Open Educational Resources (OER) | Speech & Communication Discipline: Finding OER

"The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. It is a real-time federated search for OER content. MOM's contribution to the progress of Open Education is to concentrate on OER discovery—helping you find current content wherever it resides.
The OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 18 different sources of open educational materials."

List of Open Textbook Mega Sites

“a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.”

A large collection of a variety of types of OER, including textbooks, courses, and ancillary materials.

"The Orange Grove repository is Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources. The repository can also be integrated with your Learning Management Systems (e.g. Canvas, Blackboard, Desire 2 Learn). Discover, contribute, and import repository resources directly from your LMS."

SOL*R is a repository service provided by BCcampus that allows educators to access FREE online learning resources. It facilitates sharing, discovery, reuse, and remixing of a growing collection of content created by BC post-secondary educators.
SOL*R includes learning resources from a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Resources range from open textbooks, individual learning activities and tools, all the way to full programs.

A repository of various types of media, including images, music, and videos.

Open SUNY Textbooks is a one service of SUNY OER Services, a SUNY service that provides mentoring, technical support, and access to a broad catalog of open textbooks to help incorporate OER into the classroom, lower the cost of higher education, and empower faculty.

BCcampus’s BC OpenEd Resources page is a good place to start to find both general information about OER and a list of textbooks that have been “created…or…re-created from existing [OER] by BC post-secondary faculty, reviewed by B.C. faculty and made available under a Creative Commons license.”

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

Supported by Rice University, OpenStax has a huge collection of open, peer-reviewed textbooks on a large variety of subjects.

A collection of tens of thousands of digitized books available for download; audiobooks are also available.

Athabasca University’s AU Press publishes open access journals and books with a focus on Canada, the North American West, and the Circumpolar North.

Find courses by topic, MIT course number,
department, or organized into collections, cross-disciplinary topic lists, and translated courses.

Looking to replace expensive textbooks? Explore our ready-to-teach courses. Great learning design. Strong accessibility. Well-aligned supplements. Grateful students. What are you waiting for?

Saylor Academy, a non-profit organization committed to providing free and open online courses. Explore Saylor's list of free, online, self-paced courses.

An educational platform partnered with dozens of prestigious universities and institutions (including MoMA, Stanford, Yale, the University of Toronto, and the University of London).

A repository of various types of media, including images, music, and videos.

"Explore 754,731 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more."

"Discover 29,980,685 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
DPLA brings the wealth of U.S. libraries, archives, and museums to your classroom. If it’s your first time using our site, this guide will help you discover the many great resources DPLA offers educators and students."

"Co-sponsored by The Ohio State University and Georgia State University, The DALN is a publicly available archive of personal literacy narratives in a variety of formats (text, video, audio) that together provide a historical record of the literacy practices and values of contributors, as those practices and values change."

Videos with a CC license can be found through Advanced Search options.

Flickr is an “online photo management and sharing application” and many photos are available under CC licenses; Flickr allows searching by type of license.

A large collection of a variety of types of OER, including textbooks, courses, and ancillary materials.