Changemaking & Whole Systems Sustainability: Recommended Websites and Online Resources

Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education | AASHE strives to provide the latest information on education programs and courses that address sustainability, sustainability learning experiences outside the formal curriculum, and research related to or focused on sustainability. CSC faculty have access to these resources by creating a free username and password, use your CSC website for access.

American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment

This website describes the challenges that climate change presents to the environment and all facets of society as we know it. It also provides links to several other scientific sites focused on climate change.

Information about upcoming webinars and workshops can be found on the ACUPCC Training & Education page

a UNESCO programme for the United Nations Decade of Education for Sustainable Development. It provides professional development for student teachers, teachers, curriculum developers, education policy makers, and authors of educational materials.

an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work.

A weekly review of Global Development and Environment

Climate Central surveys and conducts scientific research on climate change and informs the public of key findings. Our scientists publish and our journalists report on climate science, energy, sea level rise . . .

The Knowledge Project consists of subject-specific libraries of peer-reviewed papers written by experts from the field. Knowledge Project topics include Genetics; Cell Biology; Scientific Communication; Career Planning; Earth Systems; Soil, Agriculture, and Agricultural Biotechnology; and Environmental Ethics. The newest addition to this series is Ecology. With over 200 articles and growing, the Ecology series consists of nine distinct libraries: Evolution, Population Ecology, Conservation and Restoration, Ecosystem Ecology, Community Ecology, Animal Behavior, Physical Ecology, Global and Regional Ecology, and Teach Ecology.

Fact sheets from the U.S. Department of Energy

Independent statistics and analysis from the U.S. Energy Information Administration

Links to essays by mathematicians -- relating mathematics to sustainability across a range of topics.

Follow state, national and international issues and policies related to climate change

This site provides general information about sustainability and the EPA’s role, as well as links to more detailed info in the following categories: Smart Growth & Sustainable Communities, Air, Climate and Energy, Sustainable Water, Materials Management, and Safe Products.

The U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) coordinates and integrates federal research on changes in the global environment and their implications for society.

This website offers proposals and solutions for dealing with global resource and environmental issues in the 21st century based on ongoing research initiatives.

350.org is an international campaign that's building a movement to unite the world around solutions to the climate crisis--the solutions that science and justice demand.

Should Colby-Sawyer apply for inclusion in this report?

Meatless Monday is a non-profit initiative of The Monday Campaigns, in association with the Johns Hopkins’ Bloomberg School of Public Health. This blog provides information and recipes for environmentally friendly meat-free alternatives with the goal of helping people reduce meat consumption by 15% in order to improve personal health and the health of the planet.

Offers discussion courses on sustainability issues.

A global campaign to create positive and compelling visions of life in a sustainable future. Led by experts in visual arts, green design and clean energy technologies, The Future We Want will help people of all ages and cultures understand and support the positive future we can achieve if we work together.

This website contains cutting-edge research on sustainable visions and solutions based on the emerging field of Integral Theory as well as resources (articles, videos, etc.) on climate change, the global crisis and our understanding of the natural world.

This site offers access to journal articles, as well as sustainability-inspired programs and educational materials. The organization is committed to creating a world in which we can live sane lives on this planet we share.

Free documentary films, ebooks, videos, articles and news about permaculture, peak oil, natural building, renewable energy, community living and environmental activism.