Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - Library Resources for Students: Databases

Ancient Egyptian wall carvings

What Are Library Databases?

MDC students have free access to over 100 subscription-based databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources.

The following videos by Yavapai College (Arizona) provide a good introduction to library databases.

What Are Databases & Why Do You Need Them?
(3 minutes)

 

Searching Databases
(5 minutes)

History Databases

The databases listed below are useful for historical topics. (See also this printer-friendly PDF handout.)

How to Log In: You might be prompted for one of the following two logins when entering a database.

  • If asked for your Miami Dade College account, log in with you MDC username and password.
  • If asked for a Borrower ID and Password/PIN, your borrower ID is your MDC student ID number, and your Password/PIN is the last 4 digits of your MDC student ID number.

To find articles:

To find digital images:

To find ebooks:

To find videos:

Plug Into Google Scholar

You might be familiar with using Google Scholar to search for information from scholarly sources, but did you know there's a trick to making it even more useful? The video below shows you how to plug Google Scholar into our library databases for increased access to full text materials.

Using Google Scholar
(5 minutes)

More Databases

For MDC databases that can help with your research on topics other than architecture and interior design, visit Research & Writing Guides: Recommended Databases.

If you are a resident of Miami Dade County and have a public library card, you also have access to the Miami Dade Public Library System's databases.