LibGuides: Accounting-Library Resources: Websites

Top 15 Business Websites

Listed below are 15 of the top business websites. They are listed in alphabetical order, not in order of importance.

Bloomberg
Bloomberg delivers business and markets news, data, analysis, and video to the world, featuring stories from Businessweek and Bloomberg News.

Bloomberg BusinessWeek
Bloomberg Businessweek helps global leaders stay ahead with insights and in-depth analysis on the people, companies, events, and trends shaping today's complex, global economy.

Business Insider
Business Insider is a site with deep financial, media, tech, and other industry verticals. Launched in 2007, the site is now the largest business news site on the web.

CNBC
Provides the latest business news on stock markets, financial earnings on CNBC. View world markets, check stock tickers, and quotes.

CNN Money
CNNMoney is CNN's exclusive business site with business, markets, technology, media, luxury, personal finance, and small business news.

Financial Times
News, analysis, and commentary from the Financial Times, the world's leading global business publication.

Forbes
Forbes is a global media company focusing on business, investing, technology, entrepreneurship, leadership, and lifestyle.

Google Finance
Google Finance features business and enterprise headlines for many corporations including their financial decisions and major news events.

International Business Times
International Business Times is the leading provider of business news and financial news from the US and around the world.

MarketWatch
MarketWatch provides the latest stock market, financial, and business news. Get stock market quotes, personal finance advice, company news, and more.

The Motley Fool
The Motley Fool provides leading insight and analysis about stocks to help investors stay informed.

MSN Money
Get the latest headlines on Wall Street and international economies, money news, personal finance, the stock market indexes including Dow Jones, NASDAQ, and more.

SeekingAlpha
Stock market insights, financial analysis, including free earnings call transcripts, investment ideas, and ETF stock research written by finance experts.

WSJ
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Top stories, photos, videos, detailed analysis and in-depth reporting.

Yahoo! Finance
Free stock quotes, up-to-date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, message boards, and mortgage rates

Statistics, Data & More

Bank Data & Statistics from FDIC
This database can help you find information on specific banks, their branches, and the industry.
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
This is the official site of the Federal Reserve.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Department of Commerce’s BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence decisions of government officials, business people, and individuals. These statistics provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy. The data on this page are drawn from featured BEA economic accounts.
Central Bank and Monetary Authority Websites
The Bank for International Settlements (BIS) created a webpage that organizes websites for central banks around the world.
Eurostat
Website of the Statistical Office of the European Communities, providing extensive statistical data and publications on EU countries. Browse or search and download predefined data and tables focused on: EU policy indicators; general and regional statistics; economy and finance; population and social conditions; industry, trade and services; agriculture and fisheries; external trade; transport; environment and energy; and, science and technology
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
This is the official site of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.
FRED-Federal Reserve Economic Data
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
Global Development Finance (GDF)
GDF Online provides financial data on 136 developing countries including long-term debt, public and publicly guaranteed debt, private nonguaranteed debt, official creditors, and private creditors
Historical Bank Data from the FDIC
BankFind Suite's aggregate historical bank data is the annual summary of financial and structure data for all FDIC-insured institutions. The data can be used to identify and analyze long term trends and to develop benchmarks to evaluate the current conditions of the banking and thrift industries. This annual data is available for the years 1934 to 2020.
International Trade Administration
An abundance of information for US exporters on trade and industry statistics, market data, and export and import data and procedures.
Legal Information Institute: Banking
Cornell University's Legal Information Institute has an overview of relevant banking laws and regulations.
National Credit Union Association (NCUA)
NCUA provides an alternative to traditional banking models through regulation and supervision, arguing that cooperative credit promotes confidence in the banking industry.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Business and Financial Occupations
This is a page put together by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and gives a statistical breakdown of the different jobs and salaries in the banking industry.
OECD International Migration Statistics
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. The section on Migration focuses on the refugee crisis and provides policy briefs on migration. Topics include working Interrelations between Public Policies, Migration and Development.
OECD Stat Extracts
Easy access to data and metadata for OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) and selected member countries. Uses four search methods: Keyword (with terms such as: Education, Finance, GDP, Health, Income, Prices, Population, or Trade), Theme, Country (via selection of key indicators in latest annual, Country Statistical Profiles), or access your saved queries under “Browse Queries.”
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)
Several databases of demographic and economic Information, including Building Permits Data, International Trade Data, Census Tract Street locater, Detailed Occupation by Race, Hispanic Origin and Sex and USA Counties Data.
World Development Indicators
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.