DEP2000 - Young Men's Preparatory Academy - MDC Dual Enrollment - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Course Description of DEP2000

This course examines the physical, cognitive, social, and emotional development of human beings from conception to death. Students will learn about theories of development and key issues in the field and apply research in developmental psychology throughout the prenatal, infancy, childhood, adolescence, and adulthood periods of the lifespan.

Eligibility Requirements for MDC Dual Enrollment

This link provides information about academic requirements that must be met to participate in the dual enrollment program.

Human Development Websites

National Library of Medicine - Human Growth and Development
Learn about the stages and factors in human growth and development.
National Library of Medicine - Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development
Harvard University - Gene-Environment Interaction
This site includes a diagram and key terms.

Erikson's Stages

Piaget's Stages

E-Books

The Cultural Nature of Human Development by Barbara Rogoff
ISBN: 9780195131338
Publication Date: 2003-02-13
Three-year-old Kwara'ae children in Oceania act as caregivers of their younger siblings, but in the UK, it is an offense to leave a child under age 14 ears without adult supervision. In the Efe community in Zaire, infants routinely use machetes with safety and some skill, although U.S. middle-class adults often do not trust young children with knives. Until recently, traditional understandings of human development held that a child's development is universal and that children have characteristics and skills that develop independently of cultural processes. Barbara Rogoff argues, however, that human development must be understood as a cultural process, not simply a biological or psychological one. Individuals develop as members of a community, and their development can only be fully understood by examining the practices and circumstances of their communities.
Developmental Psychology by Keith Richardson
ISBN: 0805836241
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Thematic chapters identify the classic assumptions of the nature-nurture debate and present the reader with new ways of thinking about these issues. The book begins with material that may be familiar to students, then leads them into areas of thought which may be less familiar but which are important and significant aspects of current research and debate in the field. The author shows how an alternative, ecological systems perspective can be used to form more coherent critiques of major theorists like Skinner, Piaget, Vygotsky, and Gibson.
Human Development from Middle Childhood to Middle Adulthood by Lea Pulkkinen
ISBN: 1317556496
Publication Date: 2017-06-26
This seminal work focuses on human development from middle childhood to middle adulthood, through analysis of the research findings of the groundbreaking Jyväskylä Longitudinal Study of Personality and Social Development (JYLS). The study looks at the development over time of issues related to personality, identity, health, anti-social behavior, and well-being and is unparalleled in its duration, intensity, comprehensiveness and psychological richness. Thorough synthesis of this study illustrates that there are different paths to adulthood and that human development cannot be described in average terms.

Department of Social Sciences - MDC Wolfson Campus

Scholarly Sources on Human Growth and Development

Visit the learning resources home page and log in to My Library Account to access these journal articles. Use your MDC username and password to log in.

A Review of Measures of Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development: Evidence for a General Factor.
Dunkel, C. S., & Harbke, C. (2017). A Review of Measures of Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development: Evidence for a General Factor. Journal of Adult Development, 24(1), 58–76. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10804-016-9247-4
Genetic and Environmental Influences on Personality Trait Stability and Growth During the Transition to Adulthood
Hopwood C. J., Donnellan, M. B., Blonigen, D. M., Krueger, R. F., McGue, M., Iacono, W. G., & Burt, S. A. (2011). Genetic and Environmental Influences on Personality Trait Stability and Growth During the Transition to Adulthood: A Three-Wave Longitudinal
The Changing Impact of Genes and Environment on Brain Development During Childhood and Adolescence
Lenroot, R. K., & Giedd, J. N. (2008). The changing impact of genes and environment on brain development during childhood and adolescence: Initial findings from a neuroimaging study of pediatric twins. Development and Psychopathology, 20(4), 1161–1175. ht

Films on Demand - Human Development

Adult Health and Development
Adult health and development. (2011). In Films On Demand. Films Media Group. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=16925&xtid=47482
Emotional and Psychological Development Study
Identity crisis: Self-image in childhood. (2005). In Films On Demand. Films Media Group. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=16925&xtid=34648
Description: Over a period of 20 years, 25 children are observed to determine how genes and environment combine to form personality. Social class already shapes expectations at the age of five.

Databases for Social Sciences

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.

Funded by: College

Young Men's Preparatory Academy - MDC Dual Enrollment: DEP2000