past experiences to help prevent or mitigate negative outcomes in AI deployment.
The animated YouTube video on moral reasoning explains how this process involves applying critical analysis to determine what is right or wrong in specific situations. It highlights that both philosophers and psychologists study how we make moral decisions, which often involves applying theories like deontology or utilitarianism.
In this YouTube video, the speaker explores the historical origins of philosophy in ancient Greece. The discussion covers its three main branches: metaphysics, epistemology, and value theory.
The School of Life is a popular YouTube channel and organization founded by philosopher Alain de Botton. It focuses on exploring emotional intelligence and addressing the psychological challenges of everyday life. The channel covers topics related to personal development, relationships, work, mental health, and self-knowledge, blending philosophy, psychology, and culture to offer practical advice for living a more fulfilling life.
Wired magazine is a popular publication that focuses on how emerging technologies are shaping culture, business, politics, and society. It covers a wide range of topics including innovation, science, cybersecurity, artificial intelligence, gadgets, and digital culture. Known for its in-depth reporting and analysis, Wired explores the latest tech trends and their broader implications, often highlighting how cutting-edge advancements impact our daily lives and future.
The Guardian's section on artificial intelligence (AI) provides comprehensive coverage of AI's latest developments, impacts, and challenges. It includes articles on ethical concerns, regulatory issues, AI's influence on industries like healthcare and education, and how AI affects privacy and the workforce. The section also explores emerging trends such as generative AI, advancements in machine learning, and the societal implications of these technologies. It's a resource for readers interested in how AI is shaping the world around us.