LibGuides: Health Literacy Initiative 2018: Library Resources: Books, Media, & Other

Before you begin researching...

Logging In

Borrower ID - Student number (located on your MDC ID or class schedule)
PIN - last four digits of Borrower ID / Student number

Researching

When conducting your search, remember the more keywords you use the more focused your search will be and you'll only have a few specific articles to look through rather than thousands.
Always select Full Text from the filters when available. This is usually located below the search fields where you enter your keywords.

Useful Tools

Take advantage of tools such as:
- E-mail to send links to articles, videos, etc. to yourself so as not to loose them.
- Cite will generate a citation for the article in a variety of styles, including MLA. Simply copy and paste into your References.

Films & Videos

Under the subject of Health, Kanopy offers video collections on:

Child Health

Everyday Health

Medicine

Mental Health

Midwifery

Nursing

Sports and Fitness

	Dallas Buyers Club Synopsis An HIV-positive man traffics unapproved medical drugs in order to help fellow patients during an era when doctors were still struggling to understand the virus. Director Jean-Marc Vallée Actors Matthew McConaughey, Jared Leto, Steve Zahn, Jennifer Garner, Denis O'Hare
	Food, Inc. Synopsis Filmmaker Robert Kenner examines corruption in the American food industry and its long-term effects on consumer health and the environment. Director Robert Kenner Actors Eric Schlosser, Michael Pollan, Gary Hirshberg, Joe Salatin, Richard Lobb
	Forks Over Knives Synopsis Lee Fulkerson directed this film about "diseases of affluence" like diabetes and the role plant-based food might have in potentially limiting their presence. Director Lee Fulkerson Actors T. Colin Campbell, Caldwell B. Esselstyn Jr., Joey Aucoin, Neal Barnard, Gene Baur
	Super Size Me Synopsis Acclaimed documentary about filmmaker Morgan Spurlock, who ate nothing but fast food for a month. Included: a look at school-lunch programs; and America's obesity problem. Director Morgan Spurlock Actors Daryl Isaacs, Lisa Ganjhu, Stephen Siegel, Bridget Bennett, Eric Rowley

and more...

*Be sure to access Films on Demand through the MDC Library webpage prior to opening these links.

The following eVideo search results are available on Films on Demand:

Health

Nutrition

Disease

In addition, Films on Demand has eVideo collections organized by subject, including:

Psychology

Health & Medicine

and...

