Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books and Other Print Materials available at MDC
Enter a keyword such as "Animation", a title, or an author's name, then click the "Search" button below to search for Books and Materials in the MDC Libraries' catalog.
Search Google books for additional information on books
Print resources at the Wolfson Library
Gaming Technology by
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Today's video games have come a long way from simple black and white graphics of the 1950s, creating worlds so visually stunning that it's hard to tell if they are real or fake. Gaming Technology: Blurring Real and Virtual Worlds examines the history of gaming technology, explores how today's cutting-edge games work, and discusses the future advances of technology.
They Drew As They Pleased Vol 5 by
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
In the 1970s and 1980s, the Disney animation studio redefined its creative vision in the wake of Walt Disney's death. This latest volume from renowned Disney historian Didier Ghez profiles Ken Anderson and Mel Shaw, whose work defined beloved classic Disney characters from films like The Jungle Book, The Aristocats, Robin Hood, and The Rescuers. With vivid descriptions of passages from the artists' autobiographies and interviews, accompanied by never-before-seen images of their art and process, this visually rich collection offers a rare view of the Disney leg¬ends whose work helped shape the nature of character and story development for generations to come. Copyright ©2019 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Game Anim by
Publication Date: 2019-01-25
What makes the difference between great video game animation and the purely functional, and how does this relatively new medium of non-linear animation creation differ from the more traditional fields of film and television? This book de-mystifies the animation side of game development, explaining every step of the process while providing valuable insights and work philosophies for creating the best game animation for beginners and professionals alike. Taking readers through a complete game production, this book provides a clear understanding of expectations of the game animator at every stage, featuring game animation fundamentals and how they fit within an overall project to offer a holistic approach to the field of game animation. Key Features Accumulated knowledge based on nearly two decades of insightful experience in all areas of video game animation. Establishes the fundamentals of creating great video game animation, and how to achieve them. A step-by-step explanation of every stage of a game production from the animator's perspective. Readers should come away with an understanding of the expectations of a video game animator.
Cartoon Character Animation with Maya by
Publication Date: 2015-08-13
Have you ever wanted to try your hand at cartoony computer animation? Then look no further... Cartoon Character Animation with Maya will help you create just that, guiding you through every step of the process including how to incorporate multiple limbs, smears, motion lines and staggers seamlessly into your animation. From planning to posing to polish, you'll learn how to make the most of breakdowns, take the terror out of tangent types and overcome the oft-feared graph editor.Each chapter includes insight and advice from world-leading character animators, and the companion website, www.bloomsbury.com/Osborn-Cartoon-Animation, includes a short animation featuring the star of the book, Mr. Buttons. There's also a specially created rig of Mr. Buttons for you to animate with, as well as walk-through videos demonstrating key techniques. Everything you need to help you animate your own cartoony creations!Includes interviews with: Ken Duncan, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, 9; Jason Figliozzi, Wreck it Ralph, Frozen, Big Hero 6; T. Dan Hofstedt, Pocahontas, Mulan, Planes; Ricardo Jost, The Nut Job, The Snow Queen 2; Pepe Sánchez, Pocoyo, Jelly Jamm; Matt Williames, Looney Tunes: Back in Action, The Princess and the Frog
Bits and Pieces by
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Bits and Pieces tells the story of chiptune, a style of lo-fi electronic music that emerged from the first generation of video game consoles and home computers in the late 1970s and early 1980s. Through ingenuity and invention, musicians and programmers developed code that enabled the limitedhardware of those early 8-bit machines to perform musical feats that they were never designed to achieve. In time, that combination of hardware and creative code came to define a unique 8-bit sound that imprinted itself on a generation of gamers.For a new generation of musicians, this music has currency through the chipscene, a vibrant musical subculture that repurposes obsolete gaming hardware. It's performative: raw and edgy, loaded with authenticity and driven by a strong DIY ethic. It's more punk than Pac-Man, and yet, it's part of thatsame story of ingenuity and invention; 8-bit hardware is no longer a retired gaming console, but a quirky and characterful musical instrument. Taking these consoles to the stage, musicians fuse 8-bit sounds with other musical styles - drum'n'bass, jungle, techno and house - to create a uniquecontemporary sound.Analyzing musical structures and technological methods used with chiptune, Bits and Pieces traces the simple beeps of the earliest arcade games, through the murky shadows of the digital underground, to global festivals and movie soundtracks.
