SLS1510 - SLAM! - MDC Dual Enrollment - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Course Description of SLS1510

This course provides an orientation to college life and helps develop academic, career, and personal goals. Students will learn college success strategies, goal-setting, learning style assessments, as well as general and discipline-specific study skills in the context of various theoretical, practical, and experiential perspectives.

Eligibility Requirements for MDC Dual Enrollment
This link provides information about academic requirements that must be met to participate in the dual enrollment program.

Personal Inventories

16 Personalities
Learn which personality category matches with your choices.
123 Career Test
This is a free career test that provides a list of careers matching your interests. Additional career tests are available in the article found at this website: https://capd.mit.edu/resources/free-career-aptitude-tests/
Index of Learning Styles Quiz
Learn where you land on the Feldman-Soloman Index of Learning Styles. Click on the resources at the end of the quiz to learn more about your results.
Learning Style Quiz
This is a free quiz that provides information about how you learn best.
O*Net Online
Explore different careers using the search tools and take the O*Net Interest Profiler quiz.
What is Your Learning Style?
Determine if you are primarily a visual, auditory, or kinesthetic learner.

How To Find Your Passion and Inner Awesomeness

Films on Demand - Career Options

Visit the learning resources home page and log in to My Library Account to access these films. Use your MDC username and password to log in. From the Library Search page, click the "videos online" hyperlink. Select "Films on Demand."

Careers of the Future

Explores new career paths that will open up in the future.

How to Search for Jobs

Provides tips on how to begin a job search.

Understanding Career Pathways Planning

Learn how to use information to make the best career planning decisions.

In Search of a College Major and Career Direction

Helps students identify options to maximize their career potential.

Resume Guidance

MDC Works Career studio

MDC Works Career Studio
Explore careers and learn about internship opportunities. This site also contains resources on creating resumes and allows you to view workshops. Visit MDC Works at Wolfson in room 4102.

Databases for Career Searches and Study Skills

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - A searchable Vocation, Careers, & Technical Education electronic collection.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Student Success Skills (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
Student Success equips students with the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive both in higher education and in their future career. Topics are delivered through multimedia and interactive content and cover core skills including academic writing, critical thinking, information literacy, intercultural awareness, and study strategies.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

E-Books on Careers

Creating a Pathway to Your Dream Career by Tom Kucharvy
ISBN: 9781606498989
Publication Date: 2014-10-30
What do you want your life to be like when you're 25? 35? 55? Do you want a job that will feed you and your family or do you want a career that will be an integral part of your life--a career that will feed your passions, enable the lifestyle you choose, and be a continual source of engagement and pride? This book will help you develop a plan by first examining how the careers of the future will differ from those of the past, where these jobs and careers will and won't be, and the range of skills (many of which are not taught in schools) they will require.
Enhanced Occupational Outlook Handbook by JIST Publishing Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781593570309
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Serious job seekers and students doing in-depth career research can access information on more than 8,000 jobs in one convenient book.
An Intelligent Career by Michael B. Arthur; Svetlana N. Khapova; Julia Richardson
ISBN: 9780190494131
Publication Date: 2017-01-04
Written by three career experts, An Intelligent Career is a playbook for the modern knowledge worker, providing a complete guide that will allow workers to take a composite, dynamic view of a life's work in the 21st century. "Knowledge work" - the kind of work where one thinks for a living - is fundamental in today's economy. It is the basis for long-term success in the global economy and it drives the collective brainpower through which goods and services are delivered.
There Is Life after College by Jeffrey J. Selingo
ISBN: 9780062388865
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
New York Times Bestseller From the bestselling author of College Unbound comes a hopeful, inspiring blueprint to help alleviate parents' anxiety and prepare their college-educated child to successfully land a good job after graduation.