Health Equity by K. Bryant Smalley (Editor); Jacob Warren (Editor); M. Isabel Fernandez (Editor)
Health Equity: A Solutions-Focused Approach is a comprehensive textbook that illustrates existing conditions of health disparities across a range of populations in the United States, positions those disparities within the broader sociopolitical framework that leads to their existence, and most importantly, presents specific ways in which health equity solutions can be designed and implemented. Presenting current theoretical foundations, cultural context, and evidence-based models and interventions all in one, this textbook provides students with the basis to achieve greater health equity in their communities. Edited by award-winning authors and featuring contributions from diverse experts in public health, sociology, psychology, and medicine, this groundbreaking text goes beyond a traditional approach to risk factors and disparities and emphasizes the central role that health equity initiatives must play in public health research and practice. The book is divided into three sections, with Section I focusing on providing the context of health equity research and practice. Chapters are structured in such a way that both new and experienced students in the field will develop a deeper understanding of topics such as prejudice and discrimination; frameworks and theories; and research and collaboration approaches. Section II addresses the current knowledge of specific populations impacted by issues related to health equity, including African American, Latinx and Hispanic, Asian, American Indian and Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander, LGBTQ, Veteran, People with Disabilities, and many more. Authored or co-authored by members of the community being discussed, each of these chapters summarizes how health disparities impact the group, ongoing population-specific models of disparities and equity, emerging programs for achieving health equity, coverage of the most relevant aspects of intersectionality, and concluding exercises such as case studies and current events. Section III then highlights the role of cultural humility in achieving health equity. With its solutions-focused and community-affirming approach, Health Equity provides graduate and undergraduate students of public health with evidence-based models to help advance health through diversity, inclusion, and social justice.Key Features: Origins and Theories - Discusses the sociocultural and political origins of health disparities and the major theories that underlie an understanding of health equitySolutions-Focused - Describes emerging models and gives best practices in designing new programsDiverse Population Coverage - Provides historical context, sociocultural dynamics, and population-specific evidence-based programs from the voices of the communities being discussedIntersectionality Perspective - Highlights the role that overlapping and interdependent identities play in promoting health equity and the interventions that build from this perspectiveCase Studies and Real-World Examples - Demonstrates how to apply health equity improvement approaches in different contextseBook access -Included with print purchase for use on most mobile devices or computersInstructor's Packet - With an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Test Bank, and a Sample Syllabus
ISBN: 9780826177230
Publication Date: 2020-06-28
Health Equity by
Health Equity: A Solutions-Focused Approach is a comprehensive textbook that illustrates existing conditions of health disparities across a range of populations in the United States, positions those disparities within the broader sociopolitical framework that leads to their existence, and most importantly, presents specific ways in which health equity solutions can be designed and implemented. Presenting current theoretical foundations, cultural context, and evidence-based models and interventions all in one, this textbook provides students with the basis to achieve greater health equity in their communities. Edited by award-winning authors and featuring contributions from diverse experts in public health, sociology, psychology, and medicine, this groundbreaking text goes beyond a traditional approach to risk factors and disparities and emphasizes the central role that health equity initiatives must play in public health research and practice. The book is divided into three sections, with Section I focusing on providing the context of health equity research and practice. Chapters are structured in such a way that both new and experienced students in the field will develop a deeper understanding of topics such as prejudice and discrimination; frameworks and theories; and research and collaboration approaches. Section II addresses the current knowledge of specific populations impacted by issues related to health equity, including African American, Latinx and Hispanic, Asian, American Indian and Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander, LGBTQ, Veteran, People with Disabilities, and many more. Authored or co-authored by members of the community being discussed, each of these chapters summarizes how health disparities impact the group, ongoing population-specific models of disparities and equity, emerging programs for achieving health equity, coverage of the most relevant aspects of intersectionality, and concluding exercises such as case studies and current events. Section III then highlights the role of cultural humility in achieving health equity. With its solutions-focused and community-affirming approach, Health Equity provides graduate and undergraduate students of public health with evidence-based models to help advance health through diversity, inclusion, and social justice.Key Features: Origins and Theories - Discusses the sociocultural and political origins of health disparities and the major theories that underlie an understanding of health equitySolutions-Focused - Describes emerging models and gives best practices in designing new programsDiverse Population Coverage - Provides historical context, sociocultural dynamics, and population-specific evidence-based programs from the voices of the communities being discussedIntersectionality Perspective - Highlights the role that overlapping and interdependent identities play in promoting health equity and the interventions that build from this perspectiveCase Studies and Real-World Examples - Demonstrates how to apply health equity improvement approaches in different contextseBook access -Included with print purchase for use on most mobile devices or computersInstructor's Packet - With an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Test Bank, and a Sample Syllabus
Health Equity and Nursing by
Authored by highly respected nurse educators, leaders, and scholars, this text focuses on the power of nurses and how they can make substantial contributions to improve the health of all populations. It delivers an in-depth examination and analysis of current issues and determinants of health as outlined by Healthy People 2020 and addresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice. Along with principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equity, thetext discusses the evolution of thinking from eliminating health disparities to achieving health equity, and examines population-based and population-specific inequities in health status and outcomes. Highlighting the importance of interprofessional collaboration, it surveys timely initiatives, programs, and professionals--within and outside of the health sciences--who are important partners in efforts toward achieving health equity. Chapters are highly templated to include objectives, key concepts, critical-thinking questions, discussion questions, and resources.Key Features: Focuses on the power of nursing to make substantive contributions to improving the health of all populationsExamines principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equityDiscusses economic, environmental, personal, social, and structural factors that impact health status and outcomesHighlights the importance of interprofessional collaboration in achieving health equityAddresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing PracticeDemonstrates key concepts and stimulates reflection through critical-thinking and discussion questionsPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
