Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EPI 0003 Technology: Websites

This guide is for students in the Educators Preparation Institute.

English Language Learners

English Language Learners

The primary focus of the Bureau of Student Achievement through Language Acquisition (SALA) is to assist schools and districts with Florida's English Language Learners (ELLs), totaling over 265,000. Florida's diversity of ELLs surpasses most states in the country. Florida is ranked 3rd in ELL population, and although Spanish is the major native language of these students, the ELLs speak more than 300 different languages.

Online Learning

SALA Online Learning Series is a new professional development program that provides just-in-time training and support to teachers of English Language Learners (ELLs) when implementing evidence based academic programs to assist ELL academic achievement and English language acquisition. 

Technology Integration for the New 21st Century Learner

Technology Integration for the New 21st Century Learner

This article in Principal by Nancye Blair, retrieved from the National Association of Elementary School Principles website, covers several things needed in implementing technology into the classroom.

Integrating Technology in the Classroom: It Takes More Than Just Having Computers

Integrating Technology in the Classroom: It Takes More Than Just Having Computers

The article by Linda Starr on the Education World website provides many tips to incorporate technology into the daily and weekly schedule in the classroom.

Article by Linda Starr
Education World®
Article by Linda Starr
Education World®

10 Tech Tools To Engage Students

10 Tech Tools to Engage Students
Websites, apps and devices help teachers teach and kids learn in new ways. Check out these 10 great education tech choices.

 

Technology Integration

Technology Integration

This section of the Edutopia website provides various resources (blogs, articles, etc.) to help teachers explore new tools and strategies for empowering students to fully participate in a connected, techology-rich society.

Florida Benchmarks for Excellent Student Thinking (B.E.S.T.)

Florida Department of Education Logo

Beginning with the 2021-2022 academic year, the Florida Department of Education is transitioning to the new Benchmarks for Excellent Student Thinking (B.E.S.T.) in English Language Arts and Mathematics which replace the Language Arts Florida Standards (LAFS) and the Mathematics Florida Standards (MAFS).  Fast Facts

FTCE Competencies and Skills

Steps in Teacher Certification

Certification Steps

This website outlines the steps required in applying for teacher certification.  Application may be done either online or in hard copy form.

Electronic Resources (Websites) from EPI 0003 Syllabus

$5 Dollar Software: https://www.5dollarsoftware.com/

4 Teachers: https://4teachers.org/

ABC Teach: https://www.abcteach.com/

Article: https://futureofchildren.org/futureofchildren/publications/docs/10_02_ExecSummary.pdf

Assistive Technology Training Online Project: https://atto.buffalo.edu/

Best WebQuest: https://www.bestwebquests.com/

Big Six Skills: https://www.big6.com/

Brain Pop: https://www.brainpop.com/

CCV Educational Software: https://www.ccvsoftware.com/

Children Software Review: https://www.childrenssoftware.com/

Discovery School: https://school.discovery.com/

Edmodo: https://www.edmodo.com

Education Place-Graphic Organizers: https://www.eduplace.com/graphicorganizer/

Education World: https://www.education-world.com/

Electronic portfolios in education: https://electronicportfolios.com/ALI/research.html.

Enchanted Learning: https://www.enchantedlearning.com/Home.html

Exploring Florida: https://fcit.usf.edu/florida/default.htm

Filamentality:  https://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/fil/

First Gov: https://www.firstgov.gov/Business/Nonprofit.shtml

Gayle’s Electronic Classroom: https://teams.lacoe.edu/documentation/classrooms/gayle/gayle.html

Inspiration: https://www.inspiration.com/

Instructional Strategies/CPALMS: https:// www.fldoe.org/JustForTeachers/Instructional_Resources.asp

International Society for technology in Education: https://www.iste.org/

Internet Projects Registry: https://www.globalschoolhouse.org/GSH/pr/index.cfm

Learn 360: www.learn360.com

MarcoPolo: https://www.marcopolo-education.org/

Math Forum: https://mathforum.org/teachers/elem/          

MindJet: https://www.mindjet.com/us/

Owl and Mouse Educational Software: https://www.yourchildlearns.com/owlmouse.htm

PowerPoint Tutorial: https://www.fgcu.edu/support/office2000/ppt/

Prezi: https://www.prezi.com

Rubistar: https://rubistar.4teachers.org

Scholastic: https://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp

Science of Music: https://www.exploratorium.edu/music/index.html

T is for Thinking: https://www.ithaca.edu/library/training/think.html

Teacher Source PBS: https://www.pbs.org/teachersource/

The Educators Reference Desk: https://www.eduref.org/

The Gateway: https://www.thegateway.org/

The International Technology Education Association: https://www.iteaconnect.org/

The WebQuest Page at SDSU: https://webquest.sdsu.edu/

ThinkQuest: https://www.thinkquest.org/

Tramline Virtual Field Trips: https://www.field-guides.com/

Turn it in: https://turnitin.com/static/home.html?session-id=0115153fc94bb37c1fc65bacce215af6

Virtual Math Manipulatives: https://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/vlibrary.html                                                    

Word Tutorial: https://www.fgcu.edu/support/office2000/word/

Zunal WebQuest Maker: https://www.zunal.com/

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Valda Adeyiga
Contact:
Miami Dade College, Hialeah Campus

1780 W 49th Street

Hialeah Florida 33012

305.237.8732
Subjects: Education

State Resources to Support Students with Disabilities

ESE Educator ResourcesThe Florida Department of Education (FDOE), Bureau of Exceptional Student Education (BESE), provides a wide variety of information and resources related to the education of students with disabilities.

There are many resources available through the Florida Department of Education that support the work of educators in the field. This website provides links to information and resources related to the education of students with disabilities.

K-20 Education Code

Assistive Technology Basics

Assistive Technology Basics

This section of the Understood website provides links to information including videos and articles on the topic of assistive technology.

What is Assistive Technology? How Is It Funded?

What is Assistive Technology? How is it Funded?

This section of the Assistive Technology Industry Association website provides answers to question about assistive technology and has links to professional organizations involved with assistive technology.

Assistive Technology for Children with Autism

Assistive Technology for Children with Autism

This report was "written by Susan Stokes under a contract with CESA 7 and funded by a discretionary grant from the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction." Use the "Next" link at the bottom to continue reading the rest of the extensive report.

Get Math Help From Chegg

Chegg is one of the leading providers of math help for college and high school students. Get help and expert answers to your toughest math questions. Master your math assignments with our step-by-step math textbook solutions. Ask any math question and get an answer from our experts in as little as two hours. With Chegg Study, we've got you covered 24/7.

Get Math Help From Chegg

Mathwaya problem-solving tool accessible to all students at any given time