Where We Stand: Health and well-being in America & the world: How we & our government impact it by George Stephanopoulos 1961- contributor.; Francis S. Collins contributor.; Randy Hultgren contributor.; Committee for Citizen Awareness, film producer.; Northern Illinois University, funder.
Call Number: AV HD6978 .W46 2015
Publication Date: 2015
This Emotional Life by Daniel Todd Gilbert; Jesse Sweet; Sabin Streeter; Alexis Bloom; Chana Gazit; Mary Robertson (Television producer); Jack Youngelson; Tina Nguyen (Film producer); Graham Judd; Lisa Mirowitz; Michael Bacon 1948-; WGBH (Television station : Boston, Mass.). Science Unit; Vulcan Productions.; Kunhardt McGee Productions.; WGBH Educational Foundation.; Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.); PBS Distribution (Firm)
Call Number: BF531 .T55 2010
ISBN: 9781608831661
Publication Date: 2010
The Meaning of Food by Maria Gargiulo; Marcus Samuelsson; Pie in the Sky Productions.; Oregon Public Broadcasting.; PBS Home Video.
Call Number: GT2853.U5 M43 2005
ISBN: 9780793690282
Publication Date: 2005
Fed Up by Katie Couric 1957- film producer, narrator.; Laurie David film producer.; Heather Reisman film producer.; Regina Kulik Scully film producer.; Michelle Walrath film producer.; Michael Walrath film producer.; Eve Marson film producer.; Sarah Olson (Film producer), film producer.; Stephanie Soechtig film producer, screenwriter, film director.; Mark Monroe screenwriter.; Michael Brook 1952- composer (expression); Brian Lazarte editor of moving image work.; Tina Nguyen (Film editor), editor of moving image work.; Dan Swietlik editor of moving image work.; Scott Sinkler director of photography.; RADiUS TWC (Firm), presenter.; Atlas Films, presenter, production company.; Artemis Rising Foundation, presenter.; Diamond Docs (Firm), presenter.; Anchor Bay Entertainment, Inc, film distributor.
Call Number: HD9005 .F385 2014
ISBN: B00L5R5LL0
Publication Date: 2014
Food Stamped by Shira Potash; Yoav Potash; Summit Pictures (Firm)
Call Number: HV696.F6 F668 2011
ISBN: B005F3XV9Y
Publication Date: 2011
Teaching Systems Nutrition Module 11 by Cerebellum Academic Team
Call Number: QP141 .N772x 2008
ISBN: 9781594430770
Publication Date: 2008-09-02
Nutrition: Program 11, Disease Prevention
Chow Down by Julia Grayer ; Gage Johnston ; Virgil Films (Firm) ; Peanut Butter Productions (Firm)
Call Number: RA645.N87 C46 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Forks Over Knives by Lee Fulkerson screenwriter, director, narrator
Call Number: RA645.N87 F67 2011
ISBN: B0053ZHZI2
Publication Date: 2011
Super Size Me by Morgan Spurlock
Call Number: RA645.N87 S87 2004
ISBN: 9781404967991
Publication Date: c2004
Killer at Large by Bill Clinton 1946-; Ralph Nader; Tom Harkin; Elias Pate; Bryan Young 1980-; Steven Greenstreet 1979-; Sam Brownback 1956-; Mike Huckabee 1955-; Richard H Carmona; Michael Pollan; Neil LaBute; Kelly D Brownell; Barry M Popkin; David Fetzer; Shinebox Media Productions.; Disinformation Company.
Call Number: RA645.O23 K55 2009
ISBN: 9781934708255
Publication Date: c2009
Eat Smart! MyPlate & 2010 Dietary Guidelines by Kevin McCarthy (Kevin M.); Kate Burns; Learning Seed Company.
Call Number: RA784 .E28 2012
ISBN: 9781557406040
Publication Date: c2012
Hungry for Change by James Colquhoun film director.; Laurentine ten Bosch film director.; Carlo Ledesma 1975- film director.; Nick Bolton voice actor.; James Caitlin voice actor.; Kris Carr voice actor.; Permacology Productions, production company.; New Video Group.; Docurama (Firm)
Call Number: RA784 .H86 2012
ISBN: 9781422922323
Publication Date: 2012
The Perfect Human Diet by C. J Hunt; Jason Marraccini; Trey Gregory; Hunt Thompson Media (Firm); ECG Productions (Firm); Passion River Films.
Call Number: RA784 .P47 2013
ISBN: B00EZN2JCK
Publication Date: 2013
The Weight of the Nation by John Hoffman 1959- producer.; Dan Chaykin producer, director; Sarah Teale producer.; HBO Documentary Films.; Institute of Medicine (U.S.); Center for Disease Control.; National Institutes of Health (U.S.); Michael & Susan Dell Foundation.; Kaiser Permanen
Call Number: RC628 .W45 2012
ISBN: 9780780695085
Publication Date: 2012
Diet and Disease in Modern Society by Ben Harding producer/director/writer.; Jamie Watson producer/director.; Stephen Skok; Eileen Brady; Meridian Education Corporation.
Call Number: RM216 .D54 2006
ISBN: 0736573895
Publication Date: 2006
Processed People by Sabrina Nelson; Jeffrey A. Nelson 1956-; Mostly Magic Productions.;Chatsworth, CA : Mostly Magic Productions
Call Number: TX360.U6 P763 2009
Publication Date: 2009

