GEB1011 - Introduction to Business - GEB1011 - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Course Description of GEB1011

The student will learn the major disciplines of business including general business, business ethnics, forms of business ownership, economics, management and leadership, human relations marketing, information systems, accounting, financial management, money and banking, and business law.

Eligibility Requirements for MDC Dual Enrollment
This link provides information about academic requirements that must be met to participate in the dual enrollment program.

Make sure to log into your My Library Account at MDC to access the eBooks and databases listed on these pages.

General Business eBooks

Crafting the Customer Experience for People Not Like You by Kelly McDonald
ISBN: 9781118360729
Publication Date: 2012-11-13
Deliver a better business experience, for every kind of customer A "one-size fits all" approach to customer service is no longer viable. Businesses competing on service need to understand and cater to customers' racial, ethnic, religious, generational, and geographic differences in order to meet or exceed customers' service expectations. Crafting the Customer Experience to People Not Like You shows how companies, brands, and products struggling to differentiate themselves in a sea of sameness can foster long-term loyalty and brand preference with exceptional and customized customer service.
Exploring Business by University of Minnesota Libraries (Adapted by)
ISBN: 1946135097
Publication Date: 2016-04-08
The author's goals in writing Exploring Business Version 2.0 was simple: introduce students to business in an exciting way. This book is from the Open Textbook Library.
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History by Thomas Carson; Mary Bonk
ISBN: 0787677264
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Search the encyclopedia's entries for the answers to key questions about U.S. economic history. This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.

The 7 Irrefutable Rules of Small Business Growth by Steven S. Little
ISBN: 0471707600
Publication Date: 2005-02-22
Starting a small business and making it a success isn't easy. In fact, most small business owners don't get rich and many fail. This book presents the straight truth on small business success. It doesn't offer cure-alls for every small business. Instead, it outlines real, effective principles for continued small business growth and success.
Encyclopedia of Small Business by Kevin Hillstrom; Gale (Firm) Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 1414420331
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
""One-stop source for valuable information on a wide range of topics of interest to small business owners"--Provided by publisher"--
The Law (in Plain English) for Small Businesses by Leonard D. DuBoff
ISBN: 1417555645
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
This book is a clear, commonsense guide to creating and running a company of less than 500 employees.

AI-Enabled Analytics for Business by Lawrence S. Maisel; Robert J. Zwerling; Jesper H. Sorensen
ISBN: 9781119736097
Publication Date: 2022-01-10
We are entering the era of digital transformation where human and artificial intelligence (AI) work hand in hand to achieve data driven performance. Today, more than ever, businesses are expected to possess the talent, tools, processes, and capabilities to enable their organizations to implement and utilize continuous analysis of past business performance and events to gain forward-looking insight to drive business decisions and actions. AI-Enabled Analytics in Business is your Roadmap to meet this essential business capability. To ensure we can plan for the future vs react to the future when it arrives, we need to develop and deploy a toolbox of tools, techniques, and effective processes to reveal forward-looking unbiased insights that help us understand significant patterns, relationships, and trends. This book promotes clarity to enable you to make better decisions from insights about the future.
Applied Artificial Intelligence in Business by Leong Chan; Liliya Hogaboam; Renzhi Cao
ISBN: 9783031057397
Publication Date: 2022-07-20
This book offers students an introduction to the concepts of big data and artificial intelligence (AI) and their applications in the business world. It answers questions such as what are the main concepts of artificial intelligence and big data? What applications for artificial intelligence and big data analytics are used in the business field?
Digital Business Models by Sébastien Ronteau; Laurent Muzellec; Deepak Saxena; Daniel Trabucchi
ISBN: 3110762552
Publication Date: 2022-12-19
A business model basically describes the way a company makes money. Yet, often we use digital services for free (e.g. Facebook, Google or WhatsApp) or for what seems to be a relatively minor price (e.g. Blablacar, Airbnb, and Amazon). Digital business models are different to traditional business models. Digital Business Models explains the key challenges and characteristics of the various business models that are used by digital businesses. These companies can be a source of inspiration for traditional bricks-and-mortar companies that aim to go digital and/or revamp their traditional business model. Most businesses rely on some form of digital technology for their marketing communication, customer relationship management, supply chain or distribution, yet digital transformation entails a complete reassessment of the way value is created and captured.

Business Ethics eBooks

Business Ethics by Michael Boylan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118494745
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
The second edition of Business Ethics introduces readers to key ethical issues that arise within the world of business, providing a strong theoretical foundation as well as real world applications. This new edition has been greatly revised, and includes new sections on the financial services industry, globalization, and global economic justice. An accessible introduction for beginners, offering a combination of important established essays and new essays commissioned especially for this volume.
Business Ethics by OpenStax College
ISBN: 1947172573
Publication Date: 2018
Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility.
Business Ethics by W. Michael Hoffman (Editor); Robert E. Frederick (Editor); Mark S. Schwartz (Editor)
ISBN: 1118722779
Publication Date: 2014-01-02
The fifth edition of Business Ethics addresses current, intriguing, often complex issues in corporate morality through 53 readings and 30 pertinent case studies. Now significantly updated, it includes new leading articles, related current cases, and mini-cases based on MBA student dilemmas. Addresses a broad range of the most current, intriguing, often complex issues and cases in corporate morality.
SAGE Brief Guide to Business Ethics by Sage Publishing
ISBN: 9781412997218
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
This guide to business ethics provides key terms and concepts related to business ethics in a short, easy-to-use format. It provides objective coverage of theories, corporate social responsibility, human resources issues, consumer protection, and ethical issues in marketing and advertising. It is an ideal supplement for business ethics courses or as a reference for students and practitioners who would like to learn more about the basics of business ethics.