Animated Storytelling by
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Animation is a limitless medium for telling stories. Artists can create worlds, defy gravity, flip from factual to fantasy, and transport audiences to places they never imagined. The challenge is having the discipline to reel it in and be intentional about your storytelling choices. This book shows you how. In Animated Storytelling, learn how to create memorable stories using animation and motion graphics by following 10 simple guidelines that take you through the stages of concept development, pre-production, storyboarding, and design. Explore traditional linear storytelling and learn different processes for creating successful nonlinear animated stories, and also discover the wonders of experimental filmmaking. Award-winning filmmaker, educator, and motivator Liz Blazer uses clear examples and easy-to-follow exercises to provide you with the instruction, encouragement, and tools you need to get your designs moving. Whether your goal is to create exciting shorts for film festivals, effective messaging for broadcast or online, or simply to gain a deeper understanding of the medium, Animated Storytelling simplifies the process of creating clear and engaging stories for animation and motion graphics so you can get started easily. Animated Storytelling teaches you how to: * Write a creative brief for your project * Find and communicate your story's Big Idea * Create tight stories with linear and nonlinear structures * Explore experimental filmmaking techniques * Use storyboards to communicate your visual story * Use color to clarify and enrich your story * Define the rules for your animated world * Ease into the challenging task of animation * Make the work you want to be hired to do * Share your work with the world! "Equal parts inspiring and practical, Animated Storytelling is a step-by-step guide that takes aspiring storytellers from raw idea to final render to distribution. -Justin Cone, Co-founder, Motionographer "This book is the instruction manual for navigating the complex world of animated storytelling. It's informative, inspirational, and extremely entertaining to read. Anyone working (or hoping to work) in the field of animation needs to read this. -Joey Korenman, CEO & Founder, School of Motion
A New History of Animation by
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
A New History of Animation guides readers through the history and context of animation from around the world. The book assumes no prior knowledge of the subject and explains all the key technical concepts, filling a gap in the market for a complete and well-researched animation history textbook that can be used by teachers in trade schools and universities worldwide, as well as by readers interested in the story of this evolving medium.Topics covered include: early cinema and the foundations of the animation industry; animation as modern art and the emergence of the major studios; animation during wartime; stop-motion; new audiences for animation, in advertising, television, and games; animation from Eastern Europe; short films; computer-generated animation; international animation from Japan and elsewhere; and animation as an art form.
Ink and Paint by
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
From the earliest origins of animated imagery, the colorful link between paper and screen was created by legions of female artists working on the slick surface of celluloid sheets. With calligraphic precision and Rembrandtesque mastery, these women painstakingly brought pencil drawings to vibrant, dimensional life. Yet perhaps as a reflection of the transparent canvas they created on, the contributions and history of these animation artists have remained virtually invisible and largely undocumented, until now. Walt Disney's pioneering efforts in animation transformed novelty cartoons into visual masterpieces, establishing many "firsts" for women within the entertainment industry along the way. Focusing on talent, Disney sought female story specialists and concept artists to expand the scope and sensibility of his storytelling. Upon establishing the first animation-training program for women, ink pens were traded for pencils as ladies made their way into the male-laden halls of animation. World War II further opened roles traditionally held by men, and women quickly progressed into virtually every discipline within animation production. Disney's later development of the Xerox process and eventual digital evolution once again placed women at the forefront of technological advancements applied to animated storytelling. In her landmark book, Ink & Paint, author Mindy Johnson pulls back the celluloid curtain on the nearly vanished world of ink pens, paintbrushes, pigments, and tea. From the earliest black-and-white Alice Comedies to the advent of CAPS and digital animation, meet the pioneering women who brought hand-rendered animated stories to vibrant, multicolored life at Walt Disney Studios and beyond. Extensively researched with the full support of the entire Walt Disney Studios archival resources, plus a multitude of private collections, firsthand accounts, newly discovered materials, and production documentation, as well as never-before-seen photography and artwork, this essential volume redefines the collective history of animation. Searching for that perfect gift for the animation fan in your life? Explore more behind-the-scenes stories from Disney Editions: The Art of Mulan: A Disney Editions Classic Walt Disney's Ultimate Inventor: The Genius of Ub Iwerks One Day at Disney: Meet the People Who Make the Magic Across the Globe The Walt Disney Studios: A Lot to Remember From All of Us to All of You: The Disney Christmas Card Oswald the Lucky Rabbit: The Search for the Lost Disney Cartoons, Revised Special Edition Disney Villains: Delightfully Evil - The Creation, The Inspiration, The Fascination The Art and Flair of Mary Blair: An Appreciation, Updated Edition Illusion of Life: Disney Animation (By Disney Legends Frank Thomas and Ollie Johnston)
The Game Music Handbook by
Publication Date: 2020-09-22
Do you want to learn everything you need to know to be a fantastic video game music composer? The Game Music Handbook is for you. This book takes readers on a journey through many of the greatest video game soundscapes to date, discussing key concepts and technical practices for how to create top-level game scores. It organizes game scoring techniques into an applicable methodology that gives readers a clear picture of how to design interactive elements, conceive and create a score, and implement it into the game. Readers will gain a solid understanding of the core techniques for composing video game music, the conceptual differences that separate it from other compositional fields, as well as many advanced techniques and topics essential to excellent game music scoring. These topics include using music to design emotional arc for nonlinear timelines, the relationship between music and sound design, music and immersion, discussion of the player's interaction with audio, and more. For beginning composers, this book makes the learning process as clear as possible. However, it also offers invaluable information for intermediate to advanced readers. It includes discussion of game state and its effect on player interaction, a composer-centric lesson on programming, as well as information on how to work with version control, visual programming languages, procedural audio, and more. It also offers indispensable knowledge about advanced reactive music concepts, scoring for emergent games, music for VR, and other important topics. Overall, this book explores the practical application of player and music interaction through the examination of various techniques employed in games throughout video game history to enhance immersion, emphasize emotion, and create compelling interactive experiences.
