Select at least one of the following OER textbooks for your ENC, LIT, or CRW course. Once you have selected an OER, insert the link into your syllabus and Canvas course.
Please note, some of the OER textbooks might refer to an outdated citation style. For more information on APA or MLA citation style, go to the following LibGuides:
Aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles.
Provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. Beginning with the sentence and its essential elements, this book addresses each concept with clear, concise and effective examples that are immediately reinforced with exercises and opportunities to demonstrate, and reinforce, learning. Each chapter allows your students to demonstrate mastery of the principles of quality writing. With its incremental approach, it can address a range of writing levels and abilities, helping each student in your course prepare for their next writing or university course. Constant reinforcement is provided through examples and exercises, and the text involves students in the learning process through reading, problem-solving, practicing, listening, and experiencing the writing process.
Covers all of the essential content about the writing process, rhetorical styles, and writing successfully for college. Students will learn about critical thinking, analysis, argumentation, reflection, and making sound rhetorical choices to write effective academic essays. Students will also learn about techniques for reading, interpreting, and utilizing a variety of sources in their writing. The course design encourages students to master concepts and skills in small bites, through engaging practice activities and frequent questioning with targeted feedback. The course content also covers key grammatical concepts, multimodal writing, collaboration, research skills, and proper documentation.
Offers comprehensive support for college research writing, from planning and research to drafting and revising. Eight core modules cover the complete research, writing, and editing process, while two optional modules, “Beyond the Research Paper” and “Working with Literature,” allow for greater flexibility in course design and coverage. Each module includes a list of suggested readings, which address the module’s themes in a more essayistic style. These openly-licensed essays can be placed directly in the LMS to model essay form, enrich students’ understanding of the topics, and jumpstart discussions or writing assignments. Five “process narratives” offer in-depth, practical examples of the process of research writing, culminating in a sample student paper.
Covers fundamental aspects of composition, including understanding rhetorical situations, developing thesis statements, organizing essays, and integrating sources. The book also addresses grammar, style, and the writing process, offering practical exercises to reinforce learning. Additionally, it includes sample essays and assignments to guide students in producing clear and coherent academic writing.