OER for Political Science - Political Science and International Relations – Library Resources - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Open Textbooks - Political Science

American Government 2e - OpenStax
Designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester American Government course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including Insider Perspective features and a Get Connected module that shows students how they can get engaged in the political process. The book provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of American Government and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them
Boundless Political Science - Merlot
A college-level, introductory textbook that covers the rich and varied subject of Political Science. Boundless works with subject matter experts to select the best open educational resources available on the web, review the content for quality, and create textbooks to meet the needs of students.
International Relations - Merlot
This book is designed to be a 'Day 0' introduction to International Relations. As a beginner's guide, it has been structured to condense the most important information into the smallest space and present that information in the most accessible way. The chapters offer a broad sweep of the basic components of International Relations and the key contemporary issues that concern the discipline.
Political Philosophy Reader - Merlot
Developed as an open textbook for use in a lower-level Philosophy course at golden West College (a California Community College). It contains many of the classic and important works in Political Philosophy (or Political Theory) as well as some historical and biographical information. All of the works contain lcnses that allow this work to be used and distributed freely and openly and may be printed (even for commercial purposes).
The Economic and Fiscal Consequences of Immigration - National Academies Press (NAP)
Available as a freely downloadable PDF. This report finds that the long-term impact of immigration on the wages and employment of native-born workers overall is very small, and concludes that immigration has an overall positive impact on long-run economic growth in the U.S.
A Short Handbook for Writing Essays in the Humanities and Social Sciences: Open Textbook Library
A retired master teacher of English and Comparative Literature teams up with his son, a History professor, on a new version of the writing manual he wrote and used for decades at the University of California, Davis.
Principles of Political Economy: Open Textbook Library
This textbook is unique. It contains many of the same topics as mainstream textbooks, but it includes and takes very seriously heterodox critiques and alternatives to the mainstream approach to economics. It includes a whole range of alternative theories, including Post-Keynesian, Austrian, Marxian, radical, feminist, institutionalist, and other approaches. The purpose is to teach students about alternative schools of economic thought but also to deepen their understanding of the dominant, neoclassical approach to economics.
Quantitative Research Methods for Political Science, Public Policy and Public Administration, 3rd Ed. - Open Textbook Library
The focus of this book is on using quantitative research methods to test hypotheses and build theory in political science, public policy and public administration. It is designed for advanced undergraduate courses, or introductory and intermediate graduate-level courses.
Global Perspectives on Gender - Open SUNY
This textbook will take a regional approach to examining gendered lives from a social science perspective (primarily anthropological). Chapters will highlight individual contributor’s research, contextualizing their findings within specific geographic regions.

Political Science Courses

World101 from the Council on Foreign Relations

World101 is a growing library of free multimedia resources divided into units and modules. "Through its entertaining, interactive story-telling, World101 makes complex international relations and foreign policy issues accessible to learners..." Includes Teaching Resources for instructors.

Coursera

Courses include Moral Foundations of Politics; Understanding International Relations Theory; Global Diplomacy - Diplomacy in the Modern World; Geopolitics of Europe; and Political Economy of Institutions and Development. Coursera is an educational platform that partners with dozens of prestigious universities and institutions (including MoMA, Stanford, Yale, the University of Toronto, and the University of London).
Society, Politics, & Law Courses at OpenLearn
Produced by the Open University, a world leader in open and distance learning, all OpenLearn courses are free to study. They offer over 100 courses related to Society, Politics, & Law.
Political Science Courses through Saylor Academy
Saylor Academy is a non-profit organization committed to providing free and open online courses. Explore Saylor's list of political science courses that are self-paced.
MIT OpenCourseWare: Find Courses
Explore a list of Political Science courses taught at MIT. Sort courses by course number, or filter by feature or level.

OER Metafinder

OER Metafinder

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
"The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. It is a real-time federated search for OER content. MOM's contribution to the progress of Open Education is to concentrate on OER discovery—helping you find current content wherever it resides.
The OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 18 different sources of open educational materials."
University of Victoria: The Online Academic Community
List of Open Textbook Mega Sites

OER Repositories

OER Repositories

There are a multitude of OER out there to choose from, including textbooks, courses, multimedia, data, and supplementary materials. These can be found by searching regular search engines (like Google) by using certain keywords but it is much easier to find them through dedicated OER repositories or websites. The examples below are just a sampling of such repositories and websites.

MERLOT
“a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.”
OER Commons
A large collection of a variety of types of OER, including textbooks, courses, and ancillary materials.
SOL*R (Shareable Online Learning Resources)
SOL*R is a repository service provided by BCcampus that allows educators to access FREE online learning resources. It facilitates sharing, discovery, reuse, and remixing of a growing collection of content created by BC post-secondary educators.
SOL*R includes learning resources from a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Resources range from open textbooks, individual learning activities and tools, all the way to full programs.
Creative Commons
A repository of various types of media, including images, music, and videos.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Open SUNY Textbooks is a one service of SUNY OER Services, a SUNY service that provides mentoring, technical support, and access to a broad catalog of open textbooks to help incorporate OER into the classroom, lower the cost of higher education, and empower faculty.

OER Textbooks & Multimedia

Textbooks

BCcampus Open ED: Find, Adopt, Adapt a Textbook
BCcampus’s BC OpenEd Resources page is a good place to start to find both general information about OER and a list of textbooks that have been “created…or…re-created from existing [OER] by BC post-secondary faculty, reviewed by B.C. faculty and made available under a Creative Commons license.”
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.
OpenStax Textbooks
Supported by Rice University, OpenStax has a huge collection of open, peer-reviewed textbooks on a large variety of subjects.
Project Gutenberg
A collection of tens of thousands of digitized books available for download; audiobooks are also available.
AU Press
Athabasca University’s AU Press publishes open access journals and books with a focus on Canada, the North American West, and the Circumpolar North.

Multimedia

Creative Commons Search
A repository of various types of media, including images, music, and videos.
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
"Explore 754,731 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more."
Digital Public Library of America
"Discover 29,980,685 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
DPLA brings the wealth of U.S. libraries, archives, and museums to your classroom. If it’s your first time using our site, this guide will help you discover the many great resources DPLA offers educators and students."
Digital Archive of Literacy Narratives
"Co-sponsored by The Ohio State University and Georgia State University, The DALN is a publicly available archive of personal literacy narratives in a variety of formats (text, video, audio) that together provide a historical record of the literacy practices and values of contributors, as those practices and values change."
Vimeo
Videos with a CC license can be found through Advanced Search options.
Flickr: Creative Commons
Flickr is an “online photo management and sharing application” and many photos are available under CC licenses; Flickr allows searching by type of license.

Other OER Lists

Many universities have research guides related to finding OER and provide lists of various repositories and resources.

Political Science and International Relations – Library Resources: OER for Political Science