Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematics - Library Resources for Students: Databases

What Are Library Databases?

MDC students have free access to over 100 subscription-based databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources.

The following videos by Yavapai College (Arizona) provide a good introduction to library databases.

What Are Databases & Why Do You Need Them?
(3 minutes)

 

Searching Databases
(5 minutes)

Math Databases

The databases listed below are useful for mathematics, science, and computers. (See also this printer-friendly PDF handout.)

To find articles:

To find ebooks:

To find videos:

To find study guides for the CLEP, SAT, and other tests:

Plug Into Google Scholar

You might be familiar with using Google Scholar to search for information from scholarly sources, but did you know there's a trick to making it even more useful? The video below shows you how to plug Google Scholar into our library databases for increased access to full text materials.

Using Google Scholar
(5 minutes)

More Databases

For MDC databases that can help with your research on topics other than math, visit Research & Writing Guides: Recommended Databases.

If you are a resident of Miami Dade County and have a public library card, you also have access to the Miami Dade Public Library System's databases.