MAC1105 - iPrep Academy - MDC Dual Enrollment - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Course Description for MAC1105: College Algebra
Topics include: Linear, quadratic, rational, exponential, logarithmic, radical, and absolute value functions and their graphs; operations on functions; inverse functions; properties of logarithms; systems of equations and inequalities; non-linear inequalities; applications and modeling. College Readiness Scores for MAC1105: Review these testing requirements for entry into MAC1105.

Course Description for MAC1105: College Algebra

Topics include: Linear, quadratic, rational, exponential, logarithmic, radical, and absolute value functions and their graphs; operations on functions; inverse functions; properties of logarithms; systems of equations and inequalities; non-linear inequalities; applications and modeling.

College Readiness Scores for MAC1105: Review these testing requirements for entry into MAC1105.

Web Resources for Course Competencies

Image source: Complex Numbers. Brilliant.org

Introduction to Complex Numbers
This Khan Academy article has information on complex numbers, including their real and imaginary parts.
Finding Limits - Numerical and Graphical Approaches
This OpenStax source provides examples of numerical and graphical approaches to finding limits.
Finding Inverse Functions
This Khan Academy article teaches students how to find the inverse of functions.
Quadratic Functions
Learn about quadratic functions through graphs and written explanations.
Radical, Rational, and Absolute Value Equations
This Khan Academy lesson contains explanations, videos, and quiz questions.
Solving Linear Equations and Inequalities
Follow explanations on solving linear equations and inequalities with several examples.
Logarithms and Exponential Functions
This Open Access textbook has detailed explanations and examples of logarithms and exponential functions.

Image source: ck-12.org

Open Access resources are free and open online resources that provide access to academic information, including publications, textbooks, and articles.

Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics at MDC Wolfson Campus
Click on the link to access information about the Department of Mathematics and their available resources.

Databases for Mathematics

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Computer Science(Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
(SAGE Publications) - SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

E-Books for College Algebra

College Algebra 2e by Jay Abramson
ISBN: 9781951693411
Publication Date: 2021-10-15
This is an open access textbook for algebra students.
Schaum's Easy Outline Intermediate Algebra by Ray Steege; Kerry Bailey
ISBN: 0071422439
Publication Date: 2003-11-17
For students looking for a quick nuts-and-bolts overview, it would have to be Schaum's Easy Outline series. Every book in this series is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly focused version of its predecessor. With an emphasis on clarity and brevity, each new title features a streamlined and updated format and the absolute essence of the subject, presented in a concise and readily understandable form.

iPrep Academy - MDC Dual Enrollment: MAC1105

Web Resources for Course Competencies

Databases for Mathematics

E-Books for College Algebra

Linear and Exponential Functions

Introduction to Logarithms