EDF1005 - Miami Jackson Senior High School - MDC Dual Enrollment - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Course Description of EDF1005

The student will learn the historical, sociological, and philosophical foundations of education, governance, finance, policies, legal, moral and ethical issues, and the professionalism of teaching. The student will develop an understanding of the Florida Educator. Accomplished Practices, standards, and Professional Educator Competencies. Fifteen hours of service learning experience are required.

Eligibility Requirements for MDC Dual Enrollment
This link provides information about academic requirements that must be met to participate in the dual enrollment program.

Florida Department of Education Teacher Certification
Florida Educator Accomplished Practices
These practices establish the expectations for effective educators in the state of Florida.
Florida Professional Preparation and Education Competence
Learn how to demonstrate mastery of Professional Preparation and Education Competence in the state of Florida.
Standards and Instructional Support
Through the specific discipline links, visit the CPALMS site with the Florida standards for each subject.
Funding and Financial Reporting
Learn about the sources of funding for Florida's school districts.

Journal Articles - Scholarly Sources

Make sure to log into your My Library Account at MDC to access these articles.

Education vs. Schooling

Explicit vs. Implicit Curriculum

The Four Curricula
Before reading the journal articles, review these definitions of the four curricula.
An Explicit or Implicit Curriculum: Which Is Better for Young Children?
Click on "View in Eric" to see the full text.
Implementation of an Explicit and Reflective Pedagogy in Introductory Biology Laboratories

Induction Programs

Use the databases in this LibGuide to search for additional scholarly sources.

Educational Philosophies

Four Major Educational Philosophies

Perennialism
Essentialism
Romanticism
Progressivism

MDC School of Education
Click on the link for information about the School of Education at MDC. The website includes links to MDC programs and teacher certification information. MDC offers certificate programs, associate degrees, and bachelor's degrees in education.

Databases for Education Research

Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, and citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Educators Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Content included in the database is almost entirely full-text. The entire ERIC Database will be fully integrated into ERC with direct links to over 50% of the ERIC titles in FULL-TEXT.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). ERIC records now include full-text documents from the ERIC Digest at no extra charge. The database includes the ERIC thesaurus, a complete list of descriptive terms used by ERIC to index and search the database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present. Updated monthly.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Teacher Reference Center (TRC) contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians and is a FREE resource offered by EBSCO Publishing to the library and education communities. This bibliographic database provides coverage on topics such as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

E-Books

The Ethics of School Administration by Kenneth A. Strike; Emil J. Haller; Jonas F. Soltis
ISBN: 1423789490
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This popular text features a rigorous yet practical approach to the difficult dilemmas that so often arise in school administration. Using case studies to illustrate particular ethical issues, the authors cover such topics as: standards; assessment and evaluation; equal opportunity; multiculturalism; religious differences; due process; freedom of expression; personal liberty; and authority.
Ethics and Politics in Early Childhood Education by Gunilla Dahlberg; Peter Moss
ISBN: 9780203463529
Publication Date: 2004-11-10
The early childhood services of Reggio Emilia in Northern Italy has gained worldwide interest and admiration. Drawing on the 'Reggio approach', and others, this book explores the ethical and political dimensions of early childhood services and argues the importance of these dimensions at a time when they are often reduced to technical and managerial projects, without informed consideration for what is best for the child.
The Ethical Educator by Susan Israel (Editor); Cynthia A. Lassonde (Editor)
ISBN: 1433101599
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
The Ethical Educator addresses critical aspects of ethical conduct related to teaching and teacher research. Written from an educational perspective, this book will appeal especially to teachers engaged in research in classroom settings, those engaged in collaborative research within the university and school, and pre-service teachers.

Miami Jackson Senior High School - MDC Dual Enrollment: EDF1005

Course Description of EDF1005

Journal Articles - Scholarly Sources

Educational Philosophies

Databases for Education Research

E-Books