Health Information Technology: Websites

A guide to help you locate anatomy and physiology resources available through MDC's Learning Resources Department.

Provides up-to-date information on many aspects of health care, including diseases and conditions, vaccines and immunizations, and emergency preparedness and response. It also includes a section with health statistics.

Provides comprehensive information on Medicare, Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), and Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA).

Provides access to the International Classification of Diseases (ICD), ninth revision and tenth revision. The ICD is the official system of assigning codes to diagnoses and procedures associated with hospital utilization. It is also used to code and classify mortality data.

Describes the process of how CPT codes are maintained and how to request changes or a new code. This site also provides continuing coding education opportunities and downloadable copies of the CPT (for a fee).

Provides comprehensive information on prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products, including a pill identifier and interactions checker.

Trade magazine for HIM professionals.

(Insurance Marketplace) A site where individuals and small businesses can shop for health coverage through the Affordable Care Act.

Provides information portals on HIPAA, vendors, new products, government legislation, trends, and mobile technology.

Provides the full text of the HITECH Act, which is a bill that was passed into law in 2009 that provides incentives to accelerate the adoption of electronic health records.

Provides a summary of the HITECH Act, highlighting its four major goals.

A statement of national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.

Guidance For Small Providers, Small Health Plans, and other Small Businesses

How Office for Civil Rights (OCR) Enforces the HIPAA Privacy & Security Rules

HIPAA for Professionals

Summary of the HIPAA Security Rule

Provides comprehensive information about the tenth revision of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems.

The United State's predominant standards-setting and accrediting body for health care organizations and programs.

Provides discussion groups for coders, job listings for coders, and other information relevant to coders.

Explains the differences between Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs), Preferred Provider Organizations (PPOs), and Point of Service (POS) health care plans.

This page is hosted by the Electronic Privacy Information Center and provides information on current problems and pending legislation related to medical records and medical privacy.

Includes a Medical Encyclopedia, Medical Dictionary, and Doctor and Dentist Directories. A section on personal health records is included, which covers topics such as "how to file a health information privacy complaint" and HIPAA basic facts.

Online text of The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy and The Merck Manual of Patient Symptoms.

A list of the mobile apps currently downloaded to the library's iPads that are available for check-out.

Provides health standards, regulations, and inspections to prevent workplace injuries, illnesses and deaths.