LibGuides: Dr. Molina's Class: MDC Resources

Quick Tips

Accessing the MDC Databases

Access the databases available through MDC by selecting More Databases on the MDC Learning Resources Library webpage.
Search the databases by subject.
Try different keywords and add more than one in order to narrow down or focus the results.
Be sure to add the following filters to your searches, Full Text and Scholarly or Peer Reviewed when applicable.

Logging In

Use your MDC username and password to access resources.
Contact Learning Resources if you encounter any issues logging in.

Researching

When conducting your search, remember the more keywords you use the more focused your search will be and you'll only have a few specific articles to look through rather than thousands.
Always select Full Text from the filters when available. This is usually located below the search fields where you enter your keywords.

Useful Tools

Take advantage of tools such as:
- E-mail to send articles to yourself so as not to loose them.
- Cite will generate a citation for the article in a variety of styles, including MLA. Simply copy and paste into your References.

Recommended Databases

DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases - SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance and SIRS NetSelect.

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
General Science Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Periodical coverage includes 242 popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Find current, diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
New York Times - Current (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current.

Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts, formerly a SAGE database. This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Texts coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.

Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Daily Life Online provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents. Based on the landmark Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, Greenwood Daily Life Online is supported by an active publishing program to ensure an ever-expanding and updated content base.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2007.

Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals.
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database contains over 25,000 records, covering a wide range of topics. Full text and images are available.

Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians and is a FREE resource offered by EBSCO Publishing to the library and education communities. This bibliographic database provides coverage on topics such as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Contains streamed films, documentaries and training videos.

NBC Learn
Rich, dynamic, and innovative resource that provides thousands of historic news reports, current events stories, original content, primary source documents, and other digital media specifically designed to help teach and engage students of all levels and abilities.

Keywords

Along with the name of your selected topic, here are some additional keywords to help focus your research:

Disparity	Human Sexuality, History
Disparity, United States	Human Sexuality, Disparity
Disparity, Global	Globalization

Library Resources

Books
E-Books

Click on a title to see its location and availability within the Hialeah Campus Learning Resources.

The War Against Women by Marilyn French
Call Number: HQ1154 .F744 1992
ISBN: 9780671778293
Publication Date: 1992-01-01