Economic Indicators

Macroeconomics and Microeconomics

Economics divided into micro and macro

Image from Quora.com

Micro and Macro: The Economic Divide
Microeconomics vs. Macroeconomics: What’s the Difference?
Principles of Economics: Microeconomics and Macroeconomics
Openstax Textbook chapter

Microeconomics and Macroeconomics characteristics

The Principles of Macroeconomics and Microeconomics by Salem Press Editors
ISBN: 0824214218
Publication Date: 2014-07-10
Money and Macrodynamics by Marc Lavoie; Louis-Philippe Rochon; Mario Seccareccia
ISBN: 9781317464488
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Alfred Eichner's pioneering contributions to post-Keynesian econmics offered significant insights on the way modern economies and institutions actually work. Featuring chapters by many of Eichner's disciples, this book celebrates his rich contributions to post-Keynesian economics, and demonstrates that his work is in many ways as valid today as it was over two decades ago.
Economics in One Virus by Ryan A. Bourne
ISBN: 9781952223068
Publication Date: 2021-04-27
Have you ever stopped to wonder why hand sanitizer was missing from your pharmacy for months after the COVID-19 pandemic hit? Why some employers and employees were arguing over workers being re-hired during the first COVID-19 lockdown? Economics in One Virus answers all these pandemic-related questions and many more, drawing on the dramatic events of 2020 to bring to life some of the most important principles of economic thought. Packed with supporting data and the best new academic evidence, this book offers a crash-course in economics analysis through the applied case-study of the COVID-19 pandemic, to help explain everything from why the U.S. was underprepared for the pandemic to how economists go about valuing the lives saved from lockdowns.

Supply and demand curve

Image from Wikimedia Commons

Global Business at MDC

Business Innovation and Technology Center (BIT Center)
Learn about the programs offered at the BIT Center on the Wolfson Campus.

Databases for Business Research

Business Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Provides fast, convenient access to a multitude of outstanding sources from The New York Times Business Section and The Wall Street Journal to magazines and scholarly journals. Users will find feature articles, product reviews, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, book reviews, reports from associations, societies, trade shows and conferences, and more.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
MarketLine Intelligence Center This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage provides large volumes of data on a wide range of companies, industries, financial deals, and geographies from credible and recognized sources through an interactive platform with an intuitive interface.

Funded by: College

SWOT Analysis

What is a SWOT Analysis?

Types of Economic Systems

Economic Systems: Descriptions
Read about traditional economies, market economies, command economies, and mixed economies.

Pure Planned Economy compared to Pure Free Market in a Mixed Economic System

Designed for Virginia Tech Libraries by Brian Craig / Creative Commons Attribution

Websites for Business Ownership

Advantages & Disadvantages of Each of the Three Key Methods of Forming a Business
"There are three basic forms of business ownership: sole proprietorship, partnership and corporation. Each of these forms of business organization has advantages and disadvantages in such areas as setting up the company, paying taxes and assessing liability for business debts."
Advantages and Disadvantages of Owning a Small Business
" According to entrepreneur.com, the average salary of an entrepreneur (in 2020) is $55,000, and that’s based on working an average of 66 hours per week. That’s a decent salary in certain low-cost areas, but it would be a struggle to live on those dollars in much of the U.S. So, while money is a consideration, it may not be the primary reason for owning your own business."
Business Structures from the Internal Revenue Service
"When beginning a business, you must decide what form of business entity to establish. Your form of business determines which income tax return form you have to file. The most common forms of business are the sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, and S corporation. A limited liability company (LLC) is a business structure allowed by state statute. Legal and tax considerations enter into selecting a business structure."
Definition of Collective Bargaining
Types of Businesses
Explore the different forms in which a business can be organized.

Line of workers holding a labor union sign

Image by Miniwide / Downloaded from Adobe Stock

The Anthropology of Labor Unions by E. Paul Durrenberger (Editor); Karaleah S. Reichart (Editor)
ISBN: 9780870819650
Publication Date: 2010-03-15
The Anthropology of Labor Unions presents ethnographic data and analysis in eight case studies from several very diverse industries. It covers a wide range of topics, from the role of women and community in strikes to the importance of place in organization, and addresses global concerns. The first to bring together anthropological case studies of labor unions, this volume will appeal to cultural anthropologists, social scientists, sociologists, and those interested in labor studies and labor movements.
Working Hard for the American Dream by Randi Storch
ISBN: 9781118541579
Publication Date: 2013-03-06
Working Hard for the American Dream examines the various economic, social, and political developments that shaped labor history in the United States from World War I until the present day. Presents an overview of labor history that also considers women workers, ethnic America, and post-World War II workers Incorporates the most recent scholarship in labor history Takes the story of labor up to the present day in a readable and accessible manner

Introduction to Business - GEB1011: GEB1011