Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Voting and Elections: Elections Data and Statistics

Elections Data and Statistics

Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives: Election Statistics External Link

Official vote counts from 1920 to the present for presidential and congressional elections compiled by the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives. This site also contains links to election resources found on the websites of the Census Bureau, National Archives, Federal Election Commission, and state election offices.

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections External Link

This site provides national election results and maps for presidential elections from 1789 to the present, as well as state and county results for more recent elections. It also contains results for U.S. Senate and gubernatorial elections from 1990 to the present.

Federal Election Commission External Link

Every two years, the Federal Election Commission publishes Federal Elections, a compilation of the official, certified federal election results obtained from each state’s election office and other official sources. This page provide the primary, runoff, and general election results for the U.S. Senate, the U.S. House of Representatives and, when applicable, U.S. President from 1982 to the present.

National Archives: Historical Election Results External Link

The Office of the Federal Register at the National Archives coordinates the functions of the Electoral College on behalf of the Archivist of the United States, the States, and the Congress. This site contains the electoral votes and popular votes from 1789 to the present.

A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825 External Link

A searchable collection of election returns from 1787 to 1825. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities. The site contains federal and state election returns.

Office of the Historian External Link

Official vote counts from 1920 to the present for presidential and congressional elections compiled by the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Election Results: State

National Association of State Election Directors External Link

The National Association of State Election Directors presents a roster of state election offices that contains links to official state Web sites. From this roster select a specific state to find official election results from recent elections. Election results provided on each site will vary depending on the state.

National Governors Association External Link

The National Governors Assocation provides gubernatorial election results from 2009 to the present.

Election Studies and Data, Exit Polling, Voting and Registration

ANES: American National Election Studies External Link

A collaboration of Stanford University and the University of Michigan, producing data on voting, public opinion, and political participation. The ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Data are available in the form of raw data and statement files that can be run using statistical software such as SAS, SPSS or Stata. The help page External Link provides technical assistance on how to use the data on the ANES Web site.

Center for American Women and Politics: Voters External Link

The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation. This site presents data and analysis of women's voting behavior, including statistics on turnout and the gender gap in voting.

Harvard Election Data Archive External Link

This archive contains data on election results, voting behavior, and electoral politics. The core data for the archive are state, county and district level election returns for all recent state and federal elections.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research: U.S. Elections External Link

The Roper Center provides primary, national, and state exit polling date for presidential elections from 1976 to the present. Membership External Link is required in order to access much of the exit polling data available on this site.

U.S. Census Bureau: Voting and Registration External Link

Voting and Registration data have been collected biennially by the U.S. Census Bureau in the November Current Population Survey (CPS). The statistics presented on this website are based on replies to survey inquiries about whether individuals were registered and/or voted in specific national elections. For the purpose of these estimates, election types are considered to be either congressional or presidential.

United States Election Project: Voter Turnout External Link

Dr. Michael McDonald, an Associate Professor at George Mason University, provides national and state voter turnout statistics from 1980 to the present.