Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physical Therapist Assistant
Links of recommended websites
Anatomy and Physiology
A guide to help you locate anatomy and physiology resources available through MDC's Learning Resources Department.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Provides comprehensive information on Medicare, Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), and Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA).
Provides comprehensive information on prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines, and natural products, including a pill identifier and interactions checker.
The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
Provides information on the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE).
Florida Department of Health: Physical Therapy Board Overview
Provides licensure information, continuing education information, and Florida laws and statutes related to physical therapy.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
Features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication.
Instructions and videos on how to perform hands-only CPR.
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)
Information about understanding health information privacy under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).
Healthy People 2020
A statement of national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
The United State's predominant standards-setting and accrediting body for health care organizations and programs.
KidsHealth for Parents: Physical Therapy
Describes what physical therapy is and when and where physical therapy might help a child.
Provides illustrated guides on performing CPR on adults, children, infants, and pets. Video demonstration also provided.
Links to more websites
Includes a Medical Encyclopedia, Medical Dictionary, Interactive Tutorials on common procedures and conditions, and Doctor and Dentist Directories.
The Merck Manuals
Online text of The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy and The Merck Manual of Patient Symptoms.
A list of the mobile apps currently downloaded to the library's iPads that are available for check-out.
National Center on Physical Activity and Disability
Provides information on aquatic therapy, exercise guidelines for people with disabilities, exercises for children, flexibility exercises for older adults, and other information on fitness and exercise.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Provides health standards, regulations, and inspections to prevent workplace injuries, illnesses and deaths.
A variety of tools to help you create, present, manage and share your professional credentials.
Provides job listings, clinic listings, a message board and links to news and other relevant information.
Physical Therapy: The Web Space
Provides a listing of sites that deal with diseases, injuries, and conditions that are often seen by physical therapists, such as hip replacement, carpal tunnel syndrome, multiple sclerosis, etc.
Physical Therapy Assistant Program: Mobile Site
This site, designed for mobile devices, provides links to websites on evidence-based practice.
Provides career information, job listings, and other current news and events relevant to physical therapy.
Touch Research Institute
Founded by Dr. Tiffany Field of the University of Miami, the Touch Research Institute is dedicated to studying the effects of touch therapy and researches the effects of massage therapy at all stages of life from newborns to senior citizens.