CHM1025 - Miami Tech - Mater Innovation Academy - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Course Description of CHM1025

This course will provide beginning students with certain basic knowledge and skills, which will enable them to be successful in the first semester of General Chemistry I, CHM 1045. The students will learn elementary principles of modern chemistry, including basic measurements, chemical bonding, chemical reactions, stoichiometry, concentration of solutions, and chemical nomenclature.

MDC Dual Enrollment Eligibility: Review the requirements to take a dual enrollment class through MDC.

Scientific Method

Image source: Simply Psychology. https://www.simplypsychology.org/steps-of-the-scientific-method.html

Open Resources for Chemistry

Conversions and Measurements for Chemistry
This website has many charts with conversions and measurements that are useful in chemistry courses.
Converting Units
Learn how to convert units for science classes.
Building Blocks of Matter
Learn about elements, atoms, and isotopes.
How to Read the Periodic Table
Learn how to read the periodic table and download a PDF version.
Periodic Law
Website includes information about the Periodic Law and a related video.
Aqueous Solutions
Learn about aqueous solutions and the manner in which chemical formulas can be written.
Carbohydrates, Proteins, and Lipids
Review the properties, sources, caloric value, and dietary and
nutritional importance of carbohydrates, lipids, and proteins.
Functional Groups
Learn about functional groups in chemistry such as alkanes, alkenes, alkynes, alcohols, phenols, ethers, amines, aldehydes, ketones, carboxylic acids, esters, and amides.

Law of the Conservation of Mass

Crash Course Chemistry

Crash Course Chemistry
Click for a series of videos on chemistry concepts.

Department of Science Contact Information

Image source: https://www.mdc.edu/science/research-opportunities/

Miami Dade College - School of Science

Explore academic programs offered by the School of Science!

Logging In For Access

Visit the learning resources home page and log in to My Library Account using your MDC ID number to access databases and e-books. Use your MDC username and password to log in.

Databases for Scientific Research

General Science Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Periodical coverage includes 242 popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
(SAGE Publications) - SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
(Springer) - SpringerLink provides full-text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history, and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

E-Books for General Education Chemistry

Bullet Guides by Helen Harden
ISBN: 9781444134933
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Open this book and you will make sense of the elements, grasp critical concepts, and fill gaps in your knowledge.
Chemistry by Richard Post; Chad Snyder; Clifford C. Houk
ISBN: 9781119632627
Publication Date: 2020-08-20
A practical, complete, and easy-to-use guide for understanding major chemistry concepts and terms. Master the fundamentals of chemistry with this fast and easy guide. Chemistry is a fundamental science that touches all other sciences, including biology, physics, electronics, environmental studies, astronomy, and more. This newly revised edition includes updates and additions to improve your success in learning chemistry.
Chemistry All-In-One for Dummies (+ Chapter Quizzes Online) by Christopher R. Hren; John T. Moore; Peter J. Mikulecky
ISBN: 1119908329
Publication Date: 2022-10-14
Everything you need to crush chemistry with confidence Chemistry All-in-One For Dummies arms you with all the no-nonsense, how-to content you'll need to pass your chemistry class with flying colors. You'll find tons of practical examples and practice problems, and you'll get access to an online quiz for every chapter. Reinforce the concepts you learn in the classroom and beef up your understanding of all the chemistry topics covered in the standard curriculum.
An Introduction to Chemistry by Peter Moore
ISBN: 9781527545519
Publication Date: 2020
This publication is an entry-level textbook designed to meet the needs of college students who learned some chemistry in their high school years, but not enough to prepare them for advanced courses in chemistry, or to satisfy the chemistry prerequisite for courses they might want to take in other scientific disciplines.