Sketching from the Imagination: Anime and Manga by
Publication Date: 2020-10-20
Enter the vivid world of manga and anime art, with its unique aesthetic and unmistakably rendered characters. The latest in the popular Sketching from the Imagination series, Anime captures the work of 50 artists as they put their own spin on this intriguing style and share the inspiration, processes, and techniques that brought their imaginary manga creations to life.
The Art and Inventions of Max Fleischer by
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
The history of animated cartoons has for decades been dominated by the accomplishments of Walt Disney, giving the impression that he invented the medium. In reality, it was the work of several pioneers. Max Fleischer--inventor of the Rotoscope technique of tracing animation frame by frame over live-action footage--was one of the most prominent. By the 1930s, Fleischer and Disney were the leading producers of animated films but took opposite approaches. Where Disney reflected a Midwestern sentimentality, Fleischer presented a sophisticated urban attitude with elements of German Expressionism and organic progression. In contrast to Disney's naturalistic animation, Fleischer's violated physical laws, supporting his maxim: "If it can be done in real life, it isn't animation." As a result, Fleischer's cartoons were rough rather than refined, commercial rather than consciously artistic--yet attained a distinctive artistry through Fleischer's innovations. This book covers his life and work and the history of the studio that bore his name, with previously unpublished artwork and photographs.
Ask Iwata by
Publication Date: 2021-04-13
"On my business card, I am a corporate president. In my mind, I am a game developer. But in my heart, I am a gamer." --Satoru Iwata THE USA TODAY BESTSELLER "A welcome salve and a book that anyone who cares about gaming should own and read." - Forbes Satoru Iwata was the global president and CEO of Nintendo and a gifted programmer who played a key role in the creation of many of the world's best-known games. He led the production of innovative platforms such as the Nintendo DS and the Wii, and laid the groundwork for the development of the wildly successful Pokémon Go game and the Nintendo Switch. Known for his analytical and imaginative mind, but even more for his humility and people-first approach to leadership, Satoru Iwata was beloved by game fans and developers worldwide. In this motivational collection, Satoru Iwata addresses diverse subjects such as locating bottlenecks, how success breeds resistance to change, and why programmers should never say no. Drawn from the "Iwata Asks" series of interviews with key contributors to Nintendo games and hardware, and featuring conversations with renowned Mario franchise creator Shigeru Miyamoto and creator of EarthBound Shigesato Itoi, Ask Iwata offers game fans and business leaders an insight into the leadership, development, and design philosophies of one of the most beloved figures in gaming history.
Animation Unleashed by
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Make your animation say what you want it to say. Animation's potential as a powerful tool for communication is just beginning to be understood. This book reveals key principles, useful for both professionals and beginners, which will help you harness the full power of this exciting and ever expanding medium.
Drawing Anime Faces and Feelings by
Publication Date: 2020-11-24
Big facial expressions are essential to anime and manga. Big facial expressions are essential to anime and manga. They can be much more eloquent than printed words for getting an emotional response out of viewers. However, faces can be challenging. With this book, improve your anime-drawing skills with instruction for facial features and expressions for a wide variety of ages, character types, hair styles and activities. With 800 different facial expressions, you'll be able to draw your character in any emotional situation or with any reaction.
Drawing and Painting Anime and Manga Faces by
Publication Date: 2021-08-31
In this follow-up to Manga Drawing Deluxe, manga artist/author Nao Yazawa's inaugural how-to-draw title, Drawing and Painting Anime and Manga Faces demonstrates how to draw expressive key characters, from warriors to magical girls to chibis.