Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma: About Primo VE - The New Library Search Engine

This guide provides information about Alma ILS and Primo VE, the new library catalog, for faculty and staff. This guide includes training and information on how to replace broken links, searching the catalog, and more!

Try the Primo VE now:
Search the Library Catalog:

What is Primo VE?

Search Box Widget & Builder

You may re-use the search box widget found at the top of this guide by typing "Primo" and selecting the widget below in your widget search list:

Alternatively, you may use FALSC's Primo Search Box Builder to construct your own.

Primo VE Announcement

Primo VE: The New Library Search Engine

Powerful. Faster. Easier

The Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC) has been working to improve the discovery interface for the 40 public academic libraries across the state. This new interface, called Primo VE, will enhance the research experience through an intuitive, seamless search environment. It will make its debut on July 13, 2021 and provides users a fast, easy, and effective framework for searching Miami Dade College's rich library collections. Primo VE enables you to:

  • Locate full-text articles, journals, e-books, and other valuable resources that are currently available to each college and university through a variety of databases.
  • Search for books and other physical materials owned by Miami Dade College, or expand your search to include the physical library collections of all other public college and university libraries across the state of Florida.
  • Manage lists of favorite books and e-resources, place holds on library materials, view overdue items, and request items from other libraries within the college and across the state. 
     

In addition, Primo VE provides you access to college and university library holdings. This allows you to place Interlibrary loan requests which lets you gain access to all college and university materials in the State of Florida and more.

Getting Help

How will this affect your courses? 

Beginning in the Summer 2021 term, your course links to items such as books, articles, and videos, among other resources in the library catalog, may need to be reviewed and updated in Blackboard, on your syllabus, and in other instructional areas. If this is the case, please contact your campus library. The fix is very quick, and disruption should be minimal; however, we want to support you to ensure that library resources are linked and ready for student usage.

Your students will also benefit from this new system. Consider requesting a library instruction for your classes. Our librarians can come to your classroom to teach students how to find, evaluate, and use information for your courses using Primo VE.

How can you receive help?

Please contact your campus library for help locating and linking to library content. Additionally, visit the library to receive help or look for our workshops and help sessions offered in our events calendar.

Please contact the library for any questions and concerns. We are happy to assist you!

Questions? Comments? Concerns?

Need technical assistance? See a discrepancy in this guide? Reach out to the developer:
Angel Hernandez
aherna19@mdc.edu

An Introduction to Primo VE

Meet Your Campus Primo VE Experts

Each campus has a Primo VE expert on site to assist faculty and staff. See the list below:

Primo VE Expert

Campus

Name

Hialeah

Alex Hernandez

aherna26@mdc.edu

Homestead

Lizeth Garcia

lgarci16@mdc.edu

Padron

Isabel Duque

iduque@mdc.edu

Kendall

Jenny Saxton

jsaxton@mdc.edu

Medical

Ivan Toledo

itoledo2@mdc.edu

North/EEC

Angel Hernandez

aherna19@mdc.edu

West

Sara Alegria

salegria@mdc.edu

Wolfson

Marta Frydman

mfrydman@mdc.edu


Main role of the Primo VE expert:

  • to train others on campus libraries to assist with Primo VE and Alma implementation, should broken links become a problem
  • to work with faculty in person and remotely to change links in BbL
  • to teach faculty how to grab permalinks in Primo VE and e-resources to successfully integrate them in courses
  • to provide reports upon request.

Login Information

Login Information for Databases, My Account, and More in PrimoVE:

  • Use your MDC Username and MDC Password to login.
  • Click here to reset your password if you forgot it.

Learn more about the new authentication method with OpenAthens here.