Skip to Main Content

Human Services and Addiction - Library Resources: Periodicals & Journals

📰 Journals & Periodicals
This section provides access to a range of periodicals available through the MDC Libraries, including scholarly journals, professional magazines, and newspapers. These resources offer current and archived content on topics related to Human Services, Addiction, Psychology, Social Work, and Public Health. Whether you're conducting academic research or exploring public perspectives, this page is a valuable starting point.
📰 Browse Journals on Substance Abuse
Use the link below to explore MDC Library’s collection of academic journals focused on Substance Abuse. These peer-reviewed publications cover research, treatment strategies, policy, prevention, and clinical practice related to addiction and recovery.

🔗 View Substance Abuse Journals

📰 Browse Journals on Family Violence
Explore academic journals that focus on Family Violence, including topics such as domestic abuse, child maltreatment, trauma-informed care, and intervention strategies. These peer-reviewed publications support research in social work, counseling, psychology, and public health.

🔗 View Family Violence Journals

🧠 Browse Journals on Psychiatry
Access scholarly journals dedicated to Psychiatry, including research on mental illness, psychiatric care, pharmacology, diagnostic practices, and therapeutic approaches. These resources are ideal for exploring the clinical and medical aspects of addiction and mental health.

🔗 View Psychiatry Journals

🧠 Browse Journals on Psychology
Discover peer-reviewed journals focused on Psychology, including topics such as cognitive science, behavioral health, addiction, counseling, and emotional development. These resources are ideal for both academic research and practical application in Human Services and related fields.

🔗 View Psychology Journals

🌍 Browse Journals on Social Sciences
Explore a broad range of scholarly journals in the Social Sciences, including interdisciplinary research on society, culture, policy, human behavior, and social change. These journals support deeper understanding of the contexts that impact Human Services and Addiction work.

🔗 View Social Sciences Journals

🔐 Accessing Library Resources on This Page

To access the full text of scholarly journals, magazines via Flipster, and newspaper databases featured on this page, you may be prompted to log in with your Miami Dade College credentials. This is the same username and password you use for Canvas, student email, or MDConnect. Once logged in, you’ll have complete access to the digital content offered through MDC Libraries.

When prompted, simply enter:

  • Username: MDC user name (e.g., John.Doe001)

  • Password: The same password you use for MDC systems

If you're having trouble logging in, visit the MDC Account Recovery page or contact the MDC Help Desk.
🗞️ Explore Magazines with Flipster
Flipster is a digital magazine platform that gives you full-color, digital access to popular publications such as Time, The Atlantic, and Psychology Today (availability may vary). While these magazines are not peer-reviewed or scholarly, they can offer timely commentary, general-interest articles, and public perspectives that complement academic research on topics like mental health, addiction, and social issues.

🔗 Open Flipster Magazine Collection

🗞️ News & Newspaper Databases
Use the following newspaper databases to explore current and historical news coverage related to mental health, addiction, public policy, and social issues. Newspapers are not peer-reviewed, but they can provide real-time perspectives, public discourse, and cultural context that complement academic sources.

🌐 National & Major News Sources
📍 Florida & Local News Sources