Websites

AARP Health: Medicare Resource Center
Latest on Medicare | Medicare Basics | Eligibility & Enrollment | Managing Your Medicare | Medicare Options | Medicare Q&A Tool
"AARP is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, social welfare organization with a membership of nearly 38 million that helps people turn their goals and dreams into real possibilities, strengthens communities and fights for the issues that matter most to families — such as health care, employment and income security, and protection from financial abuse."
Family Doctor
Familydoctor.org is the AAFP’s award-winning consumer website, featuring physician-reviewed patient education materials, that includes care for the physical, mental, and emotional health of the whole family from newborns to older adults. Familydoctor.org is a trusted source for medical answers and advice used by both physicians and consumers, often at the point-of-care. Familydoctor.org content is available in English and Spanish.
Family Doctor
(SPANISH) Familydoctor.org es el sitio web premiado de consumidores de la AAFP, el cual ofrece materiales educativos para pacientes revisados por médicos, que incluyen el cuidado de la salud física, mental y emocional de toda la familia desde recién nacidos hasta adultos mayores. Familydoctor.org es una fuente de confianza para obtener respuestas y consejos médicos utilizada tanto por médicos y consumidores, a menudo al momento de la atención. El contenido de Familydoctor.org está disponible en inglés y español.
Teenagers: How to Stay Healthy
FamilyDoctor.org
You can break down the concept of health into different categories. These could include physical, mental, emotional, and behavioral health. There are things any person can do to stay healthy in these areas. But as a teenager, there are some things you should pay special attention to.
Adolescentes: Cómo mantenerse sanos
(SPANISH) FamilyDoctor.org
Se puede dividir el concepto de salud en diferentes categorías. Se puede hablar de salud física, mental, emocional y conductual. Cualquier persona puede realizar ciertas acciones para mantenerse saludable en estas áreas. Sin embargo, los adolescentes deben prestarles atención a ciertas pautas.
Florida Blue Foundation
"Florida Blue Foundation is a trade name of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida Foundation, Inc., and is a separate philanthropic affiliate of Florida Blue, Florida’s Blue Cross and Blue Shield company. Founded in 2001, the mission of the Foundation is to help people and communities achieve better health. The Foundation strategically allocates grants toward philanthropic, community-based solutions through its focus areas and programs that focus on health solutions in the health care system, multicultural and growing populations, and critical issues of affordability, access and quality."
Florida Blue Health and Wellness
Overview | Staying Healthy | Health Resources | Living with an Illness | Find Affordable Care | Organizing Your Health Information
A Health Literacy Curriculum for ESOL Learners (Beginner Level)
Queens Library
A Health Literacy Curriculum for ESOL Learners (Intermediate Level)
Queens Library
Student Online Activities
Listening & Vocabulary | Queens Library
USDA Food and Nutrition Service
Agency of the USDA Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services. Their mission is to "increase food security and reduce hunger by providing children and low-income people access to food, a healthful diet and nutrition education in a way that supports American agriculture and inspires public confidence... committed to ensuring access to healthy and safe food for those participating in our programs including expecting mothers; infants and children in child care and school; low-income families going to food banks; local farmers markets; and local supermarkets. These are investments that support education, health care, and a competitive workforce."
USDA ChooseMyPlate
A USDA Food Guidance System, a core project of the USDA Center for Nutrition Policy & Promotion.
USDA ChooseMyPlate | SuperTracker
Track food and activity, develop a nutrition and activity plan, and find tips and support to plan meals and make good nutrition choices.
VOA: 11 Apps to Help People Eat Healthy and Stay Fit
VOA Learning English - Personal Technology | July 26, 2017
VOA: Let's Learn English Lesson 44: Making Healthy Choices
VOA Let's Learn English - Level 1
VOA: Your Bones Are Alive! Learn How to Keep Them Strong
VOA Learning English - Health & Lifestyle | May 1, 2017
VOA Study: Nearly a Third of World Overweight
VOA Learning English - Health & Lifestyle | June 15, 2017

Databases, Books, & eBooks

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
(SAGE Publications) - SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition, and professional health care publications.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
(NewsBank) - More than 4,000 media sources including the new FIND A TOPIC search page function. Find current, diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
(CQ Press) - Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs, and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
(Facts on File) - Offers a wealth of research information on current topics including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database contains over 25,000 records, covering a wide range of topics. Full text and images are available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

General Science Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Periodical coverage includes 242 popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images, and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. ¡Informe! thinks through every query in Spanish. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use, allowing users to easily navigate through the database without experiencing inaccurate search terms.

Funded by: State Library of Florida