ENC 1102 Research Paper

(ABC CLIO) - Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. American Indian Experience offers full-text access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From prehistory to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida. (Releasing 9/24/08)

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

(EBSCO) - America: History and Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

(Gale) - Topics range from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science, and technology. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.

Funded by: State Library of Florida

(ABC CLIO) - The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection of African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

(NewsBank) - More than 4,000 media sources including the new FIND A TOPIC search page function. Find current, diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Google Scholar is a version of Google that focuses specifically on scholarly materials such as articles and books from academic publishers. Accessing Google Scholar through this customized link enables you to see which of your search results are freely available in MDC’s library databases, and provides direct links to those resources.