Emergency Medical Services: Websites

Provides information about red cross services, such as disaster preparedness, CPR, AIDS, swimming & babysitting courses. Also provides information about volunteer and donation opportunities.

A guide to help you locate anatomy and physiology resources available through MDC's Learning Resources Department.

Provides up-to-date information on many aspects of health care, including diseases and conditions, vaccines and immunizations, and emergency preparedness and response. It also includes a section with health statistics.

Provides comprehensive information on Medicare, Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), and Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA).

Provides comprehensive information on prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products, including a pill identifier and interactions checker.

Provides comprehensive information regarding emergency preparedness and response in the event of a disaster situation. Topics covered include reading/using flood maps and response exercises and assessment programs. This website also offers education and training opportunities.

Provides information about EMS training, education, exams and certification. Also provides links to Florida EMS Statutes and disaster preparedness information.

Features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication.

Instructions and videos on how to perform hands-only CPR.

Information about understanding health information privacy under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).

A statement of national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.

Provides information and education on emergency trauma care.

Includes a Medical Encyclopedia, Medical Dictionary, Interactive Tutorials on common procedures and conditions, and Doctor and Dentist Directories.

Online text of The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy and The Merck Manual of Patient Symptoms.

Provides local emergency and disaster preparedness information on topics such as hurricanes, terrorism, evacuations and shelters.

Provides information for how to care for people injured in motor vehicle crashes. Some of the topics covered include alcohol screening, do's and don'ts of transporting children in an ambulance, and guidelines for air bag equipped vehicles.

Provides the First Responder and EMT application forms and exam information. Also provides a directory of registered first responders and EMTs.

Provides information on reducing accidents/injuries at the workplace, at home and in transportation. This site covers topics such as ergonomics, driving safely, falls and first aid.

Provides health standards, regulations, and inspections to prevent workplace injuries, illnesses and deaths.

This section of the OSHA site also provides a special section on "Bloodborne Pathogens (including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis) and Needlestick Prevention," which covers hazard recognition, possible solutions, and post-exposure evaluation.

Provides information and education on how to care for patients in the specialized pre-hospital situations of wilderness, backcountry, and other delayed and prolonged transportation contexts such as catastrophic disasters.

Provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.