Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Movies: OER

OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

Web Resources

Annenberg Learner: American Cinema: Over 150 Hollywood insiders document American culture through film.

A video instructional series on film history for college and high school classrooms and adult learners; 10 one-hour and 3 half-hour video programs. Using clips from more than 300 of the greatest movies ever made, this series explores film history and American culture through the eyes of over 150 Hollywood insiders, including Clint Eastwood, Steven Spielberg, and Michael Eisner. In-depth treatments present film as a powerful economic force, potent twentieth-century art form, and viable career option. American Cinema connects subjects such as history, business, and English with other studies. In addition, it is a perfect vehicle for developing visual and media literacy skills and can be used as a springboard for creative-writing endeavors and media production.

The Bill Douglas Cinema Museum: Cinema defines the 20th Century. The Bill Douglas Cinema Museum, located at the University of Exeter, allows students and film students alike to explore the developmental history of film making with their outstanding online e-Catalog collection of film artifacts.
British Pathe Film Archive Collection: spans over 80 years of British Film History, containing over 90,000 historical film clips for free previewing by students and educators.
Classic Cinema Online: provides film students with an excellent collection of movie serials to watch and study. Here you will find classic movie serials like Flash Gordon, Dick Tracy, Captain America, and more. In addtion, several of the classic movies in their collection feature the promotional advertizing billboards shown at movie theaters.
Exploring Movie Construction & Production: What’s so exciting about movies? contains eight chapters of the major areas of film construction and production: theme, genre, narrative structure, character portrayal, story, plot, directing style, cinematography, and editing. Important terminology is defined and types of analysis are discussed and demonstrated. An extended example of how a movie description reflects the setting, narrative structure, or directing style is used throughout the book to illustrate building blocks of each theme. This approach to film instruction and analysis has proved beneficial to increasing students' learning, while enhancing the creativity and critical thinking of the student.
Film Studies For Free: Open Access Film eBooks List provides you with a list of open access eBooks available on film studies. In addition, FSFF provides you with an A-Z list of online eJournals on Film Studies and other scholarly, periodical websites available with at least some open access content.
MIT: The Film Experience: This course concentrates on close analysis and criticism of a wide range of films, from the early silent period, classic Hollywood genres including musicals, thrillers and westerns, and European and Japanese art cinema. It explores the work of Griffith, Chaplin, Keaton, Capra, Hawks, Hitchcock, Altman, Renoir, DeSica, and Kurosawa. Through comparative reading of films from different eras and countries, students develop the skills to turn their in-depth analyses into interpretations and explore theoretical issues related to spectatorship.
Public Domain Flicks: is a public domain film collection of full-length films that you can download and watch for free. Here film students and movie enthusiasts will find early silent films featuring film actors, such as Charlie Chaplin, Buster Keaton, Stan Laurel, Rudolph Valentino, and several others. You can browse all films by either title or year.

Libguide created by Jennifer Vargas, Instructional Assistant II