Skip to Main Content

Human Services and Addiction - Library Resources: Databases

🔍 Databases for Human Services & Addiction

This page features a curated list of MDC Library databases that support research in Human Services and Addiction Studies. Because these topics are interdisciplinary, the recommended databases span across social sciences, psychology, health, and behavioral sciences. Use these resources to find peer-reviewed articles, case studies, professional reports, and more.

🔍 Databases
🧠 Psychology Databases

 

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) – Access full-text peer-reviewed articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, covering a wide range of topics in psychology and behavioral science.

Psychology Database (ProQuest) – Includes clinical and social psychology articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and books, useful for research on mental health, addiction, counseling, and human behavior.
🏥 Health & Wellness Databases

 

Gale Health & Wellness – A trusted resource for consumer health information, including addiction, mental health, and rehabilitation topics. Includes encyclopedias, journal articles, and multimedia.

Public Health Database (ProQuest) – Scholarly and gray literature focused on health policy, public health interventions, and epidemiology.
👥 Social Sciences & Human Services

 

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) – A broad database covering sociology, social work, addiction, public services, and human development.

Social Science Database (ProQuest) – Full-text journals in sociology, social work, anthropology, education, and more—relevant to many Human Services topics.

SAGE Journals – Peer-reviewed articles in social sciences, health, psychology, education, and behavioral science. Particularly useful for applied research and case studies.
🧩 Interdisciplinary Databases

 

ProQuest Central – A massive, all-subject database ideal for cross-topic searches, including addiction studies, health policy, and counseling practice.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) – A general academic database that includes thousands of peer-reviewed journals and magazines across multiple disciplines.

JSTOR – A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in psychology, sociology, public health, and the humanities. Great for historical and theoretical perspectives.
🔐 Accessing Databases

To access MDC Library databases, you'll need to log in using your Miami Dade College credentials. This is the same username and password you use for MDC systems like Canvas, student email, or MDConnect. Once logged in, you can search, view, and download full-text articles and other academic resources.

When prompted, simply enter:

  • Username: MDC user name (e.g., John.Doe001)

  • Password: The same password you use for MDC systems
🎥 How to Access MDC Databases
This short video provides step-by-step instructions for accessing MDC’s online databases, including how to log in with your student credentials, navigate the library website, and locate reliable academic resources. It's perfect for first-time users or anyone needing a quick